We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Madrid City Tours
Open today: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Madrid City Tours
from $53.40
More Info
from $66.70
More Info
from $17.10
More Info
from $74.70
More Info
Reviews (393)
Filter reviews
229 results
Traveler rating
71
74
36
31
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
71
74
36
31
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews day ticket hop on hop your bearings multiple languages major sights route earphones stops euro stadium
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 229 reviews
Reviewed October 9, 2018

Whenever visiting a city for the first time, we always take the HoHo bus tour, but we were very disappointed with the Madrid City Tour. It isn't a proper HoHo bus.
It appeared there were too few buses which resulted in overcrowding, the headphones didn't work properly and the commentary was sparodic and lacked information which tourists like to have, especially on their first visit. One of the commentators tried some humour which just didn't work.
Maybe Madrid should have a proper HoHo bus so that the City Tour would have some competition so that they would up their game.
Despite all that we enjoyed our Madrid visit.

Thank lovetrav_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2018 via mobile

We only had a day in Madrid & City Tour was nice way to get a broad overview. We went to both routes (route 1 historic & route 2 modern). The commentary (listen with headphones, multiple languages available) was a bit off & I would have preferred more comments & less musical interlude. There is a lot of construction in Madrid now & we were warned of possible Saturday demonstrations. There didnt seem to be any unusual delays. We didnt get off but just took both routes completely. Both times we were able to board with minimal wait (Puerta del Sol stop). My husband had 1/2 price 10 Euro fare offered to 65 years & older. Overall we had a decent experience & fit our budget, available time & desires

Thank obdocSanJose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2018

This is the best possible way to visit most of the tourist place. One Day Ticket is enough for both the routs.

Thank salvins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2018 via mobile

This is a lot like the Hop on Hop Pff bus franchise and has a similar business model. Route 1 is good & takes you to major attractions around Madrid. Don’t bother with Route 2 unless you are a die hard football fan, also beware of the numerous seats on the bus where the headphone plugs are out of order.

Thank Leximillion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2018 via mobile

In high season, march to october, it seems there are every 6-8 minutes buses for the hip-hop city tours ( 'historico' and 'moderno') !
We took a 2 consecutive day ticket for our own ease n comfortability.
But the earphone guide was somehow dissappointing, as not very communicative and missing 'passion'

1  Thank marc d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2018 via mobile

We generally use the “Hop on hop off” buses in most cities we visit to orientate ourselves and to see the major sights we may want to visit later. Great value, especially if you are over 65, €9. Buses are very regular, about every 10 minutes and we had no problems getting on at any stage. I would say that line 2 is a waste of time as the only place of any note is the Burnabeau stadium.

Thank SagaloutsTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2018 via mobile

Expect waiting times of much longer than 30min at each stop. Very bad service and absolutely no information

Thank V A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2018

Whenever we visit a city we always start off with a city bus tour. It gives us a lay of the city and often points out new attractions we weren't familiar with. This tour had earbuds and tour in at least 6 languages. Starts in the Sol plaza , a very large open square with lots of buskers and a great feel of the local Madridians. sidewalk cafes and tons of shops. The main shopping areas radiate from this square.

Thank Gordon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2017 via mobile

Not great value, walking with mobile phone guided tour goes as fast and is of better quality, An expensive boring tour, waste of lot of money when you are with more than one

Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2017

We enjoyed hop on hop off tours in Madrid. It was a comfortable, efficient and easy way to see the main Madrid sights. We were on both the Historical and the Modern tours. If not enough time, the Historical tour is slightly better in my view and I recommend it.

Thank Savvas123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews