We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good and quiet 4 star hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Miguel Angel by BlueBay
Ranked #290 of 440 Hotels in Madrid
Reviewed April 25, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights in this hotel. The location was excellent with the underground right outside. The entrance of the hotel is impressive with lots of marble. The room we had was on the second floor and was perfectly acceptable. The bed was large and comfortable with a decent size bathroom. The breakfast was good but not great. My wife can agree with the other reviews regarding the coffee. It was the bitter so she used the coffee machine. The choice was varied and adequate, with smoked salmon, fresh fruit, various cheeses and hams. In a top 5 star hotel for example the The Hotel Adlon they serve champagne instead of cava. I enjoyed our stay there but i urge the hotel to change the coffee.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mr_gadget_london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnlineManagerHMA, Online Manager at Hotel Miguel Angel by BlueBay, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Dear guest

First at all thank you for posting your review in Tripadvisor. We are glad to know that our facilities and service is a good as what you expected.
We hope that you consider our Hotel again in your future stay in Madrid.

Your faithfully.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (773)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

184 - 190 of 773 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

Booked as a base for a three night city break. Having been fooled before by the European star rating I was delighted to find the hotel was well deserving of the rating. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel special and all the staff were incredibly friendly. The room was good - limited space as we had triple beds but very comfortable and clean. The only thing I missed was coffee making facilities. The hotel is about a 40 minute walk from centre of Madrid but is right beside a Metro station. The metro is one of the best I have ever used.
The breakfast was fresh and varied and we enjoyed trying something different every day. The coffee was not to my taste but there was a Nespresso machine available.
I would definetly return.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank munchersinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnlineManagerHMA, Online Manager at Hotel Miguel Angel by BlueBay, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2014

Dear guest
Thank you for your positive review in Tripadvisor about Miguel Angel Hotel.
We glad to know that our facilities and service is a good as what you expected.Your opinion is very important to improve our customer care.
Thanks you one more time and will be pleased to welcome again in the Hotel.
Your faithfully.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Nothing special, but room was clean and a good size, the price was reasonable and it is handily located. The breakfast on offer was perfectly good, my only complaint there was that the coffee wasn't very nice, a surprise for a Latin country where I'd expect the coffee to be better than I get in the UK.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
Thank Andy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnlineManagerHMA, Online Manager at Hotel Miguel Angel by BlueBay, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Dear guest
Thanks you for your comment posted in Tripadvisor. Your opinion is very important for us.
We glad to know that our facilities are good what you expected.
We hope that you considerer our Hotel in your future stay in Madrid.
Your faithfully.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Hotel Miguel Angel is conveniently located in Madrid’s Salamanca district. The Gregorio Marañón metro station is close by. For those who like to see the city by foot it is only around a two kilometre walk to the Prado Art Gallery, i.e. 1 ¼ miles or a 30 minute stroll and not much further to the Puerto del Sol (the official centre of the city). The Bernabeu football station (Real Madrid) is nearby. This is a great hotel for both the business person and the tourist. It has all the facilities you would expect to find in a 5star hotel, including a fitness centre, spa etc. It even has a number of restaurants, although why anyone would want to eat at a restaurant when in Madrid is quite beyond me. My room was very comfortable as was the bed. The staff are extremely efficient yet polite and friendly. Everyone speaks English. I found the hotel remarkably good value for a 5star hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnlineManagerHMA, Online Manager at Hotel Miguel Angel by BlueBay, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Dear guest
Thank for your comment in Tripadvisor about Miguel Angel Hotel.
It is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you liked our rooms and facilities.
Thank you one more time for your review and we hope to welcome you next time you visit Madrid.
Your faithfully

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Two decades ago this hotel was one of the finest. Sadly we live in another century and this hotel has failed to move with the times. The reception area is attractive and synonymous with a 5 star hotel, public rooms and restaurant need updating. Staff are pleasant and very professional.
Rooms are quiet but oh so old, verging on decrepit. Very few rooms have been upgraded....which means nothing more than exchanging threadbare carpets for cheap laminate flooring which adds nothing to ancient hotel furniture and bathrooms of an another era. One might think this to mean 'classic', it doesn't, it just means old.
Careful with prices offered on so called bargain websites. There are many all offering 'deals' way above the real price offered at reception.
The hotels saving grace, is in acceptance of the situation offering value prices commensurate for what you get.

Room Tip: ask for an upgraded room. there are very few.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnlineManagerHMA, Online Manager at Hotel Miguel Angel by BlueBay, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Dear guest
First at all thank you for posting your review in Tripadvisor. Regarding your comment, the Hotel is in the process of a gradual renovation.
On the other hand, we have different categories of rooms in our Hotel, that could be adapted to you, and we will be glad to show all of them in your next visit.
Your faithfully

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Stayed here for one night in Oct 2011. Good location and nice hotel. However, some parts of the hotel feel old. A part of the hotel faces the street so ask for a room facing away from the street if you want a quieter room.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sonya Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnlineManagerHMA, Online Manager at Hotel Miguel Angel by BlueBay, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write about Miguel Angel Hotel.
We are pleased to inform you that we offer both rooms with views of the Paseo de la Castellana as well rooms with views of our interior garden.
Our staff we will be only to happy to advice you during yur check in.
Yours faithfully

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel while on a business trip and found it to be a very lovely hotel. It was quite, big room and the staff was friendly and helpful. The location was good and close to fun places to eat and areas to shop for groceries and even a pharmacy if so needed. I would recommend this hotel for couples, business trips, families or singles.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank Margyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnlineManagerHMA, Online Manager at Hotel Miguel Angel by BlueBay, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Dear guest
Thank for your comment about Miguel Angel Hotel in Tripadvisor
It is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you liked our rooms and facilities.
Thank you one more time for your review and we hope to welcome you next time you visit Madrid.
Your faithfully

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Hesperia Madrid
#16 of 440 in Madrid
1,505 reviews
Chamberi
InterContinental Madrid
InterContinental Madrid
#36 of 440 in Madrid
1,928 reviews
NH Madrid Zurbano
#103 of 440 in Madrid
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio de Salamanca
Barcelo Emperatriz
Barcelo Emperatriz
#14 of 440 in Madrid
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Miguel Angel by BlueBay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Miguel Angel by BlueBay

Address: Calle Miguel Angel 29-31, 28010 Madrid, Spain (Formerly Miguel Angel Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Chamberi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Madrid
#167 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: $110 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Miguel Angel by BlueBay 5*
Number of rooms: 267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The restaurant M29 offers Mediterranean-inspired cuisine with minimalist decor and a exclusive service. With distinctive lunch and evening offerings, the M29 restaurant is a growing focal point in Madrid’s gastronomic culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Miguel Angel by BlueBay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Miguel Angel
Miguel Angel Madrid
Occidental Miguel Angel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing