We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Check whether room had been updated when booking!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Miguel Angel by BlueBay
Ranked #290 of 440 Hotels in Madrid
Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for business, room on top floor and thought this might mean i was spared the pre-renovation rooms. Alas no. Very very dated, even a Corby trouser press to add to 70s feel and ancient hair dryer in bathroom. Couldn't fault service of staff but hotel just needs a revamp for the price and expectations.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 715grahamt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnlineManagerHMA, Online Manager at Hotel Miguel Angel by BlueBay, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Dear guest

Thank you for posting your review about your stay in the Hotel Occidental Miguel Ángel.
Regarding the rooms, we are updating them floor by floor.
We expect to have most of them updated in a few months, so we hope you consider our hotel again for a future stay.

Your faithfully.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (773)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

216 - 222 of 773 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2013

There are two distinct parts to this hotel located in the prime location of C/ Castellana (near the Bernabeu Stadium - if you are into football). This was a 5* hotel in the 80's, maybe early 90's but now needs a massive renovation of the bedrooms and common parts. Our room had threadbare carpets, curtain and a shower curtain from another age and was decorated in that typical 80's browns and dark furniture effect BUT.... fresh crisp bedclothes every day and impeccable and friendly service make the hotel feel like a friend. I have no idea on the effectiveness of the aircon which I hope for your sake works in summer.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank faktoader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnlineManagerHMA, Online Manager at Hotel Miguel Angel by BlueBay, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Dear guest

We want to thank you for your comments in Tripadvisor.
Maybe you have read we are updating our rooms. We are changing with new wooden floor, painted and new furniture, and we expect to have most of them updated in a few months.
We are glad to know that our service is as good as what you expected.
Thank you one more time and we will be pleased to welcome you again in the Hotel.
Your faithfully

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

my work frequently requires me to stay here, so my opinion is quite valid.

my complaint is mainly the shower temperatures changes so dramatically from hot to cold and hot again that it is dangerous and barely able to take a shower.

smaller complaints:
- limited english channels on tv
- small or not enough pillows

positives: internet in room, train station outside, location good, clean.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnlineManagerHMA, Online manager at Hotel Miguel Angel by BlueBay, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Dear guest

Thank you for posting your review in Tripadvisor.
We are very sorry about your complaint with the shower temperature. We have no information about any incident with the water temperature but we will find out with Technical Service if something was wrong during your stay.
Regarding your complaint about the english tv channel, the Hotel offers different options like the BBC, FOX, CNN, CNBC or Eurosnews. Anyway you can choose your language with the TDT programme.
Recently the Hotel has a new service for all the guests. You can find the information about pillow menu in the new Hotel Guide Services in your room. You will have to contact to the housekeeper next time you come to visit us.

Your faithfully.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Not a bad hotel but I've stayed in hotels all over the world and never come across a twenty euro pool charge before. Five euros fifty for a diet coke was a bit steep too. That said, the breakfast was nice and the place conveniently located. Not a five star hotel in. My view

Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
Thank Buttonwoodwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnlineManagerHMA, Online Manager at Hotel Miguel Angel by BlueBay, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Dear guest

Thank you for your review in Tripadvisor about Hotel Occidental Miguel Angel.
The pool is a part of hydrotherapy service, like the sauna or thermal service.
Our fitness center is complimentary service for guest of the hotel; but Spa Caroly Health Club is an aditional service, like the restaurant.
We offer an special rate for our guest, 20€ per person for hydrotherapy circuit of one hour.

Thanks you again for your comment.

Your faithfully

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights at the end of an Insight tour. The hotel is a reasonable 4*. It does the job of providing a clean, if a bit small, room and comfortable bed, and the hotel has all the usual facilities. It has a good gym, but it doesn't open until 7:00am, which is late for businees folk and tourists with early commitments - also there's a 20 euro charge to use the pool & spa, which you're not told about until you leave the "health club" area so be aware! The bar/corridor/room decor is a bit dated - dark timbers and maroon cream stripes, but that may just be personal taste. On the orher hand, the patio area is lovely. all the staff I dealt with were friendly and helpful. The breakfast was good - lots of choice and staff on hand to help when needed. The metro stop is literally only a few steps from the door and there's always taxis outside so access to the rest of Madrid is easy. Recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TimoR313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnlineManagerHMA, Online Manager at Hotel Miguel Angel by BlueBay, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Dear guest

First at all thank you for posting your review in Tripadvisor.
Your opinion is very important to improve our customer care.
We are sorry that your travel agency did not inform you properly about the use of the Spa Caroli Health Club. We always provide to all our suppliers all the Hotel information and the use of our facilities.
Thanks you one more time and will be pleased to welcome again in the Hotel.

Your faithfully

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

After reading recent reviews on tripadvisor I was a little worried about what to expect at this hotel. I was relieved when entering our rooms there was wooden flooring and firm matresses. We obviously benefited from the updated rooms, the carpet in the hallway had seen better days but other than that hotel was beautiful. We were allowed in our rooms earlier than the allotted time, the staff were courteous and always available. The breakfast buffet was extensive and fresh. The metro is literally just outside the hotel, but we spent the first two days on the tourist buses to get an idea of the city, the stop is about 3 minutes walk from the hotel. I cannot fault the hotel.

Room Tip: We were on fourth floor as were our friends, both rooms fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnlineManagerHMA, Online Manager at Hotel Miguel Angel by BlueBay, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Dear guest

First at all thank you for posting your review in Tripadvisor. We are glad to know that our facilities and service is a good as what you expected.
We hope that you consider our Hotel again in your future stay in Madrid.

Your faithfully.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

The standard rooms in this hotel is in desperate need of an upgrade and it is over priced for its condition. You have to pay extra to use the swimming pool. The room service staff do not speak English. The hotel is 10 minutes drive north of Madrid City Center and is right on the Metro line. The Metro is the only good thing about this hotel. There are no convenience stores or restaurants near by. Madrid Hard Rock Cafe is a good 20 walk from the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on north or east of the building otherwise you will get a room with view of ugly brick...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AroundWorldIn80Years
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnlineManagerHMA, Online Manager at Hotel Miguel Angel by BlueBay, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Dear guest

Thank you for your review posted in Tripadvisor.
The Hotel is in the procces of gradual renovation. Our rooms are being changed with wooden floor, painted and new forniture. We expect to have most of them updated by summer. So we hope you consider our hotel for a future.

Your faithfully

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Hesperia Madrid
#16 of 440 in Madrid
1,505 reviews
Chamberi
InterContinental Madrid
InterContinental Madrid
#36 of 440 in Madrid
1,928 reviews
NH Madrid Zurbano
#103 of 440 in Madrid
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio de Salamanca
Barcelo Emperatriz
Barcelo Emperatriz
#14 of 440 in Madrid
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Miguel Angel by BlueBay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Miguel Angel by BlueBay

Address: Calle Miguel Angel 29-31, 28010 Madrid, Spain (Formerly Miguel Angel Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Chamberi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Madrid
#167 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: $110 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Miguel Angel by BlueBay 5*
Number of rooms: 267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The restaurant M29 offers Mediterranean-inspired cuisine with minimalist decor and a exclusive service. With distinctive lunch and evening offerings, the M29 restaurant is a growing focal point in Madrid’s gastronomic culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Miguel Angel by BlueBay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Miguel Angel
Miguel Angel Madrid
Occidental Miguel Angel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing