We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great”
Review of Museo de America

Museo de America
Ranked #93 of 781 things to do in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator, Bathroom facilities
Attraction details
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator, Bathroom facilities
Level 6 Contributor
386 reviews
373 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“great”
Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

what a beautiful mueum highlighting spains very important discovery and influence of the americas with many artefacts and pieces from before european discovery. the greenery surroubdibg this museum is stunning.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank skankis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    120
    42
    9
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
509 reviews
121 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
Reviewed November 28, 2013

The Museo de America is not part of the major museum scene along the Paseo del Prado, and its attendance suffers for that. It is also not very accessible to non-Spanish speakers, a fault that I hope the museum will correct. When I visited the entry fee had been waived, and still the museum was almost empty. It offers several floors of really interesting artefacts, from craft work to stunning gold and silver materials, collected from Spanish conquests and colonies throughout the Americas. Non-Spanish speakers can at least get the basic information from the exhibit labels and enjoy these objects for themselves; it is certainly worth the time for the short walk from the Moncloa transit station to visit the museum

Halloween has become a major event in Madrid, and it was interesting to see that the Mexican community in Madrid had created a substantial altar for the Day of the Dead, Día de los Muertos - I imagine that this too will take hold in Spain, adding some more "Americana" to the collections!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Purmamarca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful stage, poorly organized”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

No audio guides, no explanations in English, no guards speaking English ( that I found ) , neither a clear concept nor a rational order of the exhibits. It can be interesting for visitors with very little knowledge. Intellectually demanding people who come here to learn about America might be disappointed. Conclusion : I think that America deserves a better treatment from ‘Madre Patria’ . In short : Big frustration.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Roberto P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem As Long As...”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

You really need to know Spanish to get the most out of this museum. I have been to Madrid on many occasions, but it was thanks to a guidebook that I found this museum, one of my favorites. It was empty the day I went, a shame because if you have any interest in the Conquest, this museum cannot be missed. It really brought a human side to the arrival in the New World. I found the paintings illustrating and describing the fruits and vegetables fascinating. It made me think for a minute..there were no cameras, instagrams, etc. and paintings were the only form of communicating their finds. As described by other posters, it is oddly arranged, but once I figured it out, it made total sense.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Fishtown323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
28 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Worth the trip!”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

They do have some impressive artifacts from the indigenous civilizations of the Americas. They have quite a few Mayan and Incan pieces. It was not at all busy when we went (Tuesday). My biggest complaint was just that all signs and descriptions were in Spanish. I feel like I missed out on a lot by not being able to read and better understand what I was looking at. I believe it is closed on Mondays. It's also very easy to get to by subway.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ShineEye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museo de America also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to Museo de America? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing