We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“NO NO NO!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostal Alcazar Regis

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hostal Alcazar Regis
Ranked #399 of 446 Hotels in Madrid
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“NO NO NO!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here in 2009 and we loved it, But its evident that the managment has changed in 2012. The family that lives on site are creepy and unfriendly. Our room had 14" hole in front of the bathroom door that we had to step over or risk falling through to the next floor. Location is great but keep looking as there are so many good places in Madrid.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jannisxixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    4
    9
    5
    3
See reviews for
3
9
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
CHEMELLIER, FRANCE
Level Contributor
60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2011

We stayed 2 nights at this hostal.

The advantages were that it was central and close to a metro station.

The room we had, No 5 was by to the reception area and we could hear the TV in the reception area and the telephone when it rang. There were creaky floorboards. however the room was in good decorative order. The shower looked a bit tired with the grout between the tiles falling out. Never managed to get the TV to work.

As the room overlooked the Grand Via it was very noisy, commencing in the early hours of the morning. This disturbed our sleep. If one wants a quiet and peaceful night, this hotel is not for you.

The staff were helpful and pleasant but English appeared to be a problem.

The price was very good considering it is in Madrid and in a central location.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tdealwis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Level Contributor
96 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2010

I was passing through Madrid and a friend recommended this hotel for my one night. It is central with easy access to the Metro. My room was smallish but perfectly acceptable
Staff friendly . Security is good as on a higher floor. For the price ideal

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank donaldgregoryBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2009

Just stayed at the Alcazar in a single room which was really tiny. Traffic noise and sounds from neighbouring rooms and creaking floorboards made sleep difficult. TV remote did not work, bed lamp did not work, door keys were a big hassle, bathroom shower space required a contortionist to fit in. You can't get into the lift with more than one suitcase. Eerie noise from flush. Room and bed and bathroom very clean but. Owner/manager not scary or rude like some others have commented, but very matter-of-fact. Don't expect a smile.

Great location though. 1 min from Santo Domingo metro, and also a few mins from Plaza Espana, Gran Via and Callao, connecting you to pretty much all subway lines. All threates are close by, hundreds of restaurants on Gran Via and neighbourhood, walking distance from many of the top sights. So if you stay here at this price you know that you have to sacrifice on other things, which is pretty much everything.

But what a grand building. I will add a photo later. Crying shame what they have done to the inside.

Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank goodfood65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Madrid hotels

yorkshire england
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2008

alcazar regis in madrid is in a prime location on main grand via so expect some traffic noise but it is within walking distance to all sights and also very easy to get to and from the airport using metro but a beautiful building has been spoilt in the refurb the large rooms are divided very poorly into 2 rooms so the nice plasterwook is cut in 1/2 and arch doors are 1/2 your room 1/2 neighbours resulting in every single sound been heard as if there in the same room including conversation and even cans opened but mainly creaking floorboard when next door move about and the toilets are so noisy as they have electric shredders inside so no chance of sleep if they are flushed . the doors open with tiny lock like a wardrobe one and once inside you need a small hand to reach the small bathroom type bolt that is your lock it never felt very secure but we had no problems it is clean but another downfall is the staff speak no english at all and this made paying bill q about keys a very long job. i think there are better places for this price in madrid .
photo of lobby correct you can see doors here but dinning room no longer there and i never saw a bedroom like this photo

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — noise
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank happyhols3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2007

After leaving it a little late to book accomodation in Madrid in March 2007, I ended up phoning every hostel I could find in my Lonely Planet or online and was told each time "Sorry, we are full those dates!" I couldn't believe it when the woman on the other end of the line at the Hostal Alcazar Regis said that she had a triple room available! She had a very abrupt manner about her and no matter how many times I typed the hostel name into a search engine online, I couldn't find a singel review or photo. Still, it was the only place in our budget that had rooms, so I figured I better book it!
The hostel is located on Gran Via, an enormous street full of pensiones, hotels and hostels. It is a lovely old building and the hostel itself is located up high in the building and has lots of period features in the main entrance hall. Rooms are located off this hall and our room had an ensuite bathroom (very small but very useful!) so I assume other rooms had them too.
The room was small but clean and had enough room for the 3 beds and a desk, the ensuite bathroom and floor space, so it was fine. We also had a large window looking out over Gran Via, which was nice.
The owner can come across as a little scary, but she was incredibly helpful any time we asked for directions or advice about getting around Madrid.
A taxi from the airport was just 22 euros, which was handy as we got in quite late.
Metro stations are located nearby, as are theatres, restaurants and the large 'Plaza de Espana' square.
I would definitely recommend this hostel as I found it convenient, safe and enjoyable.

  • Liked — Great location at a great price
  • Disliked — owner appears a little frightening at first!
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carolondon444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2004

My daughter and I stayed in the Alcazar for 3 nights in June. At $46 for a double the Alcazar was a great bargain. The lady in charge was very nice and helpful. The location is very convenient. The rooms are very modest but that was all we needed at the time. Our room had a balcony facing La Gran Via (main street), on the 6th floor but it wasn't noisy, it was pretty clean, and nothing fancy but a good value.
The Hostal Buenos Aires is located one floor below and the double went for $59 but the guy at the front desk was not nice, friends that stayed there complained that the service was not good, so we decided to try the Hostal on the next floor, which happened to be the Alcazar & we're happy we made that choice.

  • Stayed June 2004
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Maricuyita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hostal Buenos Aires
Hostal Buenos Aires
#308 of 446 in Madrid
3.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Malasana
Hotel Vincci Via 66
Hotel Vincci Via 66
#123 of 446 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,315 reviews
Malasana
Courtyard Madrid Princesa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Cason del Tormes
Cason del Tormes
#144 of 446 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
Centro
Hotel Exe Suites 33
Hotel Exe Suites 33
#190 of 446 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
Centro
Hotel Mayorazgo
Hotel Mayorazgo
#197 of 446 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Alcazar Regis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Alcazar Regis

Property: Hostal Alcazar Regis
Address: Calle Gran Via 61-5, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro , Sol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #399 of 446 Hotels in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Alcazar Regis 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and HRS so you can book your Hostal Alcazar Regis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Alcazar Regis Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing