We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best hotel we've ever stayed at”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Gran Melia Fenix

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Gran Melia Fenix
Ranked #27 of 444 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
delray beach
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best hotel we've ever stayed at”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

Right in the middle of the city and near El Prado, other museums and shopping districts. The concierge service was very helpful and attentive to our requests of all sorts. Ebegonia was our concierge that checked us in and she was wonderful from start to finish. We chose a Red Level room since it was our honeymoon, and when we got there it was a personal check-in on the 7th floor Red Level executive lounge. For a bonus they informed us that they had upgraded us to the penthouse suite since it was a special trip for us and it turned out to be the nicest room in the hotel. Private balcony with hot tub, plenty of privacy from the room and on the last day we were there a late checkout to allow for our late flight to Rome. Little touches like the sensory package added flowers, chocolates etc. to our room each night. Free happy hour, snacks pretty much all day long on the 7th floor. Excellent reference for food at De Maria which was just what we were looking for having American tastes and we wanted to eat something familiar. Yes it was a bit expensive but worth every penny since it was a special trip and my wife enjoyed every small detail that they afforded us. We got the book for their other hotels worldwide and when booking abroad for anything special again we will be seriously considering staying at their hotels. Can't say enough about this hotel that is positive. 1st hotel in Europe that had a soft bed, and they even had a menu for pillows depending on your tastes. Stay here and you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Good place for a honeymoon stay. Highly recommend the private hot tub we were in it constantly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mark r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandraHernandez, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gran Melia Fenix, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Gran Meliá Fénix!!!,

Thank you very much for your feedback and for publishing such as motivating words on TripAdvisor!!. I am completely delighted to know that you have enjoyed our Red Level service. I have passed your constructive and kind comments to all the team, specially with Begoña who takes great pride in the level of service that they provide to our guests. Thanks to your comments we continuously maintain the standards that you have experienced with us.

We will be delighted to welcome you back and provide you our best to make your stay an extraordinary experience.

With best regards,

Sandra Hernandez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,964 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,293
    487
    136
    34
    14
See reviews for
357
877
89
342
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dundalk Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

Stayed Here Last week Thursday to Sunday excellent place if a tad expensive but well worth it had the pleasure of sharing the hotel with One Direction .Great staff very professional ..and very help full would stay here again .

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bernardcdunne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandraHernandez, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Melia Fenix, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for share your experience with us on TripAdvisor.

We are very pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay in the Gran Melia Fenix and we would like to thank you for your trust. We hope to welcome you again soon!!

Warms Regards,

Sandra Hernandez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
46 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

It is rare that the review I write has absolutely nothing to criticize, but such is the case at this hotel. Our stay here was perfect. Sure, the bathroom could be a bit larger, but for Europe, it was fine. The bed was comfortable and the room adequately sized. Staff was friendly and helpful, although, be prepared, as in all places in Spain, English speaking is a problem. Front desk staff is great, but left and right sometimes confuses them. The housekeeping staff did wake us up one morning quite early, even though the do not disturb sign was out. At a different time, they knocked and walked in without waiting.
I did not really find any of these problematic. but probably would have had I not been dressed. The hotel is small (six floors) and located about 15 minutes from the main attractions. It is in an affluent neighborhood, so unless you have unlimited funds, shopping in the immediate area is probably not advisable. Close to the Metro, so getting around is easy. Plenty of shops and breakfast areas within two blocks. Loved the hotel, service was great,. hotel was nice. Highly rated by my wife and I.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mgreen418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandraHernandez, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Melia Fenix, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

On behalf of myself and all the staff of the Gran Melia Fenix, I would like to thank you for having chosen us for your stay in Madrid.

It has been a great pleasure for us to have you here. We are proud to know that you felt very comfortable in our hotel and you enjoyed our services. We always work hard to meet guest expectations and it is a pleasure to know that in this occasion we have reached it.

Thank you once again and we hope you come to visit us again soon.

Kind Regards,

Sandra Hernandez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

I agree with the reviews, was more than happy with this hotel. Rooms were large and well serviced, included breakfast very good. Easy walk to the museums. A definite dood option if you are staying in Madrid.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shane1234_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandraHernandez, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Melia Fenix, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your comments with us!!It is a pleasure to know that you have enjoyed our Hotel and that our breakfast meets your expectations.

We hope to see you soon in Madrid and welcome you again in our hotel.

Warm Regards,

Sandra Hernandez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barranquilla, Colombia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

This was a great hotel in Madrid. The rom was spacious, the staff was ver attentive. We had the red level service and it was great. Tapas and Moët Chandon from 11 am to 1 am was great. The service at the lounge was also very good.
We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone that wants to stay in a great location in Madrid.
The only thing I would suggest is maybe to change the carpeting on the rooms. Ours looked quite dated. But besides from that the hotel was excellent. Also the bar DRY had one of the best real margaritas I have tasted. Overall a great experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Besttravel_28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandraHernandez, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Melia Fenix, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is very nice to read your kind comments about the Gran Melia Fenix! We are really proud that you had such a wonderful experience and our Red Level and Dry Martin Bar met your expectations.

We appreciate your comment regarding the carpeting on the room, and be assure that we are taking appropriate measure to enhance it.

Remain we are at your complete disposal for your future stay.

Kind Regards,

Sandra Hernandez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

A high quality hotel in a great location. The staff are courteous and very helpful; the rooms are very well appointed and clean; the breakfast service is first rate. If we are in Madrid again we would stay again without hesitation.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KW59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandraHernandez, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Melia Fenix, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for having chosen us for your stay in Madrid, as well as for your kind comments about the hotel, breakfast and staff; be assured that I will share them with the entire team.

The entire staff of the Gran Meliá Fénix will be very glad to welcome you back soon.

Best Regards,

Sandra Hernandez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
Level Contributor
75 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stayed four nights at the Gran Melia Fenix and were not disappointed. I must preface this, everyone travels differently, and has different expectations when they travel.

I noticed that other TA travelers to this hotel complained about "small rooms". I did not feel that ours was. We had a king bed, desk and two night stands with ample room to walk about. The bathroom was spacious. We were in room 415, which was a corner end unit. Our windows on one side overlooked another hotel and a little road....I kept those shades drawn! Our other windows faced onto the Plaza de Colon. The plaza which commerates Christopher Coloumbus.
A very busy roundabout, but, I was very impressed that our room had double, double pained windows! We slept peacefully without any noise with both windows closed. The air conditioner was not very effective, but, temperature was not a problem, as the week we were visiting was rather cold.

From front desk to room service to housekeepers and servers in the bar, everyone except one were exceptional! The one was a doorman who let the front door close on me to answer his cell phone.

We enjoyed wine in the lounge/bar area of the hotel, and the servers were exceptional. Check out the restaurant there, we did not have time, but, other TA contributors have great reports.

If you need a taxi, the taxi stand is waiting for you around the corner. There is never any problem waiting for a taxi at the Gran Melia Fenix. We did have a problem with one taxi driver who took the "long route", and we feel we were overcharged. We did not tip him. So, be sure to be clear about where you want to go and let the taxi drver know that you know the map!

Just remember, if you need anything at the Gran Melia, our experience is that they were there for us at an instant. WHen we were checking out, I must say that the front desk was wonderful. I had forgotten to ask for a discount that my travel agent had arranged, but, everything was rectified within minutes!

Thank you, Gran Melia Fenix for a lovely stay!

TA readers, please let me know if my contribution was helpful, and please feel free to email me with specific questions!

Room Tip: 415 is placed back from the Plaza de Colon, it is an end unit, but it is overlooking another hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank passion4travel296
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandraHernandez, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Melia Fenix, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

On behalf of myself and all the staff of the Gran Melia Fenix, I would like to thank you for having chosen us for your stay in Madrid.

We highly appreciate your time and effort to share your experience on TripAdvisor. Your opinion could be of great help to other travellers who are thinking of staying in our hotel.

We are very glad to know that you have enjoyed our service and our product and that our team make your stay an unforgettable and very special experience.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you back.

Kind Regards,

Sandra Hernandez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Gran Melia Palacio de Los Duques
Huertas
The Westin Palace Madrid
Arguelles
Melia Madrid Princesa
Melia Madrid Princesa
#65 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio de Salamanca
Hotel Villa Magna
Hotel Villa Magna
#8 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
Paseo del Prado
Hotel Ritz, Madrid
Hotel Ritz, Madrid
#33 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,752 reviews
Huertas
Hotel Villa Real
Hotel Villa Real
#34 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Melia Fenix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Melia Fenix

Property: Gran Melia Fenix
Address: Hermosilla 2 | Plaza De Colon, 28001 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Barrio de Salamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Madrid
#12 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#21 Family Hotel in Madrid
#22 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Melia Fenix 5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uniquely located on the Plaza de Colon, the Hotel Gran Melia Fenix is a reference of the finest in the city's hotel industry, and member of the exclusive group of The Leading Hotels of the World. With its famous DRY Cosmopolitan Bar by Javier de las Muelas, it is the foremost example of luxury and service with all of the Spanish charisma.Its magnificent location in the exclusive Salamanca neighbourhood, in the heart of the financial district and surrounded by the famous streets of Serrano, Velazquez, Goya and on the Paseo of la Castellana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda, Despegar.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gran Melia Fenix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Fenix Hotel Madrid
Gran Melia Madrid
Gran Melia Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing