We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go for it!”
Review of hostal gonzalo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
hostal gonzalo
Ranked #32 of 412 Specialty Lodging in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 7, 2013

1st the goodies
As already said the location is simply unbeatable – in the middle of everything. Set in the old town narrow streets full of character - lots of little boutiques, restaurants, coffee shops – was pleasantly surprised to see the good oldies little UK style Bengali and Chineese corner shops open almost 24/7. The beauty of the location is that you are within 5 minutes walking distance to the Metro, 10m to the famous plaza Mayor, if you like the starting point in Madrid and many break fast outlets at your door steps. As for the Hostal itself, thanks to the friendly and very helpful brothers owners Javier, and I believe, Antonio and of course their mother for smiling whenever she saw us although we could not understand each other! – the THREE are the Hostal Gonzalo!. As you would expect a hostal is a hostal and you get for what you pay for – basic accommodation, but very clean and tidy with a TV, WIFI, and ensuite Bano and more important with air conditioning!. What else would a man need when you are traveling with 3 kids, 6 suitcases and spend almost all day touring the city!. Thanks Javier for helping us with the luggage – we arrived safely to our retreat in South Andalucia. By the way the Hostal has an 19xx lift – the kids loved it and it works!.
On the downside – as everyone mentioned it can get a bit noisy as the rooms are not sound insulated and corridors have ceramics. My family and I loved Madrid – never seen such a city with such friendly and helpful people who go out of their way to help you. 1st time in Madrid but won't be last – all that Madrid needs is horse carts!. It gets daunting for families to walk the very long and wide, albeit, beautiful boulevards!. Also the Taxis too small and couldn't fit the 5 of us!. However, Will be back to both Gonzalo and Madrid!.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BulushiSpecial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (297)
There are newer reviews for hostal gonzalo
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 297 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2013

Hostal Gonzalo proved to be exactly what some of the reviews already said. Clean, quiet, perfect location, friendly staff. I will most certainly return on my next visit to Madrid. Although they don't serve breakfast, there are plenty of cafes just around te corner. Rooms viewing the front are slightly larger, rooms in the back are quieter. The only very minor fault of the place is that they don't provide any shampoo - just one small bar of soap.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarcosR1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

It's rare for me yo rate anything as 'excellent'; but I cannot fault the Gonzalo.

The owners, who are constantly on-site, though not obtrusive; are friendly and happy to help.

The rooms are spotless, spacious and inexpensive.

The location is very central - but the rooms sufficiently sounproofed that there's no noise issue.

Very easy access to the museums and town centre. Lots of local bars and places to eat - Los Gatos highly recommended.

Room Tip: We took a treble room, although only two of us. For an extra couple of euros it's worth getting...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Family with 2 teens stayed at the Hostal Gonzalo and were very comfortable. Javier and staff keep the place spotless and it is located in a very fun upbeat part of Madrid, perfect for wandering around the cobbled stone streets at night between the various plazas. We wished they had served breakfast but there were many places very near by. Javier recommended a fantastic restaurant near where we were heading one day, but he for the most part just checks on you when you come and go from the Hostal. Whole family agreed we would stay here again if ever back in Madrid.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NorthCarolinaBudd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Hostal Gonzalo is located fabulously close to the main train station in Madrid (Atocha), and truly about a 6 minute walk from the Prado and the Thyssen museums, and maybe 15 minutes walking from the Plaza Mayor and the centre of Retiro Park. It's also scrupulously clean and, when you close all the blinds and shutters, amazingly quiet for its location. Try the Café M(something I cannot remember, but it's right across the street, open early, and they are very patient and accommodating). Javier is a pleasant and helpful host, but he doesn't hover. I will certainly go back (if they served breakfast, I would just move in!)

Also, we were booked here for our first few days in Madrid. Once we checked it out, we were able to book a room for the end of our visit and then to extend that stay a bit (Javier promised to help find us a room in another local hotel if his place was full...I'm glad it wasn't). Thanks!

Room Tip: Interior rooms without a view) are small, with very little ambiance, but they are very, very quiet...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Hostel Gonzalo is a charming, super clean and affordable place in the center of Madrid. We were welcomed by a friendly host who gave us a room in the back guaranteed to be a quiet refuge. It was small but neat, clean and quiet. The couple who own the rooms do not speak English but their son does and he was at the desk most of the time. We were in an area with great little tapas bars and a small restaurant across the street served simple and low priced breakfasts. We were located only a few blocks from the Thyssen Museum, the Prada, botanical gardens and the old town area. On check-out day, our hosts graciously held our suitcases for us so we could sightsee until it was time to go to the airport.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back if you want a quiet space.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nanosecond70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

This family run hostal is in an ideal location, just a couple of blocks from the Prado and near the old town sites. The room was clean and fairly large for a city center European hotel. The facilities were all up to date, and the beds were comfortable. There was free WiFi in the room. While they do not provide breakfast, there are several inexpensive local places nearby. The service provided by Javier and his brother was outstanding, and they speak English much better than we speak Spanish.

Room Tip: It is located on a quiet street, so most any room should be fine.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeHillsboro_Oregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Huertas
Hostal Dulcinea
Hostal Dulcinea
#274 of 438 in Madrid
152 reviews
Huertas
Mercure Madrid Centro
Mercure Madrid Centro
#161 of 438 in Madrid
893 reviews
Huertas
Hotel One Shot Prado 23
Hotel One Shot Prado 23
#82 of 438 in Madrid
884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hostal Veracruz II
Hostal Veracruz II
#56 of 412 in Madrid
137 reviews
Huertas
Pension Corbero
Pension Corbero
#88 of 278 in Madrid
53 reviews
Huertas
La Posada de Huertas
La Posada de Huertas
#45 of 412 in Madrid
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to hostal gonzalo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about hostal gonzalo

Address: Calle Cervantes 34 30, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 412 Specialty Lodging in Madrid
Price Range: $69 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — hostal gonzalo 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostal Gonzalo is situated in a quiet street in the heart of the historical centre of Madrid, in a renovated building of the XIX century, 3 minutes walking from Prado Museum and Thyssen Gallery. Too you can reach easily by foot, Puerta del Sol, Plaza Mayor, Retiro Park...Comfortable rooms with private bathroom, TV, central heating,air conditiong and free wifi access. Free access 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your hostal gonzalo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Gonzalo Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing