We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place to stay.”
Review of hostal gonzalo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
hostal gonzalo
Ranked #31 of 399 Specialty Lodging in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful place to stay.”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Located in a small street just off Paseo del Prado is a tiny hostal that is an absolute gem. The hostal is on a single level of an apartment building. The rooms were clean, quiet, and comfortable. The location is perfect – walking distance to several museums, the hoho bus, Neptune fountain, and pretty much everything. We didn’t have an issue with noise – I thought it was quiet. There was air conditioning and free WIFI. Also, there are several brilliant restaurants very close by! This is a beautiful place to stay, and I would absolutely recommend it to anyone travelling to Madrid.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrVetticus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    72
    17
    5
    3
See reviews for
50
124
43
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
boulder co
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

This little venue couldn't be better located. The owners were as nice as they could be. Shampoo wasn't provided, but the owner fetched a bottle to loan me which probably belonged to his wife. It was nice and clean. However, the AC had not yet been turned on, and AC is one of the reasons we chose this hostel. That was OK the first couple of nights, as I had a room in the front with a decent breeze. It heated up our last day, which was when I was moved (grr) to another room that faced on an interior space with no breeze to speak of. That did not make me happy, nor did I appreciate being moved so that the room I was occupying was given to someone else. Oh, well. Devil is in the details, and overall, it was just fine. If you care about the AC, as whether it will be turned on when you are there.

Room Tip: You may find the rooms facing the street a bit noisy, but I preferred that for the air circulation a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveling_foodie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Great small Hostal near Prado. Javier is a great host and helpful for all needs. Walk down a 1.5 blocks and you are at the Neptune fountain and just across the street from the Prado Museum, also the Madrid City bus tour starts right at the corner. Will stay here again in the future.

Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank arieger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Oman
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

1st the goodies
As already said the location is simply unbeatable – in the middle of everything. Set in the old town narrow streets full of character - lots of little boutiques, restaurants, coffee shops – was pleasantly surprised to see the good oldies little UK style Bengali and Chineese corner shops open almost 24/7. The beauty of the location is that you are within 5 minutes walking distance to the Metro, 10m to the famous plaza Mayor, if you like the starting point in Madrid and many break fast outlets at your door steps. As for the Hostal itself, thanks to the friendly and very helpful brothers owners Javier, and I believe, Antonio and of course their mother for smiling whenever she saw us although we could not understand each other! – the THREE are the Hostal Gonzalo!. As you would expect a hostal is a hostal and you get for what you pay for – basic accommodation, but very clean and tidy with a TV, WIFI, and ensuite Bano and more important with air conditioning!. What else would a man need when you are traveling with 3 kids, 6 suitcases and spend almost all day touring the city!. Thanks Javier for helping us with the luggage – we arrived safely to our retreat in South Andalucia. By the way the Hostal has an 19xx lift – the kids loved it and it works!.
On the downside – as everyone mentioned it can get a bit noisy as the rooms are not sound insulated and corridors have ceramics. My family and I loved Madrid – never seen such a city with such friendly and helpful people who go out of their way to help you. 1st time in Madrid but won't be last – all that Madrid needs is horse carts!. It gets daunting for families to walk the very long and wide, albeit, beautiful boulevards!. Also the Taxis too small and couldn't fit the 5 of us!. However, Will be back to both Gonzalo and Madrid!.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BulushiSpecial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Hostal Gonzalo proved to be exactly what some of the reviews already said. Clean, quiet, perfect location, friendly staff. I will most certainly return on my next visit to Madrid. Although they don't serve breakfast, there are plenty of cafes just around te corner. Rooms viewing the front are slightly larger, rooms in the back are quieter. The only very minor fault of the place is that they don't provide any shampoo - just one small bar of soap.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarcosR1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

It's rare for me yo rate anything as 'excellent'; but I cannot fault the Gonzalo.

The owners, who are constantly on-site, though not obtrusive; are friendly and happy to help.

The rooms are spotless, spacious and inexpensive.

The location is very central - but the rooms sufficiently sounproofed that there's no noise issue.

Very easy access to the museums and town centre. Lots of local bars and places to eat - Los Gatos highly recommended.

Room Tip: We took a treble room, although only two of us. For an extra couple of euros it's worth getting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Family with 2 teens stayed at the Hostal Gonzalo and were very comfortable. Javier and staff keep the place spotless and it is located in a very fun upbeat part of Madrid, perfect for wandering around the cobbled stone streets at night between the various plazas. We wished they had served breakfast but there were many places very near by. Javier recommended a fantastic restaurant near where we were heading one day, but he for the most part just checks on you when you come and go from the Hostal. Whole family agreed we would stay here again if ever back in Madrid.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorthCarolinaBudd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Huertas
Mercure Madrid Centro
Mercure Madrid Centro
#161 of 435 in Madrid
860 reviews
Huertas
Vincci Soho
Vincci Soho
#108 of 435 in Madrid
1,542 reviews
Huertas
DoubleTree by Hilton Madrid-Prado
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huertas
NH Collection Paseo del Prado
Huertas
Pension Corbero
Pension Corbero
#84 of 277 in Madrid
52 reviews
Centro
Hostal Veracruz II
Hostal Veracruz II
#50 of 399 in Madrid
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to hostal gonzalo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about hostal gonzalo

Property: hostal gonzalo
Address: Calle Cervantes 34 30, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 399 Specialty Lodging in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — hostal gonzalo 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostal Gonzalo is situated in a quiet street in the heart of the historical centre of Madrid, in a renovated building of the XIX century, 3 minutes walking from Prado Museum and Thyssen Gallery. Too you can reach easily by foot, Puerta del Sol, Plaza Mayor, Retiro Park...Comfortable rooms with private bathroom, TV, central heating,air conditiong and free wifi access. Free access 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your hostal gonzalo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Gonzalo Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing