We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel”
Review of Gran Melia Fenix

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Gran Melia Fenix
Ranked #35 of 435 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Bogota, Colombia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel”
Reviewed August 7, 2014

This is simply a fantastic hotel. The best location in Town, close to the best restaurants and the nice Serrano shopping street. Rooms are classic but very nice , though a bit small. The personnel of the hotel is great and helpful

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rafael V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandraHernandez, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Melia Fenix, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Madrid!!

The entire team is delighted with your nice review regarding your stay at Gran Meliá Fénix.

Your kind words are the best reward we can have because we work every day to provide the best service to our guests. We really much appreciate your comments about our staff because thanks to them we know that we have achieved our principal aim which is your maximum satisfaction.

It is a great pleasure to know that you find our location the perfect one for visiting all the shopping and restaurants area, due to we are located in a very exclusive neighborhood in Madrid!

Looking forward to welcome you back very soon, I would like to take this occasion to wish you a happy summer!!

Best regards,

Sandra Hernandez
RedGlove Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,391
    521
    150
    37
    19
See reviews for
405
930
91
371
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
chicago
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2014 via mobile

I love this place. It is pricey but you get the service. Having said that, there was some poor service in the bar. Couldnt get a drink. I know they were busy but i was just ignored for about 40 minutes.
There is some construction going on so the restaurant is accomodated in the bar. This is temporary.
The rooms are lovely. Bathrooms small but they have everything.
If it go to madrid, this is the place i stay.
I love the fenix

Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank jemfromwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandraHernandez, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Melia Fenix, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time and efforts in sharing such a nice review regarding your stay with us.

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay and you had a wonderful time at Gran Meliá Fénix. On the other hand, we would like to deeply apologize for the unusual situation happened in our Dry Bar because we always work to achieve the best service to every guest.

Looking forward to welcome you back again and keep surprising you in order to make your stay an extraordinary experience, I remain at your complete disposal.

Best regards,

Sandra Hernandez
RedGlove Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buderim
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2014

We loved this hotel and everything was laid on for us. Lovely plush towels and nice toiletries were good. The rooms were quite small by Australian/American standards but the beds were comfortable. I would recommend this hotel

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dizee2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandraHernandez, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Melia Fenix, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time in sharing your great experience at Gran Meliá Fénix through Tripadvisor!

We are very glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and you liked overall the hotel and the amenities provided within the room.

Looking forward to welcome you back in the near future in order to make your stay a gorgeous experience.

Best regards,

Sandra Hernandez
RedGlove Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2014

This is a very well located property for either a business or personal trip. The rooms are very nice, quiet and very good lighting. The staff is very helpful, all request were accomplished. Great breakfast buffet and a nice sitting area for a coffee, drink and a tapa. Close to excellent shops and area tourist spots.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julio2509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandraHernandez, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Melia Fenix, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time and efforts in sharing your experience at Gran Meliá Fénix through Tripadvisor.

It is a real pleasure for us to know that you have spent an amazing time between us and you could enjoy every service we have such the breakfast buffet or our Dry Bar, the perfect place to relax and have a drink.

Please, do not hesitate to contact me next time you decide to come back to Madrid, we will be delighted to welcome you again and keep surprising you!

Best regards,

Sandra Hernandez
RedGlove Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2014

been there btw 23 to 26Jul, 14. Very good hotel, old but clean, location is perfect and the staff absolutely correctly and friendly. the room is old, some connectors doesn't work, wi fi ok, room serve very good. Breakfast ok but cost 30 euros ( you can find a right breakfast across the the street by 5 euros). the location is the main point, close to everything and in the heart of luxury shopping areas of Serrano and others. I do recommend. the bathroom is very tied.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank h2a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandraHernandez, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Melia Fenix, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your nice review!

We really appreciate you have spent a bit of your time on writing your experience. We are really glad to know that you have enjoyed the hotel and our services. On the other hand, we would like to apologize for the unusual situation happened with the connectors and the inconvenience it may cause you. The entire staff of the Gran Meliá Fénix works to provide unforgettable experiences to our guests, therefore we will be very glad to host you in a near future.

Looking forward welcoming you back soon!

Kindest regards,

Sandra Hernandez
RedGlove Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2014

We had a wonderful visit in Madrid and especially enjoyed our hotel, the Gran Melia Fenix. It is a lovely hotel with a gorgeous bar and restaurant. Our room was a standard room with a "garden" view. I would recommend that you upgrade to a superior room since we actually only had a view of the top of the skylight in the restaurant. Nightly turn-down service was appreciated and we had beautiful amenities in the room. The staff were very helpful and friendly and the concierge gave us excellent tips on exploring the city. We bought the Madrid Card and highly recommend that if you plan to visit all the art museums in the city. No lines and a great deal! The hotel is also close to luxury shops and cool tapas restaurants.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view of the city!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prekteacher1214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandraHernandez, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Melia Fenix, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking your time in sharing your experience at Gran Meliá Fénix through Tripadvisor Community. I am sure your opinion will help other travelers in their trips to Madrid as well as help us to know how your stay was.

We are very happy to know that you spent a wonderful time in the Hotel and you enjoyed all our services and location, nearby all the boutiques and restaurants. We very much appreciate your kind words regarding our staff and concierge, they do their best in taking care of our guests and shows them the best of Madrid!

Looking forward to welcome you back in the near future, I remind at your complete disposal.

Best regards,

Sandra Hernandez
RedGlove Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2014

A quick 3 day trip to Madrid and a booking on the Red Level !!! It's worth the extra money...trust me.

Good location for the main sites, Prado, Park etc etc.

The Red Level Club was the highlight of the hotel. Good breakfast selection and the most important thing is Moet Champagne available nearly all day !!!!!!!! Breakfast lunch and dinner !!!!

The room itself was very clean, excellent decor. It's a European size Bathroom so please watch your expectations....it still an excellent value overall

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandraHernandez, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Melia Fenix, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for sharing this wonderful opinion through Tripadvisor!!

It is fantastic to know that your stay with us was completely unique and memorable, and we helped to turn your short trip to Madrid into a very especial moment.

We are happy to know that our Exclusive Red Level overreached your expectations and you felt very satisfied with this service. As you said it is an experience to being in our Red Level!

Looking forward to welcome you back soon,
Have a nice summer!

Sandra Hernandez
RedGlove Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Gran Melia Palacio de Los Duques
Huertas
The Westin Palace Madrid
Barrio de Salamanca
Hotel Villa Magna
Hotel Villa Magna
#6 of 435 in Madrid
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huertas
Hotel Urban
Hotel Urban
#21 of 435 in Madrid
1,936 reviews
Chamberi
Hotel Orfila
Hotel Orfila
#1 of 435 in Madrid
1,034 reviews
Paseo del Prado
Hotel Ritz, Madrid
Hotel Ritz, Madrid
#42 of 435 in Madrid
1,860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Melia Fenix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Melia Fenix

Property: Gran Melia Fenix
Address: Hermosilla 2 | Plaza De Colon, 28001 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Barrio de Salamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Madrid
#12 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#21 Family Hotel in Madrid
#29 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Melia Fenix 5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uniquely located on the Plaza de Colon, the Hotel Gran Melia Fenix is a reference of the finest in the city's hotel industry, and member of the exclusive group of The Leading Hotels of the World. With its famous DRY Cosmopolitan Bar by Javier de las Muelas, it is the foremost example of luxury and service with all of the Spanish charisma.Its magnificent location in the exclusive Salamanca neighbourhood, in the heart of the financial district and surrounded by the famous streets of Serrano, Velazquez, Goya and on the Paseo of la Castellana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Gran Melia Fenix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Fenix Hotel Madrid
Gran Melia Madrid
Gran Melia Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing