We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A friendly hotel, great location and greater prices!”
Review of Hostal Benamar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hostal Benamar
Ranked #222 of 438 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 2, 2011

I could not mention any reasonable fault with our stay in this hotel. The staff are friendly and helpful. The hotel is minutes away from Tribunal metro -though you can easily walk onto the Gran Via and Old Madrid from here. My single room, though on the small side, was comfortable and cleaned everyday. My friend's room had a balcony, was spacious and even had a computer for personal use. At 37 euros a night - you'd be daft to stay anywhere else. No regrets whatsoever - just do it!

Room Tip: Central - cheap - clean.
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 01brian01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (237)
There are newer reviews for Hostal Benamar
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 237 reviews

Reviewed December 11, 2010

I"ve stayed in this family run hostal for a night (well, i"ve stayed here for 2 times for a week in last 3 years). the renovation of the building is finished and it looks really great. the hostal flats are also quite new and clean. the room that i"ve got for big enough for me and was silent since it was facing interior. in a city like Madrid, you would only visit your room for sleeping! i supposed that rooms facing the reception desk can be bit noisy in the day time.

the computers in the rooms are really retro and useful, or you can just plug ethernet cable to your laptop/netbook and go! you can ask for a longer ethernet cable (or bring your owns) if you want to use it in your bed. well, this is totally free internet service that we've just missed in other hotels.

the price is quite good for equivalent places, and the people are very warm.

there is small shop for food/water/beer downstairs as well as nice and small restaurant with 9 euro menus for lunchs. if you are into contemporary art just next building is a nice gallery. if you are into romanticism, there is a museum of romanticism just across the street.

the hostal is just between chueca district (horteleza) & fuencarral shopping street and very close to tribunal metro station. 5-10 minutes to gran via however walking through the calle fuencarral makes it longer because of the nice shops on the way.

drawbacks of the place (not really for me) is there is no elevator and rooms are on 2nd & 3rd floor. i love the sweet sound of the wooden stairs.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank permanentvacationist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2010

My girlfriend and I went to Spain last week and stayed for 3 nights at Hostal Benamar. The owners are a couple. Both of them are super friendly and helpful. The location is excellent. It's between two metro stops "Tribunal" and "Alonso Martinez", and equally close to either one. "Tribunal" if the only stop in the entire metro system which gets you to all 3 major train stations (Atocha, Principe Pio, and Chamartin) with direct train. You also need to transfer only once to get to the airport.

The hostel is located on the 2nd and 3rd fl. (which equals to the 3rd and 4th fl. in the U.S.). At our arrival we were so tired and of course frustrated to find that there's no elevator in the building. Jose found me upstairs alone with no luggage and understood our difficulty immediately without me speaking out anything. He ran downstairs right away and carried all the bags for us.

The room is clean is spacious -much bigger than any hotel rooms we stayed in other cities in Spain. The bathroom is in the same good condition. The only shortage, if I have to come up with one, would be the thin walls. During our first-night stay, there were loud guests in other rooms. However the second and the third night were perfect.

Overall this is an unbeatable value compared with what we paid for hotel rooms. We spent almost double for our hotel room in Barcelona for the same length of stay.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeeWhyZen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2010

Spent three weeks here and would definitely recommend it for the price. The owner was fantastic and was always very accommodating and ready to answer any questions. It's not a five star hotel by any means but you more than get what you pay for. The location is also very good, lots of nightlife and decent restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CFValencia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2009

Very well located, very modern inside, very clean rooms. José Martín, the owner-operator, lives in the building and is available at the press of a button; I never had any problem in getting hold of him for whatever reason. Fancier hotels may have Internet access but no PCs: Benamar has both--although older model of computer and monitor.

If you want a doorman, concierge, 24-hour front desk, restaurant-bar in the premises, mini-fridge, room service, swimming pool, sauna, etc., you need to stay somewhere else. If you want VALUE and want to use your savings elsewhere, this is your place. Far from fancy but a lot of value!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AchingFeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2007

Very clean hostal located about a ten minute walk away from Sol. Very close to Tribunal and Alonso Martinez metro stops, which makes any destination easy to get to (including the airport). While you get a very clean, newly renovated individual room, don't expect any toiletries or other amentities you might expect from a hotel. There is a TV and a very old computer running Windows 98 that has free internet access. Once you check in and get your key, it is hard to get in touch with Jose, the very friendly owner. If any problems occur, you are on your own. Also, make sure not to be noisy, as we almost got kicked out of the hostal one night for making too much noise. If you need a basic room with a good location for a very good price that is extremely clean and managed by a friendly, trustworthy local, Hostal Benamar is a great choice.

Stayed: March 2007
1  Thank andrewRH3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2006

This is a welcoming hostal, recently renovated, nicely done bathrooms. Owner Jose Martin quite friendly. Free in-room internet a plus. We would certainly return!

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kate A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Chueca
Hostal Zamora
Hostal Zamora
#205 of 438 in Madrid
231 reviews
Malasana
Hostal Sil & Serranos
Hostal Sil & Serranos
#255 of 438 in Madrid
101 reviews
Centro
Hostal la Perla Asturiana
Hostal la Perla Asturiana
#217 of 438 in Madrid
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hostal Las Fuentes
Hostal Las Fuentes
#91 of 438 in Madrid
624 reviews
Chueca
Hostal Vazquez de Mella
Hostal Vazquez de Mella
#261 of 438 in Madrid
125 reviews
Centro
Hostal Oriente
Hostal Oriente
#110 of 438 in Madrid
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Benamar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Benamar

Address: Calle San Mateo 20 | nº 20 2º y 3º Dcha., 28004 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Chueca
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Madrid
#105 Business Hotel in Madrid
#105 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#124 Family Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: $70 - $72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostal Benamar 3*
Number of rooms: 278
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Hostal Benamar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Benamar Madrid
Hostal Benamar Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing