We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A few significant issues, but essentially OK” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Puerta de Toledo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Puerta de Toledo
Ranked #131 of 444 Hotels in Madrid
New York City
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A few significant issues, but essentially OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2011

The pros:
This hotel's location is fine. You've got a Metro stop across the street, and it's about a 25 minute walk to the Prado, and about a 15 minute walk to Plaza Mayor.
The room was certainly not cramped, and had an average sized bathroom.
The buffet breakfast was quite nice, and well worth the 8 euros.

The cons:
The free wireless internet was literally unusable. There was always a strong signal the four places I tried it (my room, a friend's room, the lobby, and the lounge area), however, with the sole exception of between the hours of 6 am to about 9:30 am, their network was so overloaded that I could enter a web address into my browser, and expect to see something in 10 minutes - if at all. So, if you're counting on bringing a laptop to use with Internet connectivity, I would recommend avoiding this hotel.
My other complaint was a one-time thing. Whereas, whenever I showered, there was plenty of pressure and hot water, the morning I left at about 6:30 am, there was no hot water at all. I let it run for about 7 minutes hoping to get some, but to no avail. Then, I sucked it up, and took a quick, cold shower.

I paid about US$85/per night, and felt it was more or less worth it. I slept well enough.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank SideOBeef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

835 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    432
    147
    36
    17
See reviews for
163
265
119
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sardinia, Italy
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2011

I was staying at the hotel one year ago, but Im quite sure, nothing has changed much since then.
The hotel itself is very average. Very basic with polite staff.
I was staying in a twin room. The room was pretty small, but the bathroom was big enough and nice. My sleep in this hotel could be better, because walls are thin. Could hear my neighbors, that were staying late, really well... Should mention as well, that other colleagues, that were staying in another room "on a corner of the building" complained about the noise they heard from a street (like beepers of a semaphore all night long...). As for cleanness - generally everything was clean, but some upper shelves, or around a TV dust was "forgotten" in a quite a layer (anyway, my colleague with whom I shared a room didnt even notice). Breakfast was continental, but again, nothing special. I would recommend this hotel, for non pretentious people.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Etyram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2011

very nice hotel,only about 10 min walk from the royal palace,which is well worth a walk round
the staff on the desk were very helpful,and even helped to speak to our airlines lost baggage centre when our bags got lost

rooms were basic,but nice and clean,could of done with an extra pillow and blanket/sheet

the one thing i do recomend you dont do,is go to the resturant adjoining the hotel,we went there on the 1st night,it was ok,until we saw several COCKROACHES crawling out of the windows frames

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnz10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gloucester
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2010

We stayed 3 days and found the hotel modern and clean and the room a good size with a bath - shower over the bath and plenty of hot water. The breakfast for a 3 star hotel was excellent - much better than other 3 star hotels I have stayed in for city breaks. The only drawback for us wast he location right on a very busy intersection. The room faced onto the road and the traffic noise went on for most of the night. They do have rooms which face onto a courtyard but the reception staff could not seem to understand about the noise as they are used to it. As we were only staying 3 nights decided not make a fuss and stayed put although our sleep was disturbed. The hotel is within walking distance of all the sights as long as you are fit as it is a good walk - 20 mins or so. However the metro is nearby if you need it. Madrid has lots to offer - check out the free times of opening for the art galleries in the evening.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank margarette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2010

Single room is clean and enough for 1 person, unless have huge body size. Hotel provide internet wifi, AC, TV, good breakfast. Distance to the city center is great, very close to the metro and easy to get taxi or food. There is scale for luggage, which also useful. Reception staff are speak good english and professional. They all very helpful (especially the one name Gonzales). The hotel price is reasonable.
One problem is the wall were not thick enough. Sounds from outside can be heard.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sodagembira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2010

We stayed in this really conveniently located hotel. A short 15 walk down either Calle de Toledo or Calle San Franciso lands you in front of 2 major landmarks. The El Rastro flea market is a 2 min walk from the hotel.

Most of the staff spoke good English with the night staff getting by with my broken Spanish.

However they went out of their way to make our stay comfortable. On our final night there, my wife - who is a light sleeper, was kept awake by a group in the neighbouring rooms. After unsuccessfully asking them to keep the noise down, the management got us another room. Needless to say this was only possible since there was a spare room, but we appreciated the effort without having to ask for it.

We'll definitely go back.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OrangeDr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Level Contributor
203 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2010

Located a few minutes away from the city centre, the hotel is just across the road from Puerta de Toledo metro, on the same line of Gran via which is the centre of Madrid and it only takes about 10 minutes to reach it.

The area is not so noisy and not so busy, however at night some noise from sirens can be heard from the room.

Staff was nice and spoke a little English. In Spain the language is a huge problem and few can speak English or Italian, and for those who think that Italian is similar to Spanish, they're mistaken.

Rooms were clean and everything worked well. The room was large enough to accomodate us well.

Breakfast was good with a selection of bread, ham, cheese, yogart, cereals, pastry ecc.

I may return to this hotel since for just €32.50 a night per person, it is very good value for money.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank noble-taste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
La Latina
Ganivet Hotel
Ganivet Hotel
#111 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,467 reviews
La Latina
HRC Hotel
HRC Hotel
#156 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Acta Madfor
#102 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Puerta de Toledo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Puerta de Toledo

Property: Hotel Puerta de Toledo
Address: Glorieta Puerta de Toledo 4, 28005 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
#126 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Puerta de Toledo 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located next to the historic centre on Puerta de Toledo, this smart hotel has a great breakfast buffet and a lounge bar perfect for relaxing in after visiting the sights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Puerta de Toledo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puerta De Toledo Madrid
Puerta De Toledo Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing