We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect food and service”
Review of Alcaravea

Alcaravea
Ranked #394 of 10,690 Restaurants in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect food and service”
Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

Recommend tomato and buratta salad and cod fish. Must go place in madrid. Perfect service and one of the man (i guess is owner) knew english. Good for travellers. Recommend !!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Mcchoychai
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    112
    20
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Juan-les-Pins, France
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“For epicurians only :)”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

I will rate this #2 in my whole life food experience (I'm travelling a lot all over the world); The best octopus which I ate was here (polpa a la brasa),.... we ate here 3 time in 7 day,....we returned and for sure we ll return. Cesar is the owner, which is also a Dear! For 2 persons and almost 3 dishes per person and lot of drinks we paid around 60 euros.

Delicious!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Stefania B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
254 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit!”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Don't wait until 9pm for your dinner, Either book a table or go early to experience this food!
The waitress was able to explain the menu in English. The food was excellent but different. The owner made sure we were happy with each course - and he was very nice to look at!!!
Really buzzing on a Monday night. Do go there.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Christine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Friendly service, great flavours, reasonably priced”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We recently went for dinner at Alcaravea on Calle Bermudez to celebrate my birthday. From the moment we entered there was a great atmosphere, first in the busy bar, and then in the restaurant itself where our host went out of his way to make us feel at home. He personally talked us through what was on offer that day and it was refreshing not to have to trawl through a standard menu. The tomato and buratta salad started (mozarella-like local cheese that melts in the mouth) was sublime and could easily have fed four people. We then enjoyed battered white asparagus before the mains of mullet and sirloin steak. I would recommend Alcaravea to anyone looking for a special meal in authentic surroundings without the pretentious atmosphere of more expensive (and ultimately inferior) establishments.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank andrewjsmith114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Traditional Spanish Food”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Notwithstanding many good reviews on TripAdvisor, the restaurant was filled with locals during my visit. Waiter Cesar, who speaks English well, suggested that I have a mullet fish prepared in the Spanish way. This incredible dish included two filets (left and right sides of the mullet) in a wonderful, spicy sauce, and the skelaton of the fish deep-fried to a wonderful crispness that allows one to eat it, minus the head, like a cracker. Not only was this dish delicious, it was also quite a sight.

As with many Madrid restaurants, things are quiet before 9 at night. The dinner crew didn´t fully arrive until that time.

Note that there are three versions of this restaurant, all under the same ownership and with the same menu. Two are located within a couple of blocks of each other, the third at a distance. I went to the original restaurant, whose address shows up first on the web site. I assume that the others are equally good.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank DesignForLiving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alcaravea also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Alcala De Henares, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to Alcaravea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing