We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So basic it's hardly better than wilderness.”
Review of Camping Osuna

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Madrid
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Camping Osuna
Ranked #233 of 428 Specialty Lodging in Madrid
Reviewed June 2, 2010

The site is about a 10 minute walk to the nearest metro (Canillejas). This campground is very basic. The ground is soft and there are some great shaded pitches. There is no security and they do not provide toilet paper in the bathrooms (must bring your own) or hand soap dispensers. The service is surley and slow at best. I really wanted to like this because of the proximity to the center of Madrid but I just couldn't.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank thattravelgirl76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (137)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 137 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2010

My wife and I were going to to camp here for 5 nights, we ended up staying only 1.

I have much to say so I am just going to list the the items:

Bad:
Far from everything
Loud highway behind it
No Security, no gates
Ants everywhere
Attendent never present and careless
Market opens at 2pm
No wifi, internet café opens at 2pm
Laundry machine old and expensive (No dryer, or place to hang your close)
20 minute walk uphill from the closest train station
Expensive (22 euro for 2 people with our own tent)
No lockers
No amenities (children play area is now a dog cage)
Camping areas have overgrown grass and packed dirt.

Good
If you have your own RV, it may be just OK.

I would never stay here again or recommend anybody to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brupm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2008

We were on our way to France, coming from Sevilla and needed a place to stay for one night. Madrid was on our way so we went to this campground near the airport.
The place was fairly crowded but we did find a spot to put the caravan. Everything seems to be old, I'd say the whole campground needs some serious re-modelling. Very few showers, some didn't have hot water. The rest of the sanitaries were not great, either. There was a childrens playground - nice, but unfortunately populated with two large german shepherds!! No way it could be used by children. There is a small supermarket which was okay.
What we didn't find was electricity - they do have some outlets (the boxes with sockets and fuses are open for everyone, no covers or anything) but they have not nearly enough capacity. People put 30-50 m cables all over to get electricity to their place - we just lived without, after all it was just for one night.
Although it's near the airport you don't hear much of the airplanes, but traffic noise is present.
All in all, consider going somewhere else, especially if you're going to stay for some time in Madrid (budget hotels would make much more sense than this campground, which isn't really cheap, either)!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank arneo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2006

OK camping is never going to be the most comfortable and luxury holiday you can have, but the Camping Osuna in Madrid offers the option of staying within reach of the city centre (by the world's most efficient metro) at a price that won't break the bank. Madrid is expensive for accomodation and so camping is a good choice, especially considering the weather.
Osuna is a little far out of town but the new metro station at El Capricho shouldn't be too far for anyone to travel to and this would drop you off at Gran Vía in about 15 mins.
I've stayed at Osuna two or three times, twice in May, once in August.
May is perfect, the pitches are in the woods, with really lush grass; in August the pitches are still there but the grass has turned to straw and is the prickliest surface you could humanly think of. Topped off the unbearable heat in the tents (we had to hook up a fan to cool us down) and the prozac fuelled cicadas it perhaps isn't the best time to visit. Nonetheless it was pretty quiet at both times. Facilities are a bit worn, but they're camping standard - what more can you need? The bar when it's open hosts amazing live music in their courtyard and have good drinks promotion evenings with loads of free tat to give away.
All in all, it's good, all it's really lacking is a swimming pool - really a necessity when it's 40 in the shade. (Closest pool is at Mar de Cristal / Hortaleza or try the one at Lago Metro station, a bit further but easy to get to).
I still like camping and will definitely be back when I'm in town!

  • Stayed: August 2004, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank luckyme200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2005

The campsite is within reasonably easy reach of the airport, though not
suffering so much from traffic noise as you might expect. There are some
nice grassy pinewoods at the far end - certainly you should head for them,
if you are back-packers. The ground can be hard, though, but not stony.
The bathrooms are somewhat worn, but everything is reasonable. I have
only been there off-season and I don´t know if the place gets overcrowded
or too worn in summer. Grocery stores and restaurants doesn´t seem to be
in the vicinity; their bar was closed. I went there bringing my bike, but I
assume that public transport is abundant, since it is next to the much fre-
quented main road Avenida de Logrono and the airport, which is
now served by a metro. Though the reception closed at 22,
the entrance gate was kept open after that. I would estimate
that you could walk to and from the airport within 25-35 minutes.
In early may there were only a few guests. Prices were in the upper
end, but not outrageous.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank joen.dk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank jeruseta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017
Thank Christinejordao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Exe Madrid Norte
#286 of 442 in Madrid
649 reviews
San Blas
Compostela Suites Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Airport / Barajas
Hilton Madrid Airport
Hilton Madrid Airport
#88 of 442 in Madrid
3,262 reviews
Airport / Barajas
Tryp Madrid Alameda Aeropuerto Hotel
Centro
Room Mate Mario
Room Mate Mario
#45 of 442 in Madrid
1,979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camping Osuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camping Osuna

Address: C/ Jardines de Aranjuez, s/n, 28042 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Airport / Barajas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #233 of 428 Specialty Lodging in Madrid
Price Range: $15 - $26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 65
Also Known As:
Camping Osuna Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing