We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The third most important art gallery in Madrid”

Museo de la Real Academia de Bellas Artes de San Fernando
Book In Advance
More Info
$82.70*
and up
Madrid Segway City Tour
Ranked #62 of 781 things to do in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“The third most important art gallery in Madrid”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

For me it was clearly the third art gallery in Madrid, after Thyssen Bornemisza and Prado. Predictably, it mostly accomodates Spanish art (well, also some occasional Italian, Flemish, Dutch and French works, a few of them quite important). According to its origin and purpose, the collection is EXTREMELY uneven, and many parts of it could only be interesting to experts, and most dedicated art freaks.
On the other hand, this museum proudly displays van Reymerswaele, Giovanni Bellini, Morales, El Greco, Ribera, Zurbaran, Murillo, among others, and, above all, two or three rooms of Goya, which in themselves make a visit to this museum an ABSOLUTE MUST to anyone seriously interested in art.
Otherwise, I was not impressed by the Spanish art of the XVIII and XIX centuries. But towards the beginning of the XX century, it became quite ingenious again. Spanish symbolism is most challenging and suggestive. What I haven't expected, is that the collection of MODERN Spanish art, featuring Gris, Dali, and some very cute living painters, would be WAY ABOVE the similar collection at the Museo Reina Sofia.
As side attractions, the Academy houses some other fancy objects, such as extremely crafty wax reliefs. You should go there in the morning, since the museum closes rather early. One day a week (was it Tuesday?), the entrance is free. Unfortunately, some of the rooms are unpredictably closed, due to the shortage of custodians, I guess. But if you insist with the available ones, they accompany you inside.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Arminii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    186
    104
    32
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Terrific collection. Deserves more eyes”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

An excellent collection, including a fine two room exhibit of Goyas, and on the third floor, dozens of interesting 20th century (first half) paintings by members of the Royal Academy, including Sorolla, Eduardo Chicharro Aguera, Cecilio Gallardo, Enrique Martinez-Cubells, and Fernando Labrada. It must be difficult to compete against the big three, plus the string of small galleries (including the Sorolla House), but Bellas Artes definitely deserves more visitors than were there on the day we visited. Highly recommended. It is just a short walk towards Sol from the Thyssen Bornmizsa. .

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Canuckgreekophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“While lesser-known than Prado and Thyssen, worth the visit!”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

While lesser-known than its bigger cousins the Prado and the Thyssen, this museum is worth the trip. Centrally located right down the street from the Sol, the Royal Academy has a great history of how it came into existence. The artwork is very interesting, and laid out in a very easy manner.

We went very off season in February, and we had the museum practically to ourselves! The architecture of the actual building is also something to see.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank NYCTravelingGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
77 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“One of the Nicest Museums in Madrid”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

What a great collection of various artists in an old building. Very few tourists made this a welcome break. Old and new paintings, and objets d'arte.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank LordBowdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
3,585 reviews
3,183 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3,139 helpful votes
“A Very Good Museum”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Whenever I go to Madrid, I always visit the San Fernando Royal Academy of Fine Arts. Its art collection is one of the best. I especially likethe Goya paintings. Most of the famous artists who worked in Spain are represented in this museum. I also enjoyed seeing the paintings of Vicente Lopez, who worked in Valencia.

There are very few people who visit this great museum. So you can see the art quietly and concentrate on what you see. We have also talked to some of the people who work in the museum and they have been very knowledgeable about the art in the museum. This museum is always educational for me.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank BennyMalaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museo de la Real Academia de Bellas Artes de San Fernando also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to Museo de la Real Academia de Bellas Artes de San Fernando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing