We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Folksy, funky, but not spectacular”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of El cisne azul

El cisne azul
Ranked #1,368 of 10,534 Restaurants in Madrid
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Chueca
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
73 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Folksy, funky, but not spectacular”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

We got off to a bad start. Calling ahead we could not reserve a table ('mesa') because they did no such thing. Fair enough. But while we waited in line at the door, 2 other parties were seated before us 'because they had requested a mesa' (as opposed to standing at the bar when no mesa is available). Anyway. The place has a reputation, probably in part because it has not updated its ways or interior for 30 years. Tile-covered, air filled with grease, a soccer game quietly playing on a screen in the corner, waiters running around trying to get everyone what they need. The menu is full of mushrooms, which is interesting. We had two mushroom dishes, which were not spectacular. The black 'Trompetas de la muerte' (Trumpets of Death) did not kill us but we did not finish them anyway. The steak (Lomo) came without anything, not even some sauce, and was overcooked. The wine was great, though, and not expensive at all. To cut a long story short: go if you're in to watch a folksy Madrid phenomenon; do not go if you're in for a romantic dinner-for-two.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Joost-and-Claus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    154
    45
    27
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Rozas, Spain
Level Contributor
149 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“The best wild mushrooms in Madrid”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

This is a small, noisy and crowded restaurant in the very downtown Madrid, where you will find the best mushrooms you can imagine, all the spanish varieties prepared in many different ways, always delicious, with foie, "mollejas", eggs, grilled, garlic... The service is sometimes overbooked but is competent and friendly. Apart of 5 different varieties of mushrooms, we also tried an excellent grilled steak. The atmosphere is always very interesting, corresponding to that of the traditional spanish restaurants, now becoming an endangered spicie. No reservations, on weekends you most likely will have to wait to be seated.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jesusizdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
159 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Loved this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

I love mushrooms and this was one place that I wanted to try. It's not a big space, but we were lucky enough to get a table. We shared a salad of arugula, grilled goat cheese and tomatoes. Really really good, then had a mushroom ‘sampler’ (several different types of mushrooms sautéed), finished with the boletus topped with a fried egg (sunnyside up). (We tried to order the trumpet of death mushrooms but they weren’t available.) With a coffee and a bottle of mineral water, it came to 43 euros. Not cheap, but so delicious and one of my favourite meals. This was a very ‘local’ restaurant – I don’t think there were any tourists there when we were there. They don't take credit cards.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SBJEinToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Velez-Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
58 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Mushrooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

A place for lovers of mushrooms although it is a little expensive,there was a bottle of wine priced at 240 euros!It's not on the tourist trail bur worth searching for just to look at the selection of mushrooms.An enjoyable meal.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kev1nTaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

Most of the reviews are for the mushrooms (no wonder since it is the specialty of the house).
We also tried the beef and it was the best we ever had, and we have had a lot. Juicy, fresh and soft.
Is it cozy, authentic and very pleasant atmosphere.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vasilp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El cisne azul also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to El cisne azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing