We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great value hostal very central” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostal Benamar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hostal Benamar
Ranked #209 of 444 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
223 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“great value hostal very central”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

The situation of this place was excellent. It is near all shops, bars and tourist attractions. Not too noisy as it is on a quiet street. This is a budget hotel but very clean, with computer, good wifi and flat screen TV. The sign is easy to miss as it is above the first floor. Don't come with heavy suitcases though I was lucky and everyone helped me up the stairs. The owner was very helpful and even carried my bags downstairs and waited until I got a taxi to the airport.The hotel feels more like and apartment hotel. It was great value for the money and I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JosephineSalvador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    99
    6
    3
    3
See reviews for
28
79
32
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
moraira
Level Contributor
265 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in August and were very impressed with the value and facilities of this hostal.
The first impression is a little daunting, as in Madrid apparently it is common for hostels to be on upper floors. We carried a heavyish suitcase up 3 floors (carpeted) before we found the reception area. But once there the staff could not have been friendlier and the rooms were so well equipped. In August to have functioning airconditioning and a fridge in the room were a big plus, but there was even a flat screen TV and a computer workstation in each room!
The location is great, within easy walking distance of so much in the centre of Madrid, and with even a 24 hour shop on a nearby corner.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the street seem larger, but at the back, with no view, are much quieter, so can be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janetwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

We enjoyed our stay here, especially our conversations with the friendly and attentive host.
There are three flights of steps and no lift but he insisted on carryiong our bags, and gave us very good tips for local meals (including the wonderful cafe Madrid Madriz where we enjoyed very good three course lunches and wine for three people for 30 euros), laundries, and even advice for our son who was ill.
The room was clean, modern and spacious and very good value.
The location was fantastic; Madrid is a city of villages and this one (Tribunal area) had fine plazas with great meals at night, and every small imaginable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterChonaDavidson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallonie
Level Contributor
43 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

This hostal is very well situated: a few steps away from lively Fuencarral and Malasana, very close to the heart of Madrid (Sol, Gran Via). It is easily reachable from the airport by metro (stop:tribunal). The owner of the place is really friendly and helpful. The rooms are a good size and spotless clean. There is free wifi access and even a computer in the room (ok, that kind of pc you have not seen for about 15 years but it works perfectly!). Flat screen tv in room too. The hotel is a little noisy mostly because of doors banging but i guess you'd have that kind of issue in any budget hotel, particularly in a city as lively as Madrid. And finally, the price: i guess it is impossible to find a better deal in Madrid! Would definetly come back!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chloe2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
85 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

A very comfortable room in a pleasant hostal just slightly out of the main central area of Madrid but only about 15 minute walk to Sol. No lift but the owner is more than happy to assist with luggage, order taxi and generally make you feel at home.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Purrpuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
96 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed 3 nights here. The owner is a very friendly person and the room was very spacious. Free wifi. The room was on the second floor (no lift- this is mentioned in the booking sites itself). Tony helped us by carrying the luggage. The room and toilet was very clean. It is also very quiet. Value for money!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Once again I stayed here, as I did 3 years ago. The bedrooms and bathrooms are spotless, the location is terrific and the price can't be beaten. Mr. Martín is very friendly and helpful--although you should be able to speak a modicum of Spanish. Rooms not facing the street are quieter because lively Madrid is a noisy city by American standards. As I wrote lat time, if you MUST have a chocolate on your pillow, then this might not be the place for you--but with the money you save you can buy many boxes of Godiva chocolates. And, although there is no doorman or belllboy, if you need help with your luggage, Mr. Martín will lug it for you... all you have to do is ask!

Room Tip: Rooms not facing the street are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AchingFeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Chueca
Eurostars Central
Eurostars Central
#145 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
Chueca
Hostal Zamora
Hostal Zamora
#170 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Centro
Hostal La Casa de La Plaza
Hostal La Casa de La Plaza
#275 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hostal Riesco Puerta del Sol
Chueca
Hostal Vazquez de Mella
Hostal Vazquez de Mella
#262 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Benamar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Benamar

Property: Hostal Benamar
Address: Calle San Mateo 20 | nº 20 2º y 3º Dcha., 28004 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Chueca
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Madrid
#104 Business Hotel in Madrid
#105 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#124 Family Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostal Benamar 3*
Number of rooms: 278
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hostal Benamar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Benamar Madrid
Hostal Benamar Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing