We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For What it is!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hostal la Perla Asturiana
Ranked #234 of 441 Hotels in Madrid
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Minutes away from the Plaza Mayor and Sol square, this is a wonderfully located hostel. Very reasonable, we paid E60 for two nights. Okay so the room was small and slightly bleak but it was spotlessly clean and had everything we needed. It was our first time to stay in a hostal and we had been dreading it after staying at a gorgeous hotel in Cordoba but the hostal was great. Pleasant staff who helped us with our queries. Would recommend the café bar right next door for breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nicola P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (261)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 261 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2013

I traveled a couple of days to Madrid with my boyfriend and my goal was to find some place near the centre of the city to stay that wasn't too expensive but that allowed privacy (not a room with shared bathroom, for instance). La Perla Asturiana proved to be the perfect choice: the room was very small, that's true, but perfectly clean and cozy, with bathroom and a lovely balcony over the plaza. Perfect location, very close to Plaza del Sol (and metro, buses, etc). The staff was incredibly nice, always asking if we needed anything; the day of the check-out they even offered to keep our heavy bag all day in order to allow us to walk the city more comfortably, and they gave us a discount for a next stay! I would definitely recommend it, specially to young couples.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rita P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Stayed here on three occasions. Very good value for a great location. Staff helpful and friendly. Close to the Plaza Major and good restaurants nearby. If you're happy with simple, clean and cheap, this is a good spot for a couple of nights.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mick56Peru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We received a remarkable service for little or nothing! Very good price and clean simple rooms. Not a luxury hotel but the price isn't luxurious either. Location could not have been better. I am very pleased for finding this gem and will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

The Pearl of Asturias!! I almost hate to write this because I want to have a place to go to when I visit Madrid!! It's a bargain especially if your focus is a cheap, clean place to sleep. The rooms are on the spartan side but are simple and clean. Good neighborhood, right in the heart of Madrid.

Probably 150m from the Plaza Mayor, so very near the Puerta del Sol if you are into that mess. The hotel is clean and safe. The folks at the desk are more than hospitable. I believe they speak English as well. Rooms are straight forward - nothing fancy but clean and a flat screen TV that lets you switch over to English (or "V.O.") for films and TV programs. There is no elevator although they have one of those stairway lifts that goes up to the 1st floor. Charged fire extinguishers - Always nice to see!

There are ots of good, affordable bars and restaurants in the area. If this is not the Latina district, it is probably just a street or two away. Great, affordable, lively area, although we had no problem with noise, though our room was on the side street.

No parking but you can park at one of the underground public parking lots around the city for around 21€ per 24 hours. We parked in Principe Pio underground parking/metro stop which, as it turned out, was only 3 stops from the Sol metro stop (which is the closest to the hotel). If you like to shop, that might be a good place for you to leave your car. The parking is below a beautiful parking mall. If you want to park on the cheap, you can go outside the city and take a train in or park in long term parking out at Barajas. Probably not worth the time or trouble, though.

As I read was the case, management happily allowed us to leave our bags with them after we checked out as there were a few more places we wanted to visit before leaving Madrid on our final day. Perfect.

Room Tip: If you are afraid of noise, there are rooms off the side street, which is where we were.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SpencerTracy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Haha! Dark, narrow corridors, minuscule capsule rooms, facing a shaft-like backyard, all up some steep stairs in an old Madrid building. This is a far cry from carpeted floors and minibars. BUT you have got all you need; a comfortable bed, a stool and a bathroom with a little tub and a toilet. It´s kept spotlessly clean, everyone is friendly, it´s safe, the location near Puerta del Sol and Plaza Mayor couldn´t be better and it is VERY cheap. Spend your money on tapas, tinto de verano, cañas etc, and stay at the La Perla Asturiana.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
6  Thank OsopolarTromso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Madrid
1
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Well located with a nice nostalgic feel: people should be more appreciative that there still are hotels like this. The staff were extremely helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hostal Comercial
Hostal Comercial
#228 of 441 in Madrid
227 reviews
Chueca
Hostal Zamora
Hostal Zamora
#210 of 441 in Madrid
240 reviews
Centro
Hotel Plaza Mayor
Hotel Plaza Mayor
#274 of 441 in Madrid
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hostal Las Fuentes
Hostal Las Fuentes
#87 of 441 in Madrid
637 reviews
Centro
Hostal La Casa de La Plaza
Hostal La Casa de La Plaza
#287 of 441 in Madrid
165 reviews
Centro
Hostal Cruz Sol
Hostal Cruz Sol
#275 of 441 in Madrid
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal la Perla Asturiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal la Perla Asturiana

Address: Plaza Santa Cruz 3, 28012 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro , Sol
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: $46 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal la Perla Asturiana 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hostal la Perla Asturiana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal La Perla Asturiana Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing