We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful luxury stay”
Review of Gran Melia Fenix

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Gran Melia Fenix
Ranked #34 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A wonderful luxury stay”
Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a deluxe room with a hot tub on a private balcony. Excellent to have after walking all over Madrid! We arrived before our room was ready and they put us in a temporary room instead of kicking us out in the lobby. A very nice touch. They we extremely attentive to our every need and you truly get your money's worth. The only minor complaint was that the room with the hot tub was smaller than our temporary room, but I would not have traded that amenity for more room to throw my clothes on the floor.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Brett W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandraHernandez, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Melia Fenix, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for having chosen the Gran Meliá Fénix during your visit to Madrid, as well as for publishing your experience with us through the TripAdvisor website.

I am very glad to read that you enjoyed the service provided and were impressed by our Team because our principal aim is provide our guest with the best of our attention to make their stay an unforgettable experience.

For all the entire staff of the Gran Melia Fenix it will be a pleasure to welcome you back!

Kind Regards,

Sandra Hernandez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,053 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,345
    510
    144
    36
    18
See reviews for
373
910
91
363
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights. We requested a double bed when booking and were given a twin, this was swiftly rectified with a call to reception. The rooms are traditionally decorated, but ours looked into the inner of the hotel and there was hardly any natural light. No tea or coffee facilities in the room, and it was €6.50 plus €5 tray charge for a cup of tea. We traipsed to the nearest Starbucks every time we wanted a cup of tea. The heated towel rail was in the bath, which meant we couldn't use it as the towels got soaked when we showered. The full length mirror was on a wardrobe door which we couldn't open properly because of the design of the room. All quite small niggles, but when put together it just made the room seem awkward and frustrating.
On the upside, the staff couldn't have done more to help, the lobby and bar area are lovely, with an excellent cocktail bar.

I wouldn't stay here again, although I suspect that the "Red Level" is where the real luxury is...we left feeling just a little disappointed.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that looks out of the hotel, the inner is horrible and dingy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicki524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandraHernandez, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Melia Fenix, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for have given us the opportunity to welcome you at the Gran Melia Fénix.

We are sorry for the last feeling that you have had regarding your stay. In addition, we really appreciate your comment because it teaches us how to enrich our services day to day and, furthermore, it helps us with our continuing effort to improve the services quality for our guests.

Looking forward to welcome you again in the Gran Melia Fénix to provide you with the best of our attention for recover your trust in us and make your stay an unforgettable and very special experience.

Sincerely,

Sandra Hernandez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Have read all the reviews and decided to stay in this hotel. Strange, old design, but nothing to say - very clean. But, my room was extremely small - appr. one step arround bed. Also, the window looked into the dirty patio - you will be not able to open it because of air condition machine noise. So it feels like you live in room without window. I probably was unlucky, but there are a lot of similar rooms - so be aware. I personally will find another hotel next time.

Room Tip: Be aware that your room have a window towards street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandraHernandez, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Melia Fenix, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all, I would like to thank you for taking the time to post your review of Gran Meliá Fénix on Tripadvisor.

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Gran Melia Fenix, and we are terribly sorry that your stay with us was not as pleasant as we wished due to the size of the room. However, we will take in account your comments, for provide you with the room that best fit your needs for your future stays in the Hotel.

Looking forward to welcome you back to the Gran Meliá Fénix.

With best regards,

Sandra Hernández
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wylie, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

My wife and I made our first trip to Madrid and decided to try this hotel after reading some of the reviews on TripAdvisor. We were very pleased with the hotel, probably one of the nicest hotels we have ever stayed in. The rooms were quite small, although I don't think that is particularly different than other european hotels. The decor was beautiful, very traditional. Overall I would say the best thing about this hotel is the location. It is convenient to many Madrid destinations. The metro is steps away. You can walk to Puerta del Sol, Parque del Retiro, El Prado, etc. There is also a lot of high end shopping around the corner. We will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nathan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandraHernandez, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Melia Fenix, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Gran Melia Fenix. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback from our guests and I will certainly share this with the rest of the team that will be encouraged by your remarks.

Your kind remarks will serve as an added inspiration to consistently maintain the high standards that you have experienced during your stay with us.

Looking forward to welcome you back to the Gran Meliá Fénix.

Warm Regards,

Sandra Hernández
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern New Jersey
Level Contributor
161 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

A nice place and you wont be unhappy. But aside from excellent housekeeping, lacks great service from much of the staff. Also, one of our rooms clearly wreaked from tobacco smoke and another from an off sewage type odor. Next time, we will try out the Ritz as at least the lobby seemed more impressive and an overall nicer hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank topshelfplease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandraHernandez, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Melia Fenix, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all, I would like to thank you for have given us the opportunity to accommodate you for your stay in Madrid.

We really appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Gran Meliá Fénix, which are such a valuable source of information for us, regardless of whether it is good or bad, and it helps us to monitor the service and the product that we provide. However, please let me inform that we are a non-smoking hotel and it is not allowed to smoke in it.

I will be very glad, if the next time you come to Madrid you may contact me, therefore I will check the details of your reservation and your stay to be assured that you have a memorable experience in our hotel.

Sincerely,

Sandra Hernández
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fair Lawn, New Jersey, USA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed here for the last night of our vacation and our stay here was VERY short. We arrived late and left very early the next morning for our flight back home so we really did not have a chance to fairly evaluate all that the hotel had to offer. I booked the most inexpensive room that I could knowing it was just for one night. The room was TINY and had no outside light. But since we arrived so late it did not matter. If we were here longer, I would never have accepted this room. The rate also came w/ a 40Euro voucher to be used in the restaurant. That was well worth it. The meal we had there was one of the better meals that we had on our whole vacation in Spain! I do agree with the other reviewers that the staff was exceptional.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EJMS10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandraHernandez, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Melia Fenix, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Gran Melia Fenix.

It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback from our guests because our principal aim is provide you with the best of our attention for make your stay a memorable experience.

Our appreciation again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Kind Regards,

Sandra Hernandez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vevey, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This was first trip to Madrid, and the stay at this hotel made it one of the best trips we have taken so far.

Location - excellent, close to the branded stores and very good restaurants. Also, very good access to all forms of public transport because of prime location at Plaza de Colon.

Room - very clean and spacious with good view of the plaza outside.

Food - In-house restaurant, The Epoque, has excellent choices to offer for both at the restaurant and as room-service.

Staff - extremely friendly and very helpful. The best part of the experience.

Room Tip: Try to choose premium rooms / red level for the best experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tapabratabasu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandraHernandez, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Melia Fenix, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

It has been a great pleasure for us to have you here. We are proud to know that we were able to make your stay enjoyable and that our hospitality reached your expectations. Your kind comments will be an inspiration to consistently maintain the high standards that you have experienced during your stay with us.

Looking forward to welcome you back to the Gran Meliá Fénix.

Warm Regards,

Sandra Hernández
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Gran Melia Palacio de Los Duques
Barrio de Salamanca
Hotel Villa Magna
Hotel Villa Magna
#7 of 436 in Madrid
605 reviews
Huertas
The Westin Palace Madrid
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paseo del Prado
Hotel Ritz, Madrid
Hotel Ritz, Madrid
#36 of 436 in Madrid
1,804 reviews
Huertas
Hotel Urban
Hotel Urban
#18 of 436 in Madrid
1,894 reviews
Barrio de Salamanca
Hotel Hospes Puerta de Alcala
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Melia Fenix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Melia Fenix

Property: Gran Melia Fenix
Address: Hermosilla 2 | Plaza De Colon, 28001 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Barrio de Salamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Madrid
#12 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#21 Family Hotel in Madrid
#28 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Melia Fenix 5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uniquely located on the Plaza de Colon, the Hotel Gran Melia Fenix is a reference of the finest in the city's hotel industry, and member of the exclusive group of The Leading Hotels of the World. With its famous DRY Cosmopolitan Bar by Javier de las Muelas, it is the foremost example of luxury and service with all of the Spanish charisma.Its magnificent location in the exclusive Salamanca neighbourhood, in the heart of the financial district and surrounded by the famous streets of Serrano, Velazquez, Goya and on the Paseo of la Castellana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Booking.com, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gran Melia Fenix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Fenix Hotel Madrid
Gran Melia Madrid
Gran Melia Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing