We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nice hotel! Great service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gran Melia Fenix

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Gran Melia Fenix
Ranked #26 of 448 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice hotel! Great service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I chose this hotel for a special occasion and because it is a celebrity hotel. The staff were great. The room was clean and tidy. We got a complimentary upgrade and wifi. Cosy and peaceful hotel a short taxi drive away from the museums. I certainly would recommend to anyone and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank R S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandraHernandez, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Melia Fenix, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Guest,

It is a great pleasure to read your kind post.

I would like to thank you very much for having chosen the Gran Meliá Fénix and for publishing on Tripadvisor, which will help us with our continuing effort to improve the services quality for our guests.

Looking forward to welcoming you again to the Gran Meliá Fénix hotel.

Best regards,

Sandra H.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,760 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,153
    440
    126
    30
    11
See reviews for
310
784
82
305
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I spent three perfect nights in this hotel. Every detail is taken into account. The staff is competent and always ready to help. From the driver who picked us up to the room service everything created an experience to be remebered. Whith our room we had access to the lounge room, quiet and cozy. I had previously stayed a couple of times in another 5 star hotel in Madrid, but there is no comparison. This is the hotel that I will choose for my next holiday in Madrid.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snowfall12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandraHernandez, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Melia Fenix, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments!!!It is a pleasure to hear that you had a nice stay with us and that you enjoyed our hotel.

I just want to let you know that i will share all your comments with the Gran Melia Fenix team.

Our principal aim is to give you our best service, make your stay unforgettable and reach your expectations. Your positive comments will help us with our continuing effort to improve the service quality.

Looking forward to welcome you back to the Gran Meliá Fénix.

Yours sincerely,

Sandra Hernandez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
275 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We arrived early and our Red Level room was not available, so we were given a "temporary room" to allow us to rest after a long plane ride--a gesture most hotels would not offer.

We based our hotel selection of the Gran Melia Fenix on Trip Advisor reviews and a good "Last Minute" rate from AmEx. Decided to spend an extra 70E/night to upgrade to the Red Level. Was it worth it? In a word, no! Unless you intend to drink your way through the champagne/liquor bar you will not come out ahead. The buffet breakfast on Red Level is a joke compared to that served on the Lobby Level (which you can opt for if Red Level, by the way) After the 1st day's Red Level breakfast, we didn't go back. As our original reservation included the better breakfast, the value for the upgrade just wasn't apparent.

Are there other advantages to being a Red Level guest? Yes, there is a feeling of being in a private club in the lounge, but other guest's bad behavior can be amplified in this intimate setting.

I also doubt that the Red Level Premium rooms are different from regular Premium rooms other than their location on the 5th, 6th or 7th floors. However, the floor level may not even be an indicator as we heard guest from the 2nd floor in the Red Level lounge.

The guest rooms are nice, if a little overly "done". I would have loved to have the millwork contract for the hotel as the guest room walls and ceilngs are covered with applied mouldings! However, design aside, everything is clean, well maintained and in working order. I will agree with reviews that the bathroom is one of the smallest I've seen anywhere. The double sinks are a bit of a joke as two people using them simultaneously would be falling all over each other. But the bathrooms are clean, well stocked and maintained.

The staff is generally congenial and anxious to please. We had no problem with housekeeping, as apparently many other guests had. We simply called 509, the Red Glove number to let them know we were leaving and would like to have our room services before we returned at "X" time.

We were also curious to see if the Dry martini bar did, indeed, serve a decent dry martini which is so difficult to find on the continent. We were pleased to find they do, but at a cost of almost 14E per drink! The reviewer who warned of the "generous pour" forgot to mention the accompanying price.

We agree the location is great. Decent walking distance to many venues and bus/metro connections for those who prefer not walking.

Overall, Gran Melia Fenis is a very good property, but I think reviewers have over rated Red Level service to a great degree. Opt for the Supreme room with a view at a B&B rate and save the extra 50E cost to upgrade to Red Level. Use it to buy a meal or a souvenier. In the end, you'll thank me.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms overlooking the courtyard. They are dark and tiny. Also, forget paying the 50E+ for Red...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fififlies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

i ve been to this hotel with an inspection 2 years ago, right after re-opening. i am familiar to tourist indutry, have seen a lot of hotels in the whole world, and would like to say - great job!!!
everything was mentioned! nothimg to add - contemporary hotel with strong traditions!
i was pleased with a fact that practically all concierges (at least ones i ve seen) are clef d'or members! they are so cute!
and sales-girl was so professional showing me the hotel - i had a feeling i am talking to my classmate from GBritain (her English is great)!!
i hope to stay with them one day - now could only reccomend to do this instead of me)

Room Tip: visit the restaurand and ask concierge for recommendation - u would be surprised!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katalina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandraHernandez, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Melia Fenix, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Gran Melia Fenix. It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team, who I am sure will be encouraged by your remarks.

Our apreciation again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sandra Hernandez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette Hill, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We were very happy with our accommodations at this hotel and it was among the best we found in Spain! The price was not terribly expensive considering the prices we found elsewhere. also the staff was extremely helpful and friendly. We spent a few extra dollars to stay in the Red level and this was a tremendous and enjoyable upgrade. The staff was very kind to allow our children to join us when possible even though they were not staying in the same type of room. We did not take advantage of their hospitality by having the children use all of the amenities, but it was nice to be able to have them share a table in the Red level dining areas with us so we were not separated and didn't have to pay any extra for them to just be able to be together. This was extremely nice and they did not have to do this. It made us more comfortable and happy, so I think it was a win/win for all. The proximity to sights was great and the neighborhood was perfect for strolling and window shopping.

Room Tip: I highly recommend the amenities of Red level service if you can get the upgrade. Well worth the ext...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank woundedbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandraHernandez, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Melia Fenix, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

It is a great pleasure to read your kind post.

I would like to thank you very much for having chosen the Gran Meliá Fénix and for publishing such inspiring and motivating words on Tripadvisor, which will help us with our continuing effort to improve the services quality for our guests.

We are proud to know that you had a good stay with us and I am delighted with your comments about the staff, do not hesitate that I will share them with the entire team.

Looking forward to welcoming you again to the Gran Meliá Fénix hotel.

Best regards,

Sandra Hernandez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Very good and prompt service. Small bedroom but had everything needed. Lovevy bathroom with bathtub and nice amenities. Great location, easy to walk around one of the most beautiful neighborhoods in Madrid.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kumustaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandraHernandez, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Melia Fenix, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind post!!! We are really proud to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We always work hard to meet guest expectations and for us is a pleasure that you have been enjoyed your stay at the Gran Melia Fenix.

Thank you very much again and we are looking forward to welcome you back to your home in Madrid.

Regards,

Sandra Hernandez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle, wa USA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Based on my international lodging experiences this is what would be considered an average Hotel Hotel in the US...think Hilton or Sheraton. The rooms are spacious but are dark and dingy with a hint of needing a make-over. I am impressed at how quiet the rooms are considering their proximity to a major traffic circle in Downtown Madrid. The staff is friendly and accommodating and the Lobby Bar is one of the Best Lobby Cocktail bars that I have come across! The breakfast here is terrible, reeks of a cheap buffet staffed with less than accommodating staff that clears plates but never flinch to offer tea, juice or water. Oh, apparently you can also wear the poorest cheap quality European clothing but wearing a lululemon collared top is frowned upon or so I was told.

The prices are super premium considering the rather modest three star rating. This Hotel fails ultimately to deliver on their TripAdvisor ranking. Prior to staying in Madrid I stayed at another TripAdvisor top rated (#1) property Hotel 41 in London. Now this was easily a 4-5 star property and the experience is miles apart.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mattnjennie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandraHernandez, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Melia Fenix, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Gran Melia Fenix. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Gran Melia Fenix, we continuously strive to meet your needs and expectations; therefore your feedback is very important to us.

We appreciate the time you took to share your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future and offer a bigger room as well as provide you the best of our attention.

Sincerely,

Sandra Hernandez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Barrio de Salamanca
Hotel Villa Magna
Hotel Villa Magna
#8 of 448 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 stars 520 reviews
Huertas
The Westin Palace Madrid
Hesperia Madrid
#13 of 448 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 stars 1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huertas
Hotel Villa Real
Hotel Villa Real
#29 of 448 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 stars 1,350 reviews
Ayre Gran Hotel Colon
#134 of 448 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 stars 1,449 reviews
Barrio de Salamanca
Hotel Unico Madrid
Hotel Unico Madrid
#9 of 448 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 stars 631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Melia Fenix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Melia Fenix

Property: Gran Melia Fenix
Address: Hermosilla 2 | Plaza De Colon, 28001 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Barrio de Salamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Madrid
#12 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#20 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#21 Family Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Melia Fenix 5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uniquely located on the Plaza de Colon, the Hotel Gran Melia Fenix is a reference of the finest in the city's hotel industry, and member of the exclusive group of The Leading Hotels of the World. With its famous DRY Cosmopolitan Bar by Javier de las Muelas, it is the foremost example of luxury and service with all of the Spanish charisma.Its magnificent location in the exclusive Salamanca neighbourhood, in the heart of the financial district and surrounded by the famous streets of Serrano, Velazquez, Goya and on the Paseo of la Castellana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Gran Melia Fenix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Fenix Hotel Madrid
Gran Melia Madrid
Gran Melia Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing