We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A big thumbs up!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Posada del Dragon
Ranked #69 of 438 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 18, 2013

I stayed at this hotel with my husband in May'13. We had reached early so the rooms weren't ready but the stay offered to keep our luggage while we ventured into the neighbourhood. He gave us maps, direction to the nearest plaza and some information of the bull-fight festival going on at the time.

We were very happy on our first outing as we discovered how amazing the location of the hotel was. It's a mere 5 mins walk from Plaza de Mayor. There are lots of lovely restaurants and bars around. There is also a supermarket just 2-3 mins away from the hotel.

The rooms were small but clean and convenient. The decor was quirky and we loved it. The staff was generous with replenishing the toiletries.

I would recommend the hotel to couples, groups as well as single travelers.

Room Tip: Pick any room! Each room is different than the other!
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Siddhi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Posada B, Director of Sales at La Posada del Dragon, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor about your recent stay at La Posada del Dragon Hotel

I am especially pleased that you found our entire staff friendly and welcoming I will certainly pass your comments on to all the staff

When your travel plans call for returning to Madrid I hope we will have the pleasure of hosting you again. Please call to the hotel directly so I may personally handle your reservations.

Warmest regards,
Amparo Vano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (705)
There are newer reviews for La Posada del Dragon
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

264 - 270 of 705 reviews

Reviewed December 18, 2013

I spent a weekend in Madrid with a friend. Since we were on a student budget, we shared a double room at Posada del Dragon. The hotel location is great, in one of the city's liveliest neighborhoods. It's a 5-minute walk from the Latina metro stop, and a few steps away from cool bars, restaurants, and the marvelous Mercado San Miguel. The staff was professional and made us feel welcome. My main complaint is about the room. It is on the first floor and really dark (it is impossible to tell whether it was day or night outside). A semi-transparent partition wall separates the shower from the bed, which means the person in the shower has little to no privacy. More aggravating is the toilet door, which is also a thin, almost transparent partition wall. The person in the room could hear EVERYTHING happening behind that fake door. Also, small details are missing: no hook for the towels in the shower and near the washing bowl, no hand soap. I am not sure whether the other rooms were organized differently, so I would check before making a reservation.

Room Tip: Don't take rooms on the first floor- way too dark!
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SEA8282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Posada B, Director of Sales at La Posada del Dragon, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Dear Guest
Many thanks for taking the time to post your kind words following your recent stay at La Posada del Dragón Hotel
I was so glad to read that you enjoyed your stay and you liked the location.
I am very sorry that you felt you did not have privacy in the room.
Next time you come back to La Posada del Dragon I would recommend you to book a Balcony room which is bigger. We will take on consideration your comments because clients like you make us get better everyday

My best regards and renewed thanks,
Amparo Vano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

We had a wonderful time at the Posada del Dragon! The staff was very helpful in advance with making dinner reservations and suggesting places to eat and visit while in Madrid. They were accommodating when we arrived before check in time. Our room was clean and reasonably appointed. The hotel has an energetic vibe in the evening and was a great place to plan our next day’s adventures! We enjoyed the proximity to the San Miguel marketplace and a metro stop. We had a wonderful time and would return.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anywherefromboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Posada B, Director of Sales at La Posada del Dragon, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Dear Guest
Many thanks for taking the time to post your kind words following your recent stay at La Posada del Dragón Hotel
I was so glad to read that you enjoyed your stay and you liked the location and the helpful staff. Please do come and visit us again soon.

I have also passed on your kind words to our great team.
My best regards
Amparo Vano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Clean, kind of retro and super modern decor, Asian flare. Great food in Latina quarter. Busy area, lots to see and do. Friendly staff and funky concept. Wish there was more natural light as the only window looked over the courtyard, and restaurant below so no privacy if blinds were open. Great pub at entrance of hotel. They sit you down with a drink and some olives while they take your bags up.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Posada B, Director of Sales at La Posada del Dragon, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Dear Kelowna
Many thanks for taking the time to post your kind words following your recent stay at La Posada del Dragón Hotel
I was so glad to read that you enjoyed your stay and you liked the location and the decoration of the rooms
Please do come and visit us again soon. I have also passed on your kind words to our great team.
My best regards and renewed thanks,
Amparo Vano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Good location near Plaza Mayor. Very attentive and friendly staff, nice room, comfortable bed. Restaurant/bar appeared very popular with locals. Food was delicious, tapas and pinchos. I would stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Qonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Posada B, Director of Sales at La Posada del Dragon, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your review. We are very happy that your stay was a positive experience and that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are very glad to hear such a nice words about the comfortable room, helpful Staff ...

Thanks again. Hope to see you soon.

Amparo Vaño

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

My wife and I were recently in Madrid, and after looking around for a good place to eat in downtown, we stumbled upon this place. it is not only a really cool building/hotel - it has a great restaurant!
Let me tell you - we loved the glass floor over the roman ruins, and the staff was great. The food was fantastic!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chanok2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Posada B, Director of Sales at La Posada del Dragon, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

I am glad that everything was enjoyable when dining at La Antoñita by La Posada del Dragón
Thank you for dining at my restaurant as well as taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor.
Your kind words make what we do, day in and day out, all the more rewarding.

I look forward to seeing you again when you do return to Madrid

Best Regards,
Amparo Vano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We had supper here and it was very good indeed. It is a lovely restaurant with very attentive staff.
The food was excellent especially the croquettes and the squid.
This was not cheap eats but it was a very pleasurable dining experience.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sambucada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Posada B, Director of Sales at La Posada del Dragon, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your dinner at La Antoñita in La Posada del Dragón I am delighted that you had an enjoyable time with us and you loved the food.
I am also pleased that you found the staff attentive we will pass on your comments to them

We are looking forward to see you here soon!
Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
La Latina
Posada del Leon de Oro
Posada del Leon de Oro
#156 of 438 in Madrid
525 reviews
La Latina
Mayerling Hotel
Mayerling Hotel
#50 of 438 in Madrid
614 reviews
Huertas
Catalonia Puerta del Sol
Catalonia Puerta del Sol
#39 of 438 in Madrid
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hotel Francisco I
Hotel Francisco I
#66 of 438 in Madrid
1,728 reviews
Centro
Petit Palace Posada del Peine
Huertas
Catalonia Las Cortes
Catalonia Las Cortes
#8 of 438 in Madrid
1,518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Posada del Dragon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada del Dragon

Address: Calle Cava Baja 14, 28005 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > La Latina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Business Hotel in Madrid
#45 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#52 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#120 Family Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: $108 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Posada del Dragon 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel & Bar in the city centre in Madrid. The Posada del Dragon was built as a local barn. Its name comes from the mythical dragon that guarded over the area of “Puerta Cerrada”. And in 1868 was converted as a guesthouse by the Marques de Cubas. The story tells that traders, handsome swordsmen and loyal squires were accommodated here. It is also located in one of the most popular areas in Madrid city called 'La Latina'. Posada del Dragon is situated only 100 metres from Plaza Mayor and 700 metres from Puerta del Sol. Only 1500 metres away you can find Prado Museum, Thyssen Bornemisza Museum and Reina Sofia Museum. Almudena´s Cathedral, Royal Palace and Plaza de Oriente are located 800 metres away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your La Posada del Dragon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Del Dragon (Madrid) Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing