We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple, super clean, central, quiet.”
Review of hostal gonzalo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
hostal gonzalo
Ranked #31 of 418 Specialty Lodging in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 5, 2012

I will definitely stay here again when I next go to Madrid. This place is a 15 minute walk from Atocha railway station (for the airport), located in a quiet street just off the Paseo del Prado. It's in a traditional building with a beautiful staircase leading up to a number of other 'Hostals', of which Hostal Gonzalo is one. We were welcomed warmly by Jorge, who showed us the room, confirmed the price with us, and gave us some local addresses (restaurant, breakfast place, launderette).

The room was on the small size, but this wasn't a problem as it had everything we needed. The AC worked quietly, which was great during the night. The bathroom was again small, but everything worked well and it was spotlessly clean. The owners live on site, so are on hand for questions and advice, but were not at all intrusive.

Aside from the price, cleanliness and quiet, the other great thing about this place is the location. We were in Madrid for almost three days and didn't need to use the Metro once. All the main areas/barrios are easily walkable, and there are literally dozens of restaurants and tapas bars within 5 minutes walk. For breakfast, we just walked two minutes up to the top of the Calle de Cervantes (on which the Hostal is located), and where it crosses Calle de Leon, there is a great cafe which did Cafe con leche, pan con tomate, and fresh orange juice for just 2 or 3 Euros.

If you want an excellent value, simple room, in the heart of Madrid but in a quiet and friendly atmosphere, you couldn't do much better than this.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Toni1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (304)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 304 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2012

I stayed in May 2012. This place is very clean. It is in a great location on a relatively quite street. It is on the 3rd floor. There is an old elevator, on the small side, which works just fine when people close the doors inside the elevator, but if the last user failed to do that, then when you push the button the elevator will not come, as the inside doors must be closed for it to work. I liked the Hostal Gonzalo. Owners are helpful and pleasant, everything worked, my room was quite quite. I expect I will be staying here again sometime. This is a great hostal in an excellent location.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank R2394
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

I stayed here with two other people for three nights this past April and we were very happy with hostal gonzalo. The place is immaculate, it's close to Plaza Mayor, and the management is extremely hospitable. We loved the corner breakfast place they recommended. Also, the windows opening up into the balcony must have been soundproof bc street noise wasn't an issue.

If I had to pick a downside it would be that the triple was a little bit on the small side. But overall we thought it was a great value for the money.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Via_Veneto99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

Hostal Gonzalo has a great location on a quiet street almost across from the Prado and only a 10 minute walk from Atocha station. Madrid is a very walkable city and you can walk to all the sites from here. The hotel is meticulously clean. The room is adequate size, although I did not have a window. The bathroom is clean with a good shower and plenty of hot water, a small bar of soap. I would definitely stay here again on a return to Madrid.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MickeyK50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

My 2 sons and I stayed at Hostal Gonzalo from 3/18 to 3/23. We stayed in room 8, which is a triple room and away from the street. This hostal was super clean, the people very nice and the location was superb. The room overlooks a courtyard and it was very quiet all day. The beds were firm and comfortable. This triple was quite spacious compared to European standards. I've stayed in smaller hotel rooms in NYC.

There are 2 metro stops about 5 minutes walk away, and so are the museums. There are many good restaurants a few blocks away, including one across the street. The train station is 10 mins away. The Sol is about 10 - 15 mins walk away. We felt very safe in this neighborhood.

Soap is provided but not shampoo. I wish there were hooks on the bathroom door. There were 2 glasses in the room but no cups or anything to make hot water. The wifi was strong in room 8. They accept credit cards, but prefer cash so we paid in euros. One person (Javier?) speaks very good English but not the older couple.

We were very satisfied with our stay. We would definitely stay in Hostal Gonzalo the next time we visit Madrid.

Room Tip: The street this hostal is located on is pretty quiet, so I think most people will not have a problem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SeattleTravelDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2012

Best possible location, staff that treats you like family, super-clean.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Del M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2012

We really enjoyed this budget hotel. The hosts were very accommodating and the rooms were spotless and more than adequate for the price. Wi-fi was a bit weak but did the job.
You couldn't ask for a better location to see the galleries,major squares, restaurants and train station. All were within easy walking distance of the hotel.

Room Tip: I would try for a street view room. Noise did not seem to be a factor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank paulunterman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Huertas
Hostal Dulcinea
Hostal Dulcinea
#273 of 438 in Madrid
152 reviews
Huertas
Cat's Hostel
Cat's Hostel
#17 of 418 in Madrid
911 reviews
Huertas
Artistic B&B
Artistic B&B
#1 of 282 in Madrid
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
ILUNION Pio XII
#149 of 438 in Madrid
737 reviews
Ayre Gran Hotel Colon
#150 of 438 in Madrid
1,841 reviews
NH Madrid Ventas
#62 of 438 in Madrid
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to hostal gonzalo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about hostal gonzalo

Address: Calle Cervantes 34 30, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 418 Specialty Lodging in Madrid
Price Range: $68 - $82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — hostal gonzalo 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostal Gonzalo is situated in a quiet street in the heart of the historical centre of Madrid, in a renovated building of the XIX century, 3 minutes walking from Prado Museum and Thyssen Gallery. Too you can reach easily by foot, Puerta del Sol, Plaza Mayor, Retiro Park...Comfortable rooms with private bathroom, TV, central heating,air conditiong and free wifi access. Free access 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your hostal gonzalo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Gonzalo Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing