We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgetable”

Zoo Aquarium de Madrid
Ranked #68 of 757 things to do in Madrid
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: A home to more than 2,000 animals, the zoo is one of the largest in the world.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Island of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Unforgetable”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

I liked everything nothing to comment, The receptionist gave us full information how to get there by metro, its very easy.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank cardona969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    824
    795
    314
    129
    92
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff Wales UK
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Huge selection of animals & nicely landscaped”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We tend to visit several European & American major cities each year & invariably we'll check out the local zoo in a bid to do something a little different & have to say that as European Zoo's go, Madrid is up there with the best.

A plesant metro ride away from the city, the zoo is situated in a huge parkland area, a 10-15 minute walk from the nearest metro stop. Entrance was between 15-20 Euro's & we spent approximately 6 hours in the zoo. It's a large zoo & they do offer golf carts to get about but whilst it's well spread out, we didn't think it was TOO big to comfortably get around & see everything. The layout itself is very pleasant, with plenty of tree's & plants throughout the entire facility which is somewhat unique for a large park in this part of the world which can often prove to be a little barren & not very "green". The enclosures themselves are mixed, some animals are housed in particularly large, pleasant environments whilst others in somewhat dated, concrete-heavy areas. Some enclosures reminded me of the older parts of London Zoo but whilst it would have been nice to have seen the lions & tigers in newere, more landscaped homes on the whole this was a cut-above most other European Zoo's I have visited.

The main highlight of the zoo is the wide & varied selection of animals. Panda's are an extreme rarity & we too delight watching four of these beautiful bears in good surroundings. I've never been to a zoo with quite so many bears in fact, perhaps 5 different varieties altogether including koala bears & some amazing brown bears. The aquarium is excellent with a large selection of big sharks, the dolphin show was a nice addition if you've never seen anything similar & taking into account the entry fee thought this excellent value for money. We also watched a tropical bird show in a large outdoor area & caught a little bif of a seal lion show. There's an excellent gorilla enclosure & huge, modern enclosures for giraffes, rhinos, elephants - all of which looked healthy & roaming around freely. A decent selection of cafe's added to our positive impressio of the zoo.

The only negative was the large number of visitors throwing all manner of food items into many enlcosures, it was actually ridiculous that there weren't keepers posted at the larger, more attractive animals enclosures as it was clear from the amount of bread & snacks scattered around the floor that this was normal practice. For fear of sounding controversial I'll refrain from generalising but the majority of people hurling food at the animals appeared to be local & as a regular visitor of zoo's in the UK & North America I was somewhat taken aback by this.

We finished our day by taking a 30 minute walk from the zoo through the Casa de Campo park to the Teleferico - a huge cable car "attraction" that runs between the city & the center of the park & it was truly a wonderful return journey back to the centre. I would recommend using a map as the park is huge & we made it to the station via a zig zag of woodland trails but it's not easily signposted.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank CaptinEO7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wishaw
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“good day out”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

plenty to see just allow yourself the whole day to get round. We hired a buggy which was excellent as it is a bit hilly in places. Would go again

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank yvonnecwishaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“expensive”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Slightly dated zoo. No real special animals, I liked the ant eaters and the lions. Some people recommended the Pandas I did not see these maybe I rushed too fast or went to the wrong part. The Aquarium has some amazing fish and sharks. I paid about 15 Euros on a quiet day non summer so I expected it to be 10 euros at the most. I saw some Rhinos ,goats, Giraffes.

Most of the restaurants were closed there was only vending machines but I did not want to be ripped off so stayed away from them.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank robdoubler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Pandas and Dolphins!”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

In Madrid for a long weekend and wanted an outdoor antidote to the art museums. This is a great zoo and the kids loved it. Very well-cared for animals in mostly stimulating enclosures. Highlights were the Giant Pandas, as so rare, and the Dophon show, which was truly amazing. Lots of other gems, with the possible exception of the big cats, who didn't seem so happy. Had an amazing 10 minutes watching the Gorillas interact, with a baby and teen playing together, followed by angry posturing from the big Silverback, who strutted about showing who is boss. Fascinating.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Windmills4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zoo Aquarium de Madrid also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to Zoo Aquarium de Madrid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing