We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Puerta de Toledo
Ranked #132 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“location”
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Great location, 15 min walk from Plaza Mayor. Fast check-in. Nice english speaking staff. Not the newest hotel but pleasant. Some upgrading works are in progress so it may look even better in the future. Good buffet breakfast. Metro stop right beside the hotel. I would stay there again

Room Tip: the higher the more quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

930 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    478
    159
    37
    20
See reviews for
187
310
127
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lido Beach, New York
Level 6 Contributor
374 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed February 29, 2012

This hotel, if you are looking to walk/tour different areas of Madrid, is well placed. The nonstop activity and people-filled Plaza Mayor and Puerta del Sol are about 15 minutes away, "Old Madrid" with its narrow streets and diverse resident population is just as close, Parque Buen Retiro with its Palacio de Cristal and Monument a Alfonso XII, the Paseo del Prado (make sure to visit Centro de Arte Reina Sofia since it is FREE!), and the Palacio Real and its gardens are just a bit further. The staff here is very accommodating, sharing personal stories and favorite destinations, breakfast is more than sufficient, and the hallways and lobby are decorated in a very artistic fashion. The only shortcoming we found is that the lobby is not very inviting; there are only two, stiff-backed chairs which does not make it a place one might want to sit, chat, mingle, or people-watch. Be aware that this hotel is directly on a noisy roundabout (Puerta de Toledo) and a fire station. On the other hand, it is quite close to the Metro and bus stops. There are plans in the works to upgrade some of the services and rooms here, although we were quite happy with what we experienced.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the Puerta de Toledo seem to have noise-reducing windows and curtains, but if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clubess1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JERUSALEM
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2012

I stayed there for 10 nights last year and have great memories from the hotel. The service was great, you are 10 minutes walk from plaza mayor , there a a lot of coffee houses around, the rooms are very clean.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MOBEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qormi, null, Malta
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 5 days and found it more than very good. the room was spacious with all the basic needs. The staff were very nice, polite and welcome. The metro is just two minutes away from the hotel so you have easy access to wherever you decide to go and even by walk you are not far away from Madrid centre only about 15 mins from the Royal Palace. I recommend this hotel to these who are not so picky but just want a clean and welcome hotel which after all in most cases is only visited to rest and prepare for another day of travelling!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tijuana, Mexico.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Hotel Puerta de Toledo - Trip advisor

For starters,  I traveled to Madrid unplanned because it was a spur of the moment thing so I reserved this hotel very quickly and while a few bad reviews made me think twice about it, I didn't paid any attention to it and it paid off. 

First of all, this is not a fancy hotel nor a new or recently remoleded one, this hotel is just perfect for a solo traveler or a couple who isn't very picky, for me as a solo traveler, I'm not to fond of staying at hostels but don't have a lot of money for a pricey one but Hotel Puerta de Toledo fits just perfectly. The prices is in the range of a Motel 6 and has every basic thing: a bed, closet, bathroom, hot shower, television and an elevator. 

It is quite conviently located a few meters away from the metro station and a kilometer or two from Plaza Mayor, the heart of the city.  To get there from the Barajas Airport, you must take the metro all the way to Mar de Cristal station, then take the number 4 (brown) line to Argüelles and get off Alonso Martinez station and then take number 5 (green) line to Casa de Campo and get off at Puerta de Toledo station and on to your left you will the hotel. I recommed to purchase a "abono turistico" ticket at the airport, with it you can freely use the metro and bus in the city for three, five or seven days, it is a very money-saver! 

Some of the rooms have a very distinct smell of old so for the faint of heart I recommend to use a room deodorant that can be easily bought in a store or better yer bring one from the US, obviously much cheaper, and just plug it in the electrical outlet just don't forget to  buy your American-European converter because it will cost you double in Spain. Buy one from eBay, they're so cheap it's ridiculous and they work nicely. 

One of the best things is the hotel staff, they're very kind and welcoming, it just feels like a bed and breakfast, and they will help you with any questions you may have. Also, it is just a brisk fifteen minute wal to the cathedral, royal palace and plaza mayor but be wary of pick pockets because there are a lot of people walking in the afternoons and especially tourists who are easily distracted. 

The drawbacks is that it is a bit noisy because of the streets and the other rooms so, if you can, request a room from the back, those are less noisy, and the shower is so small I barely fit into it and I'm not overweight or very tall, just average but remember that this hotel was made a few decades ago so it will have a few drawbacks. 

Overall, I recommend this hotel for all travelers who just want a nice, private and centric room at good price. I will defintely will reserve again in this hotel next time I visit Madrid. 

FYI, "Madrileños" are a bit rude by nature so they will serve you in such a way that it would be considered unpleasant by most standards but don't take it personal, that is the way they are. 

Room Tip: Don't get your hopes on the internet because it is very slow. Leave your key at the front desk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank macrophage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviewed November 28, 2011

I stayed here 16 OCT - 05 NOV 2011 and had a double room on the outside of the hotel facing the roundabout directly above the taxi stand.

There was a mix-up with my reservation as the travel agent booked a double room and I was traveling alone. When I asked to change to a single room at the reception, they would not let me change and said it was because of the commission they had to pay to the travel agent. I thought they should have tried a bit harder to find a way to accommodate my request, including letting me pay the higher commission out of pocket.

The room was clean, the bathroom large but the air conditioning was not functioning at this time of year. So I had to open the window and the noise of a big city at night was enough to keep me awake and wake me during the night. Emergency vehicles responding to calls from their station just down the street with their sirens blaring were just the beginning of many sounds that came wafting into the room through the window.

My colleagues were in single rooms in the interior and had almost no ventilation even with the window wide open. They also had a very small, corner shower in the single rooms that made it difficult to turn around in the shower.

Breakfast was good and I felt at a reasonable price. The menu never changed though.

The internet connection, while free was rubbish. There were times when it was so slow as to be completely useless. One of my colleagues have relocated to another hotel due to the continuing problems they have with the internet connection.

The garage is very small. I would recommend their shuttle service to the airport. It cost 30 Euro for two of us which we split. Much cheaper than a taxi. Make sure you request it a day or two before you need it.

There is no mini-refrigerator in the room, so forget going to the grocery store and saving some money on food. There is a small safe in the room, but it costs 1 Euro each time you use it.

The location just across from the metro station and several bus stops. Lots of restaurants within walking distance.

If I go back to Madrid for business, I will probably try another hotel as this one was just adequate and for the money I was paying, I can get adequate much cheaper.

Room Tip: Single rooms have only the small corner shower. Request a double room if having a tub is important...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FoylesWar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2011

My friends and I stayed from 16-22 August 2011. The triple room is just enough to fit the 3 pax. The room and toilet are clean and well kept with free internet connection. Breakfast was pretty decent. Location is easy to find and near the Mrt. A bus ride home from the center. There are also some nearby restaurants with good food. Walking distance to Royal Palace. Reception Staffs are helpful and will assist you whenever you need a ride from & going to the airport.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DNG6711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
La Latina
Ganivet Hotel
Ganivet Hotel
#116 of 436 in Madrid
1,614 reviews
La Latina
HRC Hotel
HRC Hotel
#201 of 436 in Madrid
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Acta Madfor
#114 of 436 in Madrid
1,135 reviews
Principe Pio Hotel
#130 of 436 in Madrid
1,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Puerta de Toledo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Puerta de Toledo

Property: Hotel Puerta de Toledo
Address: Glorieta Puerta de Toledo 4, 28005 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
#126 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Puerta de Toledo 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located next to the historic centre on Puerta de Toledo, this smart hotel has a great breakfast buffet and a lounge bar perfect for relaxing in after visiting the sights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Puerta de Toledo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puerta De Toledo Madrid
Puerta De Toledo Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing