We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy but nothing special”
Review of Gran Melia Fenix

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Gran Melia Fenix
Ranked #34 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Cosy but nothing special”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Cosy hotel in Salmanca area ,one of the most expensive area in Madrid. Rooms are not big comparing with the photos on the site but very clean and well decorated. Not the best area for shopping unless you are seeking famous brands. It's an expensive hotel compairing with similar category in Madrid .

Room Tip: Rooms with No view are very Dark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raouf R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandraHernandez, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Melia Fenix, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all, I would like to thank you for sharing your impressions at the Gran Melia Fenix on TripAdvisor.
We very much appreciate your kind words about our hotel, although we regret to know that we did not reach all your expectations.
We sincerely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in order to provide the best of our service to make your stay more comfortable.

Looking forward to having this occasion soon,

Best regards,
Sandra Hernández
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,053 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,345
    510
    144
    36
    18
See reviews for
373
910
91
363
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Madrid offers visitors a wide variety of 5* hotels to choose from, including many of the 'big names', so it was somewhat tricky to decide where to stay. We decided to go for the Melia Gran Fenix due to its very handy location just off Plaza de Colon, within walking distance of most of the attractions yet being out of the hustle and bustle of the old city. We could walk to the Prado within 15 minutes along a beautiful tree lined boulevard, and Plaza Mayor took around 30 minutes, again a pleasant stroll (as an aside- walking around Madrid is easy and a great way to see the city).

Service was efficient, warm and friendly. The concierge Geronimo helped us book some restaurants and had a few great hints and tips about what to see and do. The decor of the hotel is best described as classically plush, with lots of rich carpentry, wood and thick velvet.
Our room was a 'red level' room, which I guess in many places would be called something like the 'club floor' room. It was excellent. Substantially sized in classic period furnishings, we also had a very pleasant private terrace with hot tub, great to take a dip in after a long day of sightseeing. 'Red level' rooms had a access to a private lounge with complimentary drinks, hors d'oeuvres and the like throughout the day. We made great use of this to take an aperatif prior to dining out each evening.

We did not dine in the hotel apart from breakfast, which was very good, a buffet affair offering everything you could wish for. 'Red level' customers were sat in a separate area of the dining room and could also order a la carte.

Overall, we were very impressed with our stay at the Gran Melia Fenix and would certainly recommend it for those looking for a practical and comfortable base to explore this fine, historic city.

Room Tip: Red Level rooms do offer the all day lounge buffet included in the room price, which is rather handy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Calthrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandraHernandez, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Melia Fenix, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear guest,

Warm greetings from the Gran Melia Fénix!!

First of all, I would like to thank you for such a completely and inspirited review you have done regarding your stay in our Hotel. We hugely appreciate your kind and sincere words.

We were delighted to read that we exceed your expectations both with the product and service that we extend throughout the Hotel, because that means we have turned your visit to Madrid into an unforgettable experience. Your kind comments will serve as an added inspiration to consistently maintain the high standards that you have experienced during your stay with us.

The entire staff is looking forward to welcome you back again in the near future!

Kindest regards,
Sandra Hernández
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
88 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

From the second the sent the Mercedes s class picked us up at the airport I knew this was going to be a great stay , we had a separate checkin upstairs its called the red door level deff worth it ! Private checkin with champagne all day long , the rooms are beautiful and bathrooms huge all black marble , the have breakfast every morning included in room rate and light snacks through out the day with all u can drink soft drinks and alochol , beer wine and Moët , the staff was amazing anything I needed they took care of , will deff be returning here !

Room Tip: Get the red level rooms any will be great deluxe and up ,
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rdiamonds12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandraHernandez, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Melia Fenix, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for the wonderful review you have done regarding your stay at Gran Meliá Fénix!!

It is a great pleasure to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and our exclusive Red Level Service has reached your expectations completely.
We sincerely hope that all of our attentions and services make your visit to Madrid to an even more special occasion.

We hope you have had a great trip back!

Looking forward to welcoming you back again in the near future,

Warm regards,
Sandra Hernandez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, NSW
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Each day got better at this hotel, staff very professional and helpful. I loved the tapas and outside bar! The beautiful lounge area with the gorgeous blue ceiling. The room was so lovely and felt really cosy and special. Close to everything. Nice shops down the street. Tapas bars everywhere. I had a great time and would love to come back one day!! I was in town for work/scientific conference and my company had a lot of sponsored guests staying who were all very happy.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jojoshopaholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandraHernandez, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Melia Fenix, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your great comments regarding your stay at the Gran Meliá Fénix!!

We feel delighted to know that you have spent a wonderful time with us and everything reach your expectations. We very much appreciate your words about our location and specially the words you use to describe our staff. I am sure they will encourage them to keep doing their best in order to provide a special and memorable experience to all of our guests.

Wishing to welcome you back at The Gran Meliá Fénix!

Kindest regards,
Sandra Hernández
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Very lovely hotel. Friendly staff, very accommodating to what we needed. We stayed on the Red Level, which is their lounge level. I don’t know what it cost for the upgrade, but it was definitely worth it. Our room (#713) had a private patio and hot tub/whirlpool outside, but attached to our room. Each morning we ate breakfast in the lounge (included in the price on the red level) and we often had drinks and snacks in the lounge in the afternoon (again, no additional charge). Upon check-in we had a bit of difficulty in that we asked for two rooms—one with a king size bed for my husband and I and one with two beds for our teenage girls. Both rooms had one bed and in the room for the girls the bed was a double rather than a queen or larger. The staff immediately reacted and upgraded our girls to what amounted to one half of the presidential suite! Their room also featured a private patio, but also two whirlpools! Too bad we only stayed a few days.

We found the location of the hotel very desirable—we were able to walk to most all of the shops and when we needed a taxi, they were very easy to find.

One night we ate at the restaurant in the hotel. I can’t recall the name, but it was quite nice as well—fairly empty, which was surprising since the service and food were so good.

The hotel also has a new bar, called the Dry Bar. My husband and I had drinks there a few nights and really liked the bar and the service although I don’t recommend ordering a dirty vodka martini. That seemed to be a particular challenge for the waiters and bartenders for some reason—even though they featured a dry gin martini on the menu. Still the general ambience and atmosphere was worth the visit. They also make great mojitos.

Room Tip: We loved room 713!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charwheeless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandraHernandez, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Melia Fenix, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from the Gran Meliá Fénix!!

First of all, I would like to thank you for sharing on TripAdvisor such a complete and wonderful review regarding your impressions of your stay with us. I am completely sure that all the details you describe in the comment will help other visitors who are coming to Madrid.

We would also want to thank you for your lovely words regarding our staff and our location, and especially regarding our Red Level Service, which reaches absolutely with your expectations and make your stay an unforgettable experience.

In addition, we very much appreciate your kind feedback about your dinner in our Restaurant “Epoque”. It is very nice to know that you enjoyed the night thanks to both our Spanish Gastronomy offer and the Dry Bar´s cocktails.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back again in the near future in order to ensure you another memorable stay between us.

Warm Regards,
Sandra Hernandez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I stayed at the Gran Melia Fenix for two nights in mid-June on business. My company paid for me to be in the 'Red Level', which was fantastic! Separate check-in area and complimentary tapas and open bar for most of the day. The service at this hotel was impeccable. My room was separated into three 'rooms' - a lobby area, the bedroom and the bathroom. Everything was incredibly neat, and the soundproofing in the room was fantastic (I could hear barely no street noise). The bathroom was a little bit small - the room in the toilet area was quite tight! The only slight complaint (and a very, very minor one) is that the floorboards above me creaked a bit when the people in the room above me moved around. I know the hotel is quite old, but a little bit of insulation would surely make this a bit better.

I travelled from the airport on the Metro - which was fantastic. Clean, efficient and frequent. The trip was approximately 30 minutes. On my return to the airport, I took a taxi - and again, this was about 30 minutes.

I didn't do much sightseeing due to being in Madrid for work, but from what I know, the hotel is easily located to the main sightseeing points.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank AMLondon2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandraHernandez, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Melia Fenix, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is wonderful to know that you have enjoyed to the Gran Meliá Fénix during your business trip to Madrid.
It is a great pleasure to know that your stay in the hotel the last June was very comfortable and memorable and I would like to thank you for your great comments about our rooms and the Red Level Lounge.

The entire staff hope to welcome you again in a near future.

Kindest Regards,
Sandra Hernandez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

It's a pleasure to stay here. A nice area of Madrid, close to museums, good shopping and nice restaurants. Very helpful staff, and a lovely bar area outside make the Fenix a great place from where to explore Madrid. Rooms are nicely furnished, some can be a bit small, but this is usual in European cities.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GPDxb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandraHernandez, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Melia Fenix, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all, I would like to thank you for having chosen the Gran Meliá Fénix during your visit to Madrid. It is a great pleasure to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us, and you have been delighted with our staff, location and specially with the Terrace of our DRY bar.

Hoping to have you here in your next stay in Madrid, I will take this occasion to wish you a happy summer!

Kind regards,

Sandra Hernández
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Gran Melia Palacio de Los Duques
Barrio de Salamanca
Hotel Villa Magna
Hotel Villa Magna
#7 of 436 in Madrid
605 reviews
Huertas
The Westin Palace Madrid
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paseo del Prado
Hotel Ritz, Madrid
Hotel Ritz, Madrid
#36 of 436 in Madrid
1,804 reviews
Huertas
Hotel Urban
Hotel Urban
#18 of 436 in Madrid
1,894 reviews
Barrio de Salamanca
Hotel Hospes Puerta de Alcala
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Melia Fenix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Melia Fenix

Property: Gran Melia Fenix
Address: Hermosilla 2 | Plaza De Colon, 28001 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Barrio de Salamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Madrid
#12 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#21 Family Hotel in Madrid
#28 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Melia Fenix 5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uniquely located on the Plaza de Colon, the Hotel Gran Melia Fenix is a reference of the finest in the city's hotel industry, and member of the exclusive group of The Leading Hotels of the World. With its famous DRY Cosmopolitan Bar by Javier de las Muelas, it is the foremost example of luxury and service with all of the Spanish charisma.Its magnificent location in the exclusive Salamanca neighbourhood, in the heart of the financial district and surrounded by the famous streets of Serrano, Velazquez, Goya and on the Paseo of la Castellana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Booking.com, Orbitz, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Gran Melia Fenix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Fenix Hotel Madrid
Gran Melia Madrid
Gran Melia Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing