We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Air Conditiner”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Miguel Angel by BlueBay
Ranked #281 of 443 Hotels in Madrid
Reviewed August 5, 2012

the air conditioner is old, in the first room did not work and in the second room to noise.
The service was fantastic

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank jasrMadrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnlineManagerHMA, Online Manager at Hotel Miguel Angel by BlueBay, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2012

Dear guest,

First of all, I would like to apologize for the inconvenience caused when you had to move to another room beacuse of the air conditioning. We are making some maintenance works in the Hotel this season and we will pay special attention to the air conditioning.

We want to thank you for taking time in posting your review in Trip Advisor.

Yours faithfully.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (800)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

246 - 252 of 800 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2012

Beautiful hotel, in central location. Staff very pleasant. Bathroom is slighted dated though. Unfortunately did not have time to try out the spa. Bed was a bit hard but that for me was fine. Towels were sparkling white and very soft. Excellent nights sleep. Rooms well sound proofed.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mikimotto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnlineManagerHMA, Online Manager at Hotel Miguel Angel by BlueBay, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2012

Dear Guest,

We want to thank you for your comments and for choosing the Occidental Miguel Ángel Hotel for your stay in Madrid. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you once again and we hope you can enjoy our Spa facilities in your next visit to Madrid.

Yours faithfully,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Front desk staff are extremely poor, rude and deceptive. Since upon arrival we found our room extremely dirty and poorly maintained (the seat bottom of the desk chair had fallen out - sitting on it was like being on a commode!, bulbs and wattage were mismatched - frugal and dangerous, string bathroom stench and filthy carpet), we asked upon good faith to upgrade to a better room (higher rate charged).

We were told to switch rooms after check-in time the next afternoon when rooms are available. Deceptively, we were charged a extra half day of the hotel's rate. Upon questioning, manager Laura insisted it was due to not checking out at noon, even though we were specifically told by her to switch rooms at afternoon checkin.

The "spa" has a jacuzzi that is kept lukewarm and a sauna that is also not heated. The breakfast, while it looks plentiful, if you don't mind a serious lack of sanitary standards, you'll be ok. Originally, we were planning to stay at this hotel for possibly repeat stays and for entire week. Even upon giving the staff notice to rectify the situations - particularly the discrepant overcharge, they refused and did not mind for customers to take business elsewhere (knowing that we have a long stay planned and future reservations).

We, thankfully, did not secure any further bookings through hotelscom and canceled all future reservations. We promptly checked out of this hotel and into another which had less stars, but was so much better - including location, rate, cleanliness and service. Likely any other hotel is better valued than this one. Even though it's supposed to be a 5 star, the rooms resemble an old 1 star motel. Be forewarned - stay far away!! 

Room Tip: Hotel is close to metro but far from other life. Executive room features help, but ultimately not w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank GoodTrips12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnlineManagerHMA, Online Manager at Hotel Miguel Angel by BlueBay, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2012

Dear Guest,

We would like to express our gratitude for the time invested in leaving your opinion and the trust placed on us for your stay in Madrid.

With reference to the breakfast service, we are very surprised about your comments. This is a service that most of our guests always like and the food always meets all the standards of quality and health requirements.

Regarding the Spa, the water temperature for the swimming pool and Jacuzzi is always regulated as per law and health requirements also and it has a minimum and a maximum. The water is recycled every 4 hours and we do not have knowledge that our systems have registered any anomaly in the temperature. Anyway, our maintenance service will check the system.

Check-in and check-out times are 3.00 pm and 12.00 pm and they are shown in the Reception desk and in every web site. We always try to get the best to our clients and we permit them to check out later without a charge, until 2.00 pm, if the hotel occupancy allows it but a late check out at noon is always with a charge.

We thank you for your comments and we will consider them in order to improve in our customer service.

Yours faithfully,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

This is NOT a 5 star property. The service is less than pleasant and the amenities are severly lacking. THE POOL IS NOT INCLUDED in the price of the room. They wanted $25 per person per day to use the pool!!! Why would anyone book a hotel with a pool and think the pool is not included?? No help from the front desk about this. Although you get free wifi...you DON'T GET FREE INTERNET. You have to pay to use their computers to print anything including your boarding passes. The decor is very dated. We didn't get any wash cloths and only one towel. I went to the front desk to aask for more towels. The girl there rolled her eyes at me because she had to get off her cell phone to come to the front desk. Then we didn't get any towels and i had to go down again for her to ignore me. The breakfast is very nice although not worth the extra $$. There's a great place for breakfast right up the street. The breakfast staff was nice.
Beds are not comfortable at all. A king size is smaller than a king size. Only one bedside table & no alarm clock. The subway is in front of the hotel which is great but the hotel itself is not downtown in the main attraction area.

Room Tip: save your money and find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LawHyness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnlineManagerHMA, Online Manager at Hotel Miguel Angel by BlueBay, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2012

Dear Guest,

We would like to express our most sincere gratitude for the time invested in leaving your opinion and the trust placed on us for your stay in Madrid.

With reference to the use of the swimming pool, we must clarify that the Spa is managed by our supplier Caroli Health Club and it is a service offered by the Hotel. The fact that the Hotel provides this service doesn’t imply that it will be included in the room rate. On our website we explain the services included in the room rate; as well as, the cost of those offered at an additional price, which is the case of the SPA. The Fitness center is included in the room rate for all our guests.

Regarding the WIFI connection, the hotel is aware of several issues that have arisen and is taking steps to change the Internet Service Provider.

We appreciate the comments exposed about the attitude and the service of our staff and we have transferred your complaint to our Front Desk Manager.

Our beds are adhered to the Spanish rules and regulations and meet all standards and requirements of size and volume. The Queen size bed (1.60x2.00m) and King size bed (2.00x2.00m).

Please note that there are no alarm clocks in the rooms since the hotel provides a personalized alarm clock service activated through the television system.

We welcome your comments with a genuine esteem and we will make sure they contribute to our investment and effort in meeting the satisfaction levels of our customers.

Yours faithfully.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

From the moment we walked through the door, the service we received was one of the best I have ever encounted. The breakfast in the Executive area was fantastic, as were the afternoon snacks provided. The location was also perfect for us (visiting as tourists) as the Metro was outside the front door. We had never been to Madrid before but the receptionist gave us full details of how to use the Metro, what to see and where to go.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angellotti86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 12, 2012

Dear guest,

We really appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Occidental Miguel Ángel. It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback.

Also thank you for your comments about the staff; we hope to see you back soon in Madrid.

Sincerely yours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Tired, dated and more shabby than chic, the Occidental Miguel Angel was probably a 5 star hotel in 1993 and is clinging on to its past accolades with dwindling dignity. Clean and comfortable enough, the generous Club Miguel Angel made my long business stay more than bearable.

The garden was the best bit, and a note to the Occidental Group - open up the outdoor bar and with the right marketing that beautiful little oasis could be a real money-spinner. Such a peaceful space in the middle of steamy, crazy, fabulous Madrid.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mca555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 3, 2012

Dear Marianne,

First of all, I would like to thank you for having chosen the Hotel Miguel Angel for your last stay in Madrid. Your comments will help us in our efforts to raise the level of customer satisfaction.

We expect to have all our Standard rooms updated after the summer. We are painting them and changing some furnitures but keeping the classic Hotel stile. Meanwhile, you can enjoy again the Club rooms and facilities; they have a different decoration depending on their categories with private exclusive services and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed the Club during your stay.

Thanking you again for your collaboration, we are looking forward to welcome you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

I stayed three nights here for work. The hotel is located just next to a metro station (Gregorio Marañon) and just a few meters from Paseo de la Castellana. As some other reviewers have pointed out, the rooms are very dated and, at least in my case, extremely dark. But the service is very good and the staff was quite helpful. I have not used the facilities so I cannot comment on them. If you are in Madrid for tourism, just bear in mind that this hotel is not walking-distance from the main tourist attractions. But you'll get there in 5-10 minutes by metro.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juliobsas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 3, 2012

Dear Juliobsas,

First of all I want to thank you for taking time making a comment about the Hotel.

Maybe you have read we are updating the rooms and, regarding the darkness of the room during your stay, I want to recomend you to ask for a room with Castellana or Garden view. They have more light than the quiet rooms that face to the courtyard. I do not know if this was your case.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Hesperia Madrid
#16 of 443 in Madrid
1,560 reviews
Chamberi
InterContinental Madrid
InterContinental Madrid
#39 of 443 in Madrid
1,950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
NH Madrid Zurbano
#99 of 443 in Madrid
761 reviews
Eurostars Madrid Tower
#130 of 443 in Madrid
2,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Miguel Angel by BlueBay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Miguel Angel by BlueBay

Address: Calle Miguel Angel 29-31, 28010 Madrid, Spain (Formerly Miguel Angel Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Chamberi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Madrid
#168 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: $115 - $271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Miguel Angel by BlueBay 5*
Number of rooms: 267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The restaurant M29 offers Mediterranean-inspired cuisine with minimalist decor and a exclusive service. With distinctive lunch and evening offerings, the M29 restaurant is a growing focal point in Madrid’s gastronomic culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Miguel Angel by BlueBay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Miguel Angel
Miguel Angel Madrid
Occidental Miguel Angel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing