We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location! Perfect for Us!”
Review of hostal gonzalo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
hostal gonzalo
Ranked #32 of 412 Specialty Lodging in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 9, 2012

Hostal Gonzalo
c/ Cervantes 34, 30, Madrid, Spain 20814
The five of us continued our stay in Spain by traveling from Marbella to Madrid for 4 days in November 2011. It is difficult to find places that have a room for three adults. Thanks to TA and numerous private messages we decided to book the Hostal Gonzalo. What a delightful decision. Our group of 5 women are used to traveling together and this is the first time since my first trip to Europe in the early 1970’s that I have booked such a small hostal and without any firsthand knowledge except for the trip reports raving about Javier and his family hotel. Hostal Gonzalo is perfect for walking everywhere. We loved the fact that we could walk up the street for breakfast and around the corner for dinner and drinks. I love antiques and I would have purchased the door of the Hostal Gonzalo if Javier would have sold it to me. Yes, thank goodness there is an elevator; however several of the younger women in our group walked the stairs several times a day for exercise. Please be sure to close the elevator doors when you exit, if not someone will have to walk down and close. Our rooms were clean, the beds comfortable, always clean towels and yes always hot water for our showers. It turned cold while we were there and our rooms were warm and plenty of blankets on the beds. The location is the best, great for seeing the Prado, going shopping, getting to the Hop on hop off bus, the Plaza Mayor and at night The Palace Hotel for a drink. We always felt safe walking everywhere. In the sitting area are many books of Madrid and useful information for us tourists. On the morning of our departure for the US we had to leave very early (6:30AM) Roberto was up and had the taxis waiting for us and then took all of our bags down to the taxis. We would go back to the Hostal Gonzalo for another visit to Madrid. Everyone at the Hostal Gonzalo is wonderful. So glad we decided on the Hostal Gonzalo! As Rick Steves says there is a reason that the Hostal Gonzalo is included in every guide book and resource!

Room Tip: We had two rooms total and both were good. We asked to see a couple of other rooms when vacant. All...
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank collector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (297)
There are newer reviews for hostal gonzalo
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 297 reviews

Reviewed December 10, 2011

my wife and i stayed 2 nights on nov 29 and 30th. the hotel is fantastic. 5 minute walk to the prado, 5 minute walk from the metro stop. javier and staff are very helpful. price is right and the rooms are spotless.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jimmy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2011

The pension is located at the 3rd floor of the XIX century building with the tiny old-fashioned elevator where two people and their luggage could hardly fit into. There are a hall and a several rooms, fashioned in a bit odd, but pleasant mixture of old Spanish, Arabic and even a little English style.

Our room was not very large, but there was plenty of space for everything we need. There were en-suite bathroom, a wardrobe, an LCD TV, an airconditioning and a tiny balcony with forged railings, facing the quiet and cozy Calle Cervantes (5 to 10 minutes walk to the Gold Triangle). There were blinds on the window, so if it is hot, you can shut them to prevent sun to overheat the room. Also you can use airconditioning, but our host Jorge (he don't speak English, only spanish :) told us to use it only when we're in the room and windows are closed.

There were no shampoo and shower gel in the bathroom, however there was a piece of organic soap. The sink was English-styled - with two separate faucets for hot and cold water.
We found out that the free electric outlets were available only in very odd places - one in the bathroom and other just behind the ceiling.

The staff was very friendly and tried to help us in any manner. Despite our host Jorge did not speak English, that was not the great problem, because we managed to understand Spanish a little :) There were also two other men who speaks English. One man's name was Antonio, and second's man name was unknown for us, but he looked just like Russian President Dmitri Medvedev, hehe :)

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank heavyrail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2011

Hostal Gonzalo is in a great location. It is welcoming, clean, reasonably priced, and the staff are very helpful. I recommend it highly for travelers who are interested in a taste of authenticity.
The elevator doors are your responsibility to close firmly if you want it to be functional.

Room Tip: Have only stayed the one time, so don't know about the variety of rooms available. Mine was jus...
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DCmitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2011

Hotel Gonzalo is a centrally located, small, comfortable, clean and quiet hotel in Madrid.
Did I mention its central location? You can walk to anywhere of any interest from this hotel. Family-owned and operate we were greeted by one of the family and met several others during our total of four days in September 2011. They were all very helpful and, frankly, charming.
Let's be perfectly clear, this is a basic place to rest your head. However, the beds were very comfortable (firm but not hard), the linens fresh and the rooms spotless. All that for a VERY affordable rate. Most rooms have a private bathroom. Did I mention the location? Hard to beat!
A big Thank You goes out to Javier (whom we did not meet) and the other members of his family who treated us so well.
This is certain to be our 'resting spot' whenever we are in Madrid.
Book early!

Room Tip: We had rooms with windows opening onto an interior light well - a bit noisy in early evening. The s...
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2011

Very welcoming and clean. What a great value for being so central, and a great neighborhood. The tiny elevator is cute,

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GordonSchmordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2011

Javier and Jorge really do their best to keep their hostal clean, welcoming, and comfortable for their guests. They do care! The rooms are small and basic but then it's not the Ritz and you are not paying 600 Euro a night. In another word it's great value for the money. We had a room above the street with a balcony. The balcony door is new and has a tight seal when it's closed so we don't hear any street noise.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrHorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Huertas
Hostal Dulcinea
Hostal Dulcinea
#274 of 438 in Madrid
152 reviews
Huertas
Mercure Madrid Centro
Mercure Madrid Centro
#161 of 438 in Madrid
893 reviews
Huertas
Hotel One Shot Prado 23
Hotel One Shot Prado 23
#82 of 438 in Madrid
883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hostal Veracruz II
Hostal Veracruz II
#56 of 412 in Madrid
137 reviews
Huertas
Pension Corbero
Pension Corbero
#88 of 278 in Madrid
53 reviews
Huertas
La Posada de Huertas
La Posada de Huertas
#45 of 412 in Madrid
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to hostal gonzalo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about hostal gonzalo

Address: Calle Cervantes 34 30, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 412 Specialty Lodging in Madrid
Price Range: $69 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — hostal gonzalo 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostal Gonzalo is situated in a quiet street in the heart of the historical centre of Madrid, in a renovated building of the XIX century, 3 minutes walking from Prado Museum and Thyssen Gallery. Too you can reach easily by foot, Puerta del Sol, Plaza Mayor, Retiro Park...Comfortable rooms with private bathroom, TV, central heating,air conditiong and free wifi access. Free access 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your hostal gonzalo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Gonzalo Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing