We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“English-style” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe de la Luz

Cafe de la Luz
Ranked #2 of 173 Coffee & Tea in Madrid
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Malasana
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
122 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“English-style”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

A lovely English tea room style bar, with lots of little tables, lamps, chairs, sofas, armchairs... Very cute and cozy, although quite busy. Seats aren't found easily and the close proximity with other customers was a bit too much for me. But wifi is free, the waitresses are kind (and brought me extra popcorn!!). The tinto was mediocre - not excellent, not awful. Normal, really.

Next time I'll try the pastries that looked awesome!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Margherita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    209
    115
    26
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
1 review
“Simple and cool”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

Best breakfast I've ever had in europe. Cosy atmosphere, friendly waitress and delicious foods. Just come and visit and get relaxed. I've just signed in to rate this beautiful cafe

Helpful?
Thank Cemturedi
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Overijse, Belgium
Level Contributor
100 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Cosy little place for breakfast/brunch, coffee or cocktails”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

If you're looking for a place to have a small breakfast or brunch, you're at the right address. The place is small, cosy and nicely decorated and the service is fast, efficient and friendly and the price is very reasonable,

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Erwin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luanda, Angola
Level Contributor
42 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Perfect spot in Madrid for a brunch, light meal or coffee”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014

I have been at Cafe de La Luz with my brother and two Spanish friends who live around the block. They were the ones recommending the place and thank god they did and we didn't chose any other option mentioned on several guides.
The place is just perfect, cozy but also trendy. The atmosphere is very nice and the waitress was super friendly in every single moment.
We went for brunch, but the place is opened till late in the evening for cocktails and other meals.
Though the options for the brunch were not many, we had a very good meal. We had to chose a sandwich, a pastry, a juice and a coffee or tea, all for 9,90euros, which they call the mini brunch. You can add champagne for an additional 2,5eur, if I am not mistaken.
The food was really tasty and we keep talking about the carrot pie that no one thought that could be finished but nothing left…
I would definitely recommend this spot for a light meal, a brunch or a coffee, if you are in Madrid.
My friends say the cocktails were also good but I didn’t have the chance to try.
You should not miss this place!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MikePatricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
“nice place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

We came here to dine and drink a glass of wine! very nice atmosphere, friendly waiters, interesting interior! bottom even more pleasant - it was less crowded and not so noisy! International audience and very pleasant.

Helpful?
Thank hurrikann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe de la Luz also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to Cafe de la Luz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing