We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value, Great Location”
Review of Hostal Dulcinea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hostal Dulcinea
Ranked #275 of 441 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Don't expect frills, but, then, ask yourself, do you really need them? If you want a grand hotel with lots of facilities and are prepared to pay for them, then, fine, but we stayed here last week and found that the hotel room was clean, the bed very comfortable, the shower powerful with plenty of hot water. there was a nice friendly cafe right next door for breakfast and not far round the corner a tapas bar where we ate every night, which I will write a seperate review for. The Prado and the Thyssen-Bornamisza museums were within easy walking distance, even for me, who is slightly disabled with MS. All in all, what more could we want. If were were ever to visit Madrid again, we would stay here and we will definitely recommend it to anyone who asks.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank annepeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (154)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 154 reviews

Reviewed December 23, 2012

This is a great value for the traveler who is more interested in the amazing city of Madrid than staying inside the hotel room. Old wood and wrought iron. The elevator alone is worth the price of admission!

Simple, clean and neat, the staff at La Dulcinea are helpful, friendly and pretty much entirely Spanish speaking. I spent half as much at this Hostal compared to the hotel room I had on Paseo del Prado, a few blocks away, and I would gladly return... in short, if you are are Madrid to get out in the streets and see the city, the sites and the museums, then return to a simple, clean and efficient room to crash -- this is your place. The surrounding streets are full of restaurants, cervezerias and tapas bars.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Eric M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

This place is really straight forward, cheap and no frills. It can be a but noisy first thing in the morning, so if you like sleeping in, ear plugs are essential. It was clean, the owners were friendly and there's free wifi. For me, the noise in the morning was definitely worth it for the price and location. We also had breakfast at the cafe that's right next door and that was good too.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GirlBrissie001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Positives:
Great location, in walking distance of museums, subway and lots of restaurants and bars.
Owner does not speak English but was friendly.
Room were cleaned daily.
Elevator.

Negatives:
Wifi did not work.
Heating did not work.
Very noisy at night.
Short beds.
Very small bathroom, not recommended for people with mobility issues or people over 5'7 (I am and could not sit on the toilet without my knees bumping the wall).

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank N S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

The Hostal Dulcinea is a small hotel located on the third floor (US) of an older building. It is very clean -- linens were changed daily in the week I stayed there. It is very basic, with bathroom and TV. If you have a laptop, you can connect to the INternet in your room; if not, there are a couple of Internet cafes a 10-minute walk away on Calle de Leon. The Prado and Thyssien art museums are a 10-minute walk away. You can walk to the Rastro flea market in 20 minutes. Buses are just a couple of minutes away, but the Banco de Espana subway is probably 15-20 minutes depending on how fast you walk. It's relatively quiet, though the people who lived in the apartment over my room were noisy around midnight. Jose, the hotel manager, is very pleasant but has only limited English.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clp99336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed in the Hostal Dulcinea for more than a week. The location was excellent, walking distance to The Prado and other nearby museums and the metro. Maria, the woman in the office, was very friendly and accommodating. She gave us a lot of information.

Free Wifi, air conditioning, very immaculately clean and comfortable beds. They clean the room every day and next door to the hostal, there's a nice cafe, good for breakfast and lunch. If we ever go back to Madrid, we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elainewinter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We staid at Apartamento Dulcinea I, just a few steps from the hostal. Everything was perfect: cleaning every day, fully equipped with all you may need, plain good furniture, free wi-fi, air con, elegant location in the real heart of Madrid, the Barrio de Letras which is full of typical small restaurants, cafés and food shops, but pretty quiet to be there for families. Not to say about the cordiality and helpfulness of the owners. Well, it's understood as you are travelling, you have to repay trying to speak a little Spanish.
Absolutely to be recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank M R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Huertas
Hostal Armesto
Hostal Armesto
#297 of 441 in Madrid
121 reviews
Huertas
Pension Jaen
Pension Jaen
#304 of 441 in Madrid
89 reviews
Huertas
Urban Sea Atocha 113
Urban Sea Atocha 113
#215 of 441 in Madrid
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chueca
Hostal Zamora
Hostal Zamora
#213 of 441 in Madrid
240 reviews
Huertas
Hostal San Antonio
Hostal San Antonio
#292 of 441 in Madrid
115 reviews
Centro
Hostal la Perla Asturiana
Hostal la Perla Asturiana
#229 of 441 in Madrid
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Dulcinea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Dulcinea

Address: Calle Cervantes 19, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#31 Best Value Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: $52 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Dulcinea 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hostal Dulcinea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Dulcinea Madrid
Hostal Dulcinea Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing