We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a little dissapointment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Miguel Angel by BlueBay
Ranked #290 of 438 Hotels in Madrid
Reviewed November 10, 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Nathalie D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
OnlineManagerHMA, Reservations Manager at Hotel Miguel Angel by BlueBay, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (755)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

226 - 232 of 755 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2012

Stayed there on city break 29/10-02/11.I read a number of reviews referring to the hotel being "tired". The lobby and bar area is fantastic whilst the sauna pool gym area is excellent. The buffet breakfast was very good and if you want a really nice meal the M29 restaurant is great but expensive. The carpet in our room was a little bit threadbare in parts but the room was roomy and bathroom was good. The staff were very friendly and helpful. I would have no hesitation in returning to this hotel again

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnlineManagerHMA, Online Manager at Hotel Miguel Angel by BlueBay, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2012

Dear guest,

We want to thank you for your review about the Occidental Miguel Ángel Hotel.
It is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you liked the room and the service.

Thank you one more time and we will be pleased to welcome you again in the Hotel.
Yours faithfully.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

I stayed here at the end of a 15 day group tour. This hotel has an excellent location close to two museums and was near to the restaurant where our final dinner was held. The buffet breakfast selection was great with an good selection of foods to choose from and even had Spanish wine for those who wished to have a glass or two early in the day! The staff in the breakfast area were very helpful and friendly. Breakfast area was stylish and comfortable.
The hotel does have an old world elegance about it, however the carpet and furniture in our room was threadbare in several places and has needed to be replaced a long time before our stay. The bathroom was acceptable. The courtyard garden which we overlooked was very pleasant and was being enjoyed by a couple of children in the afternoon.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with new decor unless you want to have chipped furiture and threadbare carpet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank heritage255068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnlineManagerHMA, Online Manager at Hotel Miguel Angel by BlueBay, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Dear Guest,

On behalf of myself and all the staff of the Occidental Miguel Ángel Hotel, I would like to thank you for having chosen us for your stay in Madrid.

It is a pleasure to read your kind comments about the hotel and the breakfast service and restaurant staff. They will be glad to know about your opinion.

Regarding the rooms and the carpets, we are updating them but it takes time to get them all ready at the same time.

Thank you again for sharing your experience and we look forward to welcome you in the future.

Yours faithfully,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Gerardo C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
OnlineManagerHMA, Online Manager at Hotel Miguel Angel by BlueBay, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 26, 2012 via mobile

This is a hotel in a great location. Just next to a metro station. The lobby is outstanding but the rooms are a little worn but comfortable. The breakfast was pleasant and the service attentive. The spa however closes at 7pm which was disappointing. Overall a good stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank watty2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnlineManagerHMA, Online Manager at Hotel Miguel Angel by BlueBay, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

Dear Guest,

We want to thank you for posting your review about the Hotel Ocidental Miguel Angel.

We want to inform you about the Spa timetables for you to enjoy it in your next visit to the Hotel: from monday to friday: 7-11 hrs. Saturdays, Sundays and Bank holidays: 11-19 hrs.
The Spa is one of the services the guests most like. You can enjoy the swimming pool, jacuzzi, fitness area, sauna, aromatherapy, massages, etc.

Yours faithfully,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

I am sure that in its time this hotel was considered one the best in Madrid. Sadly its glory has faded. I stayed one night in a room where the armchair had holes in the fabric and the wifi signal was pathetic. The breakfast buffet next morning was good. On the second occasion two days later I was given a better room. Still in need of updating but infinitely superior to the first and a perfect wifi signal! The front desk and restaurant staff were very polite and pleasant. The stair carpet to the restaurant was badly worn and I nearly fell down the steps because the stair rod was loose. I am sure that with some care, attention and updating this could be once again a great hotel but until then it is not a place I would choose to return as there are so many other good hotels in Madrid.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rickwood50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnlineManagerHMA, Online Manager at Hotel Miguel Angel by BlueBay, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time in posting your review about the Hotel.

We are pleased to inform you that our WIFI provider was changed during September so probably that is why you got better connection in your second stay with us.

We are removing carpets in the Main Hall and the Lobby and we are updating all rooms and their furniture.

I hope you like this changes next time you come to Madrid and if you decide to visit us again. We will be pleased to welcome you.

Yours faithfully.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

In contrast to other reviews, I though the location of the Miguel Angel (evidently now part of the Occidental hotel chain) was convenient – on the busy Paseo de la Castellana within easy walking distance of the Sorolla and Lazaro Galdiano museums and the Plaza de Colón (but not so convenient for those who wish to be at the heart of the old city of course).

As others have written, I also can confirm that the carpets are threadbare and the hotel rooms in need of renovations. I booked at a big August discount and was at first given a single room with a small bed and a view of other walls of the building. But the helpful and friendly front desk staff immediately gave me another larger one with a view of the statue of the Marqués del Duero on his horse at the busy intersection below. Unfortunately this larger room also seemed cramped – I could barely open the door to the safe because of lack of space between bed and cabinet – and the furniture scuffed and obviously in need of renovation. The air conditioning didn’t seem to work but was fixed quickly. The room was well insulated so that no street noise was audible, but the air conditioner once repaired was a bit loud. Wifi was free but the connection was annoyingly slow. I didn't have a chance to try the spa, which now even forms part of the hotel's name, but then I never choose an urban hotel for its spa.

The typical standard breakfast buffet, included in my discounted room price, was served in a basement room with no windows, a real pity since the garden, which the hotel justifiably prides itself on, or at least the lobby area with a view of the garden would’ve been a much nicer venue. I could get glimpses of the elegance the hotel must have had in this courtyard garden with its lush vegetation, plush cabanas, and enchanting fountains. The lobby itself with its beautiful marble floors and the exclusive Club floor seem to belong to another hotel.

Overall, I wonder if perhaps the Miguel Angel should consider downgrading its rating to four stars to better meet guest expectations, perhaps keeping the five stars only for the Club floor, which according to the brochures seems luxurious indeed. While I would choose this hotel again at a discounted price, I would especially very much like to try lunch or dinner in the extraordinary hotel garden.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view of the Paseo de la Castellana or of the hotel garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GermanJody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnlineManagerHMA, Online Manager at Hotel Miguel Angel by BlueBay, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Dear guest,

First of all we want to thank you for your review about the Hotel in Tripavisor.

As you mentioned, the Hotel is very well located and we have a metro station just 10m far from the main Hotel entrance. You can go to the old town in only 15 minutes.

We realize that our property is ready for a refresh but be sure that we always take pride in our cleanliness and attention to detail. We are updating rooms, restaurants and main areas. The Club Miguel Ángel, our Executive floor, is one of the best of Madrid.

We will be pleased to welcome you again in the Hotel. You could enjoy the Garden Restaurant next time you visit us or the new M29 Restaurant, opened just a week ago.

Thank you again for your comments. We will take all of them if consideration to offer the best 5* service to our clients.

Yours faithfully,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Barrio de Salamanca
Barcelo Emperatriz
Barcelo Emperatriz
#14 of 438 in Madrid
583 reviews
Hesperia Madrid
#15 of 438 in Madrid
1,481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eurostars Madrid Tower
#122 of 438 in Madrid
2,181 reviews
Chamberi
InterContinental Madrid
InterContinental Madrid
#39 of 438 in Madrid
1,913 reviews
Barrio de Salamanca
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#47 of 438 in Madrid
1,501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Miguel Angel by BlueBay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Miguel Angel by BlueBay

Address: Calle Miguel Angel 29-31, 28010 Madrid, Spain (Formerly Miguel Angel Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Chamberi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Madrid
#167 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: $110 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Miguel Angel by BlueBay 5*
Number of rooms: 267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The restaurant M29 offers Mediterranean-inspired cuisine with minimalist decor and a exclusive service. With distinctive lunch and evening offerings, the M29 restaurant is a growing focal point in Madrid’s gastronomic culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Splitty, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Miguel Angel by BlueBay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Miguel Angel
Miguel Angel Madrid
Occidental Miguel Angel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing