We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“new life!”
Review of Gran Melia Fenix

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gran Melia Fenix
Ranked #34 of 435 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“new life!”
Reviewed November 22, 2012

i ve been to this hotel with an inspection 2 years ago, right after re-opening. i am familiar to tourist indutry, have seen a lot of hotels in the whole world, and would like to say - great job!!!
everything was mentioned! nothimg to add - contemporary hotel with strong traditions!
i was pleased with a fact that practically all concierges (at least ones i ve seen) are clef d'or members! they are so cute!
and sales-girl was so professional showing me the hotel - i had a feeling i am talking to my classmate from GBritain (her English is great)!!
i hope to stay with them one day - now could only reccomend to do this instead of me)

Room Tip: visit the restaurand and ask concierge for recommendation - u would be surprised!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katalina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandraHernandez, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Melia Fenix, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Gran Melia Fenix. It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team, who I am sure will be encouraged by your remarks.

Our apreciation again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sandra Hernandez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,094 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,377
    515
    148
    36
    18
See reviews for
394
923
91
369
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette Hill, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We were very happy with our accommodations at this hotel and it was among the best we found in Spain! The price was not terribly expensive considering the prices we found elsewhere. also the staff was extremely helpful and friendly. We spent a few extra dollars to stay in the Red level and this was a tremendous and enjoyable upgrade. The staff was very kind to allow our children to join us when possible even though they were not staying in the same type of room. We did not take advantage of their hospitality by having the children use all of the amenities, but it was nice to be able to have them share a table in the Red level dining areas with us so we were not separated and didn't have to pay any extra for them to just be able to be together. This was extremely nice and they did not have to do this. It made us more comfortable and happy, so I think it was a win/win for all. The proximity to sights was great and the neighborhood was perfect for strolling and window shopping.

Room Tip: I highly recommend the amenities of Red level service if you can get the upgrade. Well worth the ext...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank woundedbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandraHernandez, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Melia Fenix, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

It is a great pleasure to read your kind post.

I would like to thank you very much for having chosen the Gran Meliá Fénix and for publishing such inspiring and motivating words on Tripadvisor, which will help us with our continuing effort to improve the services quality for our guests.

We are proud to know that you had a good stay with us and I am delighted with your comments about the staff, do not hesitate that I will share them with the entire team.

Looking forward to welcoming you again to the Gran Meliá Fénix hotel.

Best regards,

Sandra Hernandez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Very good and prompt service. Small bedroom but had everything needed. Lovevy bathroom with bathtub and nice amenities. Great location, easy to walk around one of the most beautiful neighborhoods in Madrid.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kumustaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandraHernandez, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Melia Fenix, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind post!!! We are really proud to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We always work hard to meet guest expectations and for us is a pleasure that you have been enjoyed your stay at the Gran Melia Fenix.

Thank you very much again and we are looking forward to welcome you back to your home in Madrid.

Regards,

Sandra Hernandez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle, wa USA
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Based on my international lodging experiences this is what would be considered an average Hotel Hotel in the US...think Hilton or Sheraton. The rooms are spacious but are dark and dingy with a hint of needing a make-over. I am impressed at how quiet the rooms are considering their proximity to a major traffic circle in Downtown Madrid. The staff is friendly and accommodating and the Lobby Bar is one of the Best Lobby Cocktail bars that I have come across! The breakfast here is terrible, reeks of a cheap buffet staffed with less than accommodating staff that clears plates but never flinch to offer tea, juice or water. Oh, apparently you can also wear the poorest cheap quality European clothing but wearing a lululemon collared top is frowned upon or so I was told.

The prices are super premium considering the rather modest three star rating. This Hotel fails ultimately to deliver on their TripAdvisor ranking. Prior to staying in Madrid I stayed at another TripAdvisor top rated (#1) property Hotel 41 in London. Now this was easily a 4-5 star property and the experience is miles apart.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mattnjennie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandraHernandez, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Melia Fenix, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Gran Melia Fenix. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Gran Melia Fenix, we continuously strive to meet your needs and expectations; therefore your feedback is very important to us.

We appreciate the time you took to share your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future and offer a bigger room as well as provide you the best of our attention.

Sincerely,

Sandra Hernandez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Typical old school grand European Hotel. The staff were tremendously helpful. One of the check in staff even gave me the heads up to join their hotel group so as to benefit from a 30% discount in the restaurant - great tactic as I was going to eat outside. The rooms are typical of Europe, small but sufficiently well appointed - put it this way you wont get lost in one of them however they are clean, extremely comfortable. There is a nice writing desk if you are here on work and complimentary hi speed internet. The hotel has a stock of international adaptors in case like me you forgot your own. Didn't use the gym but why would you - Madrid is a great City to explore on foot so get out and take a walk. Polite. Good service. Nice comfortable environment. Oh one more thing - the measures are extremely generous in the bar........consider yourselves warned.

Room Tip: As always, hi floor (all rooms non smoking) facing the side of the hotel entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dsharratt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandraHernandez, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Melia Fenix, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

On behalf of myself and all the staff of the Gran Melia Fenix, I would like to thank you for having chosen us for your stay in Madrid.

It has been a great pleasure for us to have you here. We are proud to know that you felt very comfortable in our hotel and you enjoyed our services.

Your positive comments will help us with our continuing effort to improve the service quality for our guests.

Looking forward to welcome you back to the Gran Meliá Fénix, your home in Madrid.

Yours sincerely

Sandra Hernández
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Old part of the city. Close to everything (15 minutes by walk to Prado) just across the road to National Library and Museum. Wonderfull cuisine in the lobby bar and restaurant. Great select of local and international wines (especially local with reasonable prices). BUT...
The only place where you can get warm welcome - the hotel's restaurant and the lobby bar. Nobody at front desk happy to see you. Probably it happened because ther was some event and hotel was really crowded. But what the main reason to work at front desk?
Regular room has a size like a regular match box. When we get bigge room we found there an extra bed which we definitely didn't need but hotel staff refused our demand to get it out so we expected every evening somebody as a room-mate.
Housekeeping was awfull. If you want your room ckeened up you'd better clen it up by yourself. We asked at least twice to make our room clean.
So think twice before you decide to stay there.

Room Tip: Never even try to stay in a standard. Next grade just 20 euro per night more expensive but 50% bigge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dmitry Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandraHernandez, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Melia Fenix, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Guest,

Firstly, I would like to thank you for having chosen The Gran Meliá Fénix to spend a special occasion.

We really appreciate your kind comment and the time that you have taking to share your experience on TripAdvisor.

We are sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations and we have taken note about your comments in order to improve the services quality because our principal aim is to exceed the expectations of our guests.. In addition, it is very important for us to know how your stay was because it teaches us how to enrich our services day to day.

Hoping we will have another opportunity to accommodate you in The Gran Meliá Fénix and return your trust in us to make your stay an unforgettable experience!

Kind regards,

Sandra H.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Good location for shopping and exploring.
We were booked on the club floor and the club lounge was useful at days end.
The decor in the rooms was a little crowded and busy for our liking but the bed was comfortable and shower great.
Missed the buffet breakfast as we had to leave early for the airport and no other option was available to us.
would probably stay somewhere else next time.

Room Tip: Ask for a club room - without the lounge the experience would have been very average
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank merlintrust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandraHernandez, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Melia Fenix, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Gran Melia Fenix, as well as for taking the time to post on tripadvisor. We always work hard to meet guest expectations and for us is a pleasure that you have been enjoyed your stay at the Gran Melia Fenix.

Looking forward to welcoming you again to the Gran Meliá Fénix hotel.

Best regards,

Sandra Hernandez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Gran Melia Palacio de Los Duques
Huertas
The Westin Palace Madrid
Barrio de Salamanca
Hotel Villa Magna
Hotel Villa Magna
#8 of 435 in Madrid
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huertas
Hotel Urban
Hotel Urban
#18 of 435 in Madrid
1,910 reviews
Paseo del Prado
Hotel Ritz, Madrid
Hotel Ritz, Madrid
#38 of 435 in Madrid
1,837 reviews
Chamberi
Hotel Orfila
Hotel Orfila
#1 of 435 in Madrid
1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Melia Fenix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Melia Fenix

Property: Gran Melia Fenix
Address: Hermosilla 2 | Plaza De Colon, 28001 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Barrio de Salamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Madrid
#12 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#21 Family Hotel in Madrid
#28 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Melia Fenix 5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uniquely located on the Plaza de Colon, the Hotel Gran Melia Fenix is a reference of the finest in the city's hotel industry, and member of the exclusive group of The Leading Hotels of the World. With its famous DRY Cosmopolitan Bar by Javier de las Muelas, it is the foremost example of luxury and service with all of the Spanish charisma.Its magnificent location in the exclusive Salamanca neighbourhood, in the heart of the financial district and surrounded by the famous streets of Serrano, Velazquez, Goya and on the Paseo of la Castellana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gran Melia Fenix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Fenix Hotel Madrid
Gran Melia Madrid
Gran Melia Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing