We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coolest place we stayed in Spain”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Posada del Dragon
Ranked #75 of 441 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 3, 2013

One of the coolest places I've stayed in...would definitely return (not necessarily with kids). It has loads of character--mixing its age with some funky contemporary styling. There were a few young guys running the front desk / bar / restaurant during the day. We were offered a free drink each on check in...and gladly obliged with mojitos. On the walk to our room one of them explained the history of the place--which is written into the interior court face of each floor. They advised us on things to do--even calling Las Tablas to make our reservation for Flamenco (which was good BTW) and offering to help with other places. The center of the hotel is open to the sky...but it's barely noticeable from the restaurant on the first floor below unless you look up because the center feels pretty enclosed.

The room itself was an off-beat but cool décor--antique folding doors to the balcony, a kooky textured paint job, antique style phone, and Ikea-like furnishings. It had more power outlets than many places I have visited in Europe...including 2 on each side of the bed. We had a tiny balcony overlooking a Spanish rooftop and a church tower as well as the people moving between restaurants and bars below. With only the shutters closed there was a constant aroma of awesome food. At night we found that the balcony doors did a good job of buffering the street noise...which we closed after some random singing and the trash trucks came about on the first night.

Only complaint was that the safe was not secured to anything...you literally could slide it off the shelf and carry it away (I know that would be conspicuous but usually they are bolted down). We did run out of hot water in the shower on the second day but it only happened once...good water pressure and heat otherwise.

We only ate here for lunch one day...which was very good. Restaurante Botin (the oldest restaurant in the world?) is right up the street and was a good eating experience I review separately.

Location is more than "near transportation" or some particular attraction. It is at the edge of both the La Latina tapas bar / restaurant corridor AND the old Centro quarter...an easy walk to Plaza Mayor. There is enough foot traffic below to feel energy but not crowded. Well lit and safe after dark. Multiple metro stops in several directions.

Room Tip: Our room was on the top floor with a street front balcony...on of the staff said was one of his favo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dred313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Posada B, Director of Sales at La Posada del Dragon, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Dear Dred313

Thank you for taking the time to share your lovely review following your visit to the hotel.

Our staff take genuine interest in our guests to ensure that their time with us is memorable and I am thrilled that their efforts were noticed. I was equally pleased to read that you found the staff to be friendly and that they gave you suitable suggestions of what to do locally. I shall ensure that all of your kind comments are passed on to the team and that their service is duly rewarded.


We hope to welcome you back soon.
Please let us know directly next time you are coming to Madrid
Best regards
Amparo Vano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (726)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

285 - 291 of 726 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed at this hotel during a weekend break in Madrid. The location is brilliant; right in the centre of Old Madrid in the same street as several local bars and restaurants, but also only minutes walk from Plaza Major, Royal Palace, Puerta del Sol etc.The rooms are very small very individually designed and the shower is one of the best I've ever had. There is not much room to store clothes but there is a safe and the hotel wifi easily reached the 2nd floor. We ate in the hotel restaurant on our first night and were not disappointed. Staff were all very friendly and helpful. I would definitely use this hotel again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Posada B, Director of Sales at La Posada del Dragon, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Dear Paul
Many thanks for taking the time to leave your kind words and observations following your recent stay with us at La Posada del Dragon Hotel.
We appreciate a lot your positive comments about your stay . Thanks for highlighting our central Location, and our staff , whom I have passed on your lovely words.

So glad you had a good stay and would like to see you again soon.

Best regards,
Amparo Vano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Excellent hotel! Stayed here at the end of August for a very reasonable amount and couldn't have been happier with what we got. This hotel is in a perfect location on the Cava Baja, a lovely quaint street filled with bustling tapas bars, and within walking distance from most of Madrid's main attractions. Our room was a good size and was clean, well stocked and we loved the decor. We chose a balcony room due to the reviews and were really happy with it, the only downside was that it got slightly noisy at night, but if you close the shutters this shouldn't be a problem. The restaurant downstairs was also wonderful, served very good sangria and have a wide range of gin and tonics on offer (a massive positive for us!). Overall this hotel has a wonderful feel about it, is in a great location and very reasonable for the price you pay. I would thoroughly recommend it to anyone staying in Madrid.

Room Tip: Choose a balcony room and if possible contact ahead of time to ask for one on the top floor for more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Merryn16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Posada B, Director of Sales at La Posada del Dragon, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Dear Merry

We appreciate a lot your positive comments about La posada del Dragon.
Thanks for highlighting our central Location, comfortable rooms, good restaurant...

Please do come and visit us again soon. I have also passed on your kind words to our great team.
My best regards and renewed thanks,

Amparo Vano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Loved this hotel. Great location in the middle of the fun in La Latina. Lots of bars, tapas and quaint streets to walk down. Easy walk to the plazas, palace and not so far to the museums. the staff was friendly and the rooms were clean. It is a bit noisy at night on the weekends but if you shut your shutters and party until midnight or so, you won't have much trouble falling asleep. The rooms are small but they are clean and modern and the whole place just feels nice. You will enjoy this hotel. And the welcome drink at the bar sets the right tone!

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank janetnancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Posada B, Director of Sales at La Posada del Dragon, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Dear Janetnancy

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor about your recent stay at La Posada del Dragon
I was very happy to hear that you have a great stay and you loved the location.

When your travel plans call for returning to Madrid I hope we will have the pleasure of hosting you again.

Kindest Regards
Amparo Vano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Just returned from 3 nights at this hotel with my boyfriend. Rooms are compact but clean and staff were friendly. My only complaints with the room are minor but there was only 1 mirror in the room in the bathroom which I couldn't really see in (I'm 5ft 3), there was no soap and no bin in the bedroom. Location is perfect though..Plaza Mayor is just minutes away and everything is within walking distance including the Royal Palace. The metro is just round the corner which we used to travel to Museo del Prado. We didn't eat in the restaurant but did try some of the Tapas in the bar which was tasty. Overall I would recommend this hotel and would return in the future.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank K M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Posada B, Director of Sales at La Posada del Dragon, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Dear K M

Many thanks for taking the time to leave your kind words and observations following your recent stay with us at La Posada del Dragón. We are delighted that you enjoyed the stay.

We apreciate your comments regarding the room, they help us to improve, we will considerate them.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you y back soon. When your plans include a return trip to Madrid

My kindest regards,
Amparo Vano
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

The hotel had a great location, lots of great bars and restaurants close by. Walking distance to pretty much everything we wanted to see. Lovely welcome on arrival and service was generally ok - but it would have been nice if the staff had smiled a bit more.

Balcony room was good, clean and as expected, but a little small if you are staying longer than a few days. That said, I'd stay again.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Sharon_McK006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Posada B, Director of Sales at La Posada del Dragon, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Dear Sharon

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor about your recent stay at La Posada del Dragón

I was very happy to hear that you found the location perfect. We appreciate your comment regarding our staff, we will pass the comment on to them, it helps us to improve.

We hope to have the chance to welcome you soon at la Posada del Dragón

Amparo VAno

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at the hotel the staff made us feel welcome and very comfortable.The bar was a very pleasant place to return after a day out in Madrid, food fantastic and food,beer,wine prices reasonable{recommend the mussels from the Tapas Menu}We had a room on the bottom floor it was spacious and the bathroom was exceptional.Noise from the bar and restaurant may be a problem on busier nights however we did not have any such problems.Hotel was able to extend our check out time and store our bags to accommodate a late leaving of the city.Hotel easy to find only a short walk from Metro station.Excellent access to all city attractions without being in a busy location.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trindavo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Posada B, Director of Sales at La Posada del Dragon, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your stay in La Posada del Dragon

I am delighted that you had an enjoyable time with us. I am also pleased that you found the staff attentive and the bar as a pleasant space

I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back on a future visit to Madrid

Please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of assistance at any time.

Warm regards,
Amparo Vano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
La Latina
Posada del Leon de Oro
Posada del Leon de Oro
#187 of 441 in Madrid
565 reviews
La Latina
Mayerling Hotel
Mayerling Hotel
#45 of 441 in Madrid
644 reviews
Centro
Room Mate Laura
Room Mate Laura
#15 of 441 in Madrid
1,755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hotel Francisco I
Hotel Francisco I
#67 of 441 in Madrid
1,793 reviews
Centro
Room Mate Mario
Room Mate Mario
#42 of 441 in Madrid
1,963 reviews
Centro
Petit Palace Posada del Peine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Posada del Dragon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada del Dragon

Address: Calle Cava Baja 14, 28005 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > La Latina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Business Hotel in Madrid
#45 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#57 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: $71 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Posada del Dragon 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel & Bar in the city centre in Madrid. The Posada del Dragon was built as a local barn. Its name comes from the mythical dragon that guarded over the area of “Puerta Cerrada”. And in 1868 was converted as a guesthouse by the Marques de Cubas. The story tells that traders, handsome swordsmen and loyal squires were accommodated here. It is also located in one of the most popular areas in Madrid city called 'La Latina'. Posada del Dragon is situated only 100 metres from Plaza Mayor and 700 metres from Puerta del Sol. Only 1500 metres away you can find Prado Museum, Thyssen Bornemisza Museum and Reina Sofia Museum. Almudena´s Cathedral, Royal Palace and Plaza de Oriente are located 800 metres away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your La Posada del Dragon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Del Dragon (Madrid) Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing