We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and Service, Very Clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
La Posada del Dragon
Ranked #55 of 435 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great Location and Service, Very Clean”
Reviewed June 23, 2014

I LOVED this hotel! My room was small but very comfortable and clean, and nicely decorated. The service was just impeccable. Everyone was very friendly and accommodating and made me feel welcome, despite the fact that I spoke little-to-no Spanish.

Yes there is noise that can make it hard to sleep - it did affect me the first night when I went to bed at 8 pm, exhausted from travelling. But if you are going to bed at a normal time then it would not be a problem. They do their best to minimise noise by closing doors to the main restaurant to muffle the music, and then the restaurant closes at around midnight, which is very reasonable in a city like Madrid where people are often out until the early morning.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Posada B, Director of Sales at La Posada del Dragon, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor about your recent stay at the Posada del Dragon.I was very happy to hear that you liked our location and you enjoyed your stay.

When your travel plans call for returning to Madrid I hope we will have the pleasure of hosting you again. Sent us an email and we will handle your reservation

Warmest regards,
Amparo VAño
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

680 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    367
    240
    48
    19
    6
See reviews for
39
379
57
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
2 reviews
Reviewed June 23, 2014

A very interesting and original project. Ancient and modern. From remains of Arab ruins to Internet connections and many TV and radio channels of many countries and languages. Some food is really good: "jamón de bellota", sausage "iberico", "cheese marinated in oil".......Centrally located next to Plaza Mayor, Puerta del Sol and Royal Palace.....Highly recommended. ​​

Room Tip: Choose a balcony room in floor 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JosepRedondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Posada B, Director of Sales at La Posada del Dragon, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to leave your kind words and observations following your recent stay with us at La Posada del Dragon
I was delighted that you enjoyed your stay . As I always do I have passed on your lovely words to our team who take so much pride in ensuring that all of our guests only receive the very best in service.
We look forward to seeing you again when you do return to Madrid

Best Regards,
Amparo Vano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 21, 2014

The staff was very friendly and helpful, the room clean, very comfortable bed, and nicely decorated. We arrived before 9 am, extremely tired after doing the camino for 2 weeks, and we were given the room before the regular check-in time. The location is close to Plaza Mayor and Plaza Sol, there is lots to see around the area, shops, cafés, the cathedral, all within walking distance. The food in the restaurant is very good. Try the 5 tomatoes salad, delicious!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 003 which is on main floor by the restaurant tables. It can be noisy but not after...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mabel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Posada B, Director of Sales at La Posada del Dragon, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor about your recent stay at LA posada del dragon
I was very happy to hear that you found our king executive suite spacious, very clean and comfortable during your stay.

I am especially pleased that you found the location great, the restaurant great and the staff helpful
When your travel plans call for returning to Madrid we hope we will have the pleasure of hosting you again. Please contact us directly so we may personally handle your reservations.

Warmest regards,
Amparo Vano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

We were with our family on a 5 day trip and tried this restaurant for dinner. It was the best place we have found in madrid. The food was excellent, the staff friendly and the prices still reasonable although higher than surrounding places. The veal and salmon tasted fantastic!

We would definitely eat here again!

Helpful?
Thank Jelle d
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Posada B, Director of Sales at La Posada del Dragon, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Hi Jelle
I am glad that everything was enjoyable when dining at La Antoñita and that you enjoy our food.

Thank you for dining at the restaurant as well as taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor.
Our customer feedback has always been pivotal in making our future customer experience better. We will pass on the comments to our staff.

We look forward to seeing you again when you do return to Madrid

Best Regards,
Amparo Vaño
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
483 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Pluses
Great location in the Latina area, great places to eat and walking distance to museums, shopping, etc. Guests can reserve a good breakfast for 9 euros (discount from 12 euros) includes eggs, bacon, ham and mushrooms made to order. Clean rooms, powerful shower and very comfortable beds, fairly quiet given the location. Friendly staff.

Minuses
We had reserved rooms at the Posada del Leon de Oro so was surprised to learn that we were check into the Posada del Dragon- No one informed us of this change- since the front doors are beside each other. When we asked about this at check out- we were told that these two adjacent hotels are under the same management so this happens when one hotel is full. The entire room has indoor/outdoor carpet and no closets or separate bathroom in the rooms. There is a hanging rail over a cabinet with a small refrigerator, safe and shelves. The sink is by the door, and the toilet has a separate compartment with a glass door (with a hole - no doorknob)- and the shower is another glass compartment. We were in room 302 and our friends had the bad luck to be in room 301 - their shower leaked for the 4 day stay- just had extra towels on the floor. Their electricity went off one night for about 20 minutes. When we looked at the tripadvisor reviews for Posada del Dragon, we were astonished to discover that other guests in room 301 had noted these problems in 2012!!

Room Tip: Choose the 3rd floor as furtherest from the restaurant below. Stay away from Room 301 electricity ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DeborahandAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

This hotel has a excellent central location, being in a lively area of Madrid close to all the sights and only 30 minutes walk to the art galleries. Due to the internal courtyard arrangement for most of the rooms you are not however disturbed by noise of revellers. The staff were welcoming, helpful and engaged with the customers in a pleasant manner, way above the usual indifferent service that is unfortunately common in Spain(and quite a few other countries). We stayed over Friday night to Sunday luchtime and the hotel always had a lively scene. Bar prices were very reasonable given the environment.

I disagree with this hotel being for young people (see another review). (My backpacking kids and the young would find it too expensive). My wife and I are in our 50s but it was right up our street. It is for the young at heart, as well as the younger traveller.

Our room was perfectly mimimalist. There was plenty of hanging space and room to put suitcases. Travel with hand luggage, don't unpack everything and live a little bit more is my comment to a reviewer below. The room had the best matress and pillow of any hotel we have ever stayed in and an excellent shower. Also quietest air conditioning of any hotel room. Is there anything else needed for the perfect city break hotel (?), which this is.

Joking aside about whether I now get a free stay, we provide holiday accomodation so know something about the business. This hotel is one of the few places we have stayed where we could not come up with anything we would improve. Praise indeed! Enjoy your stay.

Room Tip: The standard room was just fine. If you want more space (see another room) then pay for it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Neil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Posada B, Director of Sales at La Posada del Dragon, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor about your recent stay at the Posada del Dragon.I was very happy to hear that you liked our location and you enjoyed your stay.
We are so happy that you did not come up with anything we would improve.

When your travel plans call for returning to Madrid I hope we will have the pleasure of hosting you again. Sent us an email and we will handle your reservation

Warmest regards,
Amparo VAño
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

One of the best hotels we have stayed in with quirky rooms but so well thought out, spacious, comfortable bedding, excellent bathroom facilities. All the staff were helpful and friendly, great tapas and the breakfast was really good value for money, you could eat as much as you wanted from fresh bread, pastries, hams, eggs cooked any way you wish, fruit, cereals and yoghurt. The standards throughout very high, we couldn't have asked for more.

Room Tip: We stayed on first floor, there was no disturbance at all even though on the Saturday night it was b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 474wendyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Posada B, Director of Sales at La Posada del Dragon, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor about your recent stay at La Posada del Dragon Hotel
I was very happy to hear that you reached your expectations of Madrid When your travel plans call for returning to Madrid I hope we will have the pleasure of hosting you again. Please call us directly and we will make your reservation
Warmest regards,
Amparo Vano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
La Latina
Posada del Leon de Oro
Posada del Leon de Oro
#142 of 435 in Madrid
504 reviews
La Latina
Mayerling Hotel
Mayerling Hotel
#50 of 435 in Madrid
589 reviews
Huertas
Catalonia Puerta del Sol
Catalonia Puerta del Sol
#45 of 435 in Madrid
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Room Mate Laura
Room Mate Laura
#15 of 435 in Madrid
1,592 reviews
Huertas
Hotel Eurostars Plaza Mayor
Huertas
Hotel Catalonia Plaza Mayor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Posada del Dragon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada del Dragon

Property: La Posada del Dragon
Address: Calle Cava Baja 14, 28005 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > La Latina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Business Hotel in Madrid
#43 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#45 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#120 Family Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — La Posada del Dragon 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel & Bar in the city centre in Madrid. The Posada del Dragon was built as a local barn. Its name comes from the mythical dragon that guarded over the area of “Puerta Cerrada”. And in 1868 was converted as a guesthouse by the Marques de Cubas. The story tells that traders, handsome swordsmen and loyal squires were accommodated here. It is also located in one of the most popular areas in Madrid city called 'La Latina'. Posada del Dragon is situated only 100 metres from Plaza Mayor and 700 metres from Puerta del Sol. Only 1500 metres away you can find Prado Museum, Thyssen Bornemisza Museum and Reina Sofia Museum. Almudena´s Cathedral, Royal Palace and Plaza de Oriente are located 800 metres away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your La Posada del Dragon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Del Dragon (Madrid) Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing