We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good price x quality relation in a good location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostal Sonsoles

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hostal Sonsoles
Ranked #52 of 407 Specialty Lodging in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good price x quality relation in a good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2011

Me and my girlfriend stayed 3 nights at Sonsoles and although we had booked a double room, we were provided with a twin room. Not a big deal, so we decided not to complain or request a new room.
The room was spacious enough for two people feel comfortable. However, we would appreciate a little more space in the bathroom (smaller than the one in the photos).
The great thing about Sonsoles is its location: only one minute away from the Gran Via station, and at a walking distance from lots of bars, cafes and Puerta del Sol. It is located on a pedestrian commercial street, that although its lack of movement at late hours, does not produce a insecure feeling at all.
A fair hostal for Madrid, considering the relation price x quality.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BrazilianTraveller84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    75
    26
    6
    4
See reviews for
15
73
34
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Andrews, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2011

The hotel is in great location, just 2/3 minutes walk from Gran Via metro station. We arrived at 08:00 in morning and the check in is at 12:00. We left our luggage at the hotel and headed for Toledo. We checked in the evening, the receptionist already finalised a room and left our luggage in the room. I was so impressed. The room has not kettle for making tea or coffee, but they have vending machine to buy tea/coffee. The room was very clean, it toilet and shower room was very clean. There was a deposit box in the room where you can keep your valuables. We checked out in the next morning and left our luggage in the hotel that we collected in the afternoon. The good thing is that you will find plenty of restaurants and bar around this place as it is in the heart of Madrid. I was very happy to stay in this hotel.

Room Tip: All top attractions are walking distance from here
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sazzadur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2011

I stayed in this hotel last April. It's center located and they are super friendly people. The room was clean and they helped us out in everything we needed. We'll definitely come back again!!!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KCramean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2011

Location, Location, Location! The location is really great - just 5 minutes walking from the center of Madrid. My room was extremely small but very clean. The staff was very helpful, but they didn't speak English at all.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phoenixxx81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2010

I stayed in Hostal Sonsoles for four nights in April 2010. The hostel has great location - 5-7 minutes walking from the center of the city (Plaza del Sol), and a very good price. The rooms a very small, but clean. The staff was very friendly, but they don't speak any language except Spanish. But it is normal for spanish people)

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank affmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2010

The good bits first: 1. the location is fantastic, very central and walking distance to every main parts of Madrid (5 min to la Plaza Sol, 10 min to plaza Mayor, seconds away to Chueca etc). 2. Walking up the stairs (the hostel is on the 2nd floor with lift), it felt like we were going into someone's home. 3. For the price we paid (53euros a night), we expected much worse but the room came with flatscreen TV, A/C (which we didn't use), spacious bathroom etc.

The negative points: 1. the interior is a little tired (communal spaces and rooms) and the people working there won't go out of their ways to help you. 2. the internet was extremely slow and very temperamental (do not rely on it as I gave up after while).

I would recommend this hostel if like us, you are likely to spend minimum time in the room and mostly out and about visiting or partying. With the triple glazing windows (double glazing plus an extra window), the noisy street (a pedestrian street VERY popular, especially on Fridays and Saturdays) is completely blocked out.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Je R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erlangen, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2010

I travelled to Madrid in April to visit some friends there, and I chose this hostal as some people have recommended to me, and I have to say I will come back.
The rooms are quite nice, and everything was so clean.
They have free Wifi in-room, which is a good advantage for them, and the staff working there was very nice.
I've been in some other hostals before and I can promise you I will come back to this one in my future visits to Madrid.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gzimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Malasana
Hostal Los Alpes
Hostal Los Alpes
#30 of 407 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Chueca
C. H. Chelo
C. H. Chelo
#44 of 407 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Chueca
Maria Cristina Hostal
Maria Cristina Hostal
#85 of 280 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chueca
Room007 Chueca Hostel
Room007 Chueca Hostel
#18 of 407 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
Chueca
Hostal MH Fuencarral
Hostal MH Fuencarral
#21 of 280 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Chueca
Hostal Hispano
Hostal Hispano
#57 of 280 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Sonsoles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Sonsoles

Property: Hostal Sonsoles
Address: Calle Fuencarral 18 | 2º Drcha, 28004 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Chueca
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 407 Specialty Lodging in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Sonsoles 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A superior two stars liitle hotel located in a central and highly commercial fashion-oriented street (the Fuencarral street). Beetween Malasaña, the well known bohemian district, and Chueca a renovated XIX century distict full of fashion shops (including vintage, outlets ) and night life. Fuencarral market complex is full of shops serving youngters and the young people of madrid looking for both last fashion clothes and "retro" garments. The location is at a walking distance of the main tourist attractions of downtown madrid. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Hostal Sonsoles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing