We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chill after the Prado...”
Review of Cafe Murillo

Cafe Murillo
Reserve with
Cafe Murillo is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,343 of 10,780 Restaurants in Madrid
Price range: $7 - $34
Cuisines: Spanish, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Paseo del Prado
Description: Next to The Murillo Entrance of the Prado Museum, is Murillo Café. Our name pays tribute to one of the best known painters of Spain, Bartolomé Esteban Murillo, as well as to Spanish tradition and cuisine. We are open for breakfast, with a fine selection of breads and pastries for breakfast. Wonderful brunch on Sundays. Murillo Café offers a menu of traditional tapas and light meals, as well as Mediterranean bistro food from morning until closing time. We offer a selection of Spain's best wine regions and iberian ham, as well al local cheeses. Walking distance from the Ritz Hotel.
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Chill after the Prado...”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Sitting outside on a cold but sunny day, having a great bottle of red wine and nibbling a few tasty mini burgers, was perfect after spending all morning in the Prado Museum. Nice staff and very professional. Had a great experience.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mazza33_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    141
    53
    17
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“One of the greatest restaraunts in Madrid”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

This is really fantastic place very close to Prado Museum and Botanic Garden. Excellent service, delisious food and drinks. I would strongly recomend tuna as a main course there! And don't forget to take a dessert! That's 100% the place to visit for lunch or dinner in Madrid!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Le4ik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very nice”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

A very nice restaurant, good food, service and place. I liked roasted chiken breast and my husband liked tuna. Just one inconvenience - once we came early and there were no English speaking waiters.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MarinaRozhdestvina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Absolutely Lovely.”
Reviewed November 27, 2012

After trekking through the Parque del Retiro, we stopped in here for a bite and were absolutely not disappointed. Hands-down, our nicest food stop of our trip. The place was bright, fresh, comfortable and charming. The bar area was overflowing with fresh flowers, and appointed with lovely marble countertops and unique leather stools.
The friendly staff was eager to serve us(although some things lost in translation - a little tough for the English-speaker) and the food was delightful. We asked for sparkling water, but received a sparkling lemonade that was a crisp, refreshing delight. It was followed by a truffle mushroom pizza that was knock your socks off delicious and a plantain salsa thing that was fresh and tasty, but not quite as earth-shattering as the pizza.
A little spendy compared to other places around, but the ambiance, food and service is totally worth it. This place totally made our day.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DeirLar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Enjoyable dining experience”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

My wife and I ate dinner there twice this week. The food was very good and service made us feel at home. The chef even came out to greet us. It is located across the street from the Prado so location is perfect. Prices are reasonable.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bill d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Murillo also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to Cafe Murillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing