We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with a very noisy nightclub near by”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
TRYP Madrid Chamberi Hotel
Ranked #252 of 440 Hotels in Madrid
Reviewed June 28, 2013

The hotel is very nice with clean and modern rooms. The wifi is ok. Breakfast is very good with fresh juice, good coffee, fresh fruit and hot dishes.

There are several metro stations within walking distance and good restaurants and night life near by.

But be aware, that a very large night club is located in the building. I was staying in the hotel for a week and several nights there were large gatherings of young happy people located in the street next to the hotel. They are smoking, laughing and mingling. We are talking about maybe 50 people shouting at 5AM in the morning. Sometimes police came by. I would not have been able to sleep without ear-plugs. If you get a room facing the street it may be a problem if you want to sleep.

Room Tip: If you want to sleep, get a room that is not facing the street where the nightclub is located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tausick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (543)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

34 - 40 of 543 reviews

Reviewed March 22, 2013

We stayed here for one night with four people. We asked for a room on an upper floor to avoid street noise and were given two rooms on the 5th floor. Rooms were clean and relatively spacious, with two single beds pushed together in each. Staff was pleasant and those who checked us in and out spoke English. There is a metro stop within a two blocks, and if you walk a few more, you can catch another that runs to the main plazas, as well as both Renfe stations. For 82 euros per room, we felt this was a good value.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor to avoid city traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelers6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We came to Madrid for a seminar I gave not far from the hotel. While I gave my seminar, my wife went out to visit museums.

We arrived late, yet that posed no problem. There is a small entrance welcome desk, yet not a true large hotel welcome.

Efficient enough, luckily we had someone speak Spanish as even in English it wasn't easy to communicate.

The room we were in, 202 was very well decorated, large, and a lot better than I've seen in Spain in a big city. Cleanliness was very good, nothing at all to report.

Sound insulation from the hallways was very good too, yet the street side was not. Surprising though as it has double paned glass windows. The window was very large, perhaps adding to the noise.

Street noise on a busy street takes a while to get used to. The bigger problem is on the ground floor on the adjacent wing, there is a sort of night club. That in itself is not a problem, yet both nights we were there we were woken by drunken patrons screaming away outside of the nightclub, at all hours up until almost dawn. Not cool.

There is a lovely breakfast and tapas bar on the street level, with huge windows. The breakfast offered was really good, staff friendly, delightful bright room with Edward Hopper ( paintings) style windows.
For the price it was beyond average, the room was truly at a higher level, yet the noise takes it back down.

Perhaps on weekdays for business it may be better as the party happy clubbers will stay at home.

Room Tip: Higher floors and on the small street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We have had a great experience at the hotel, especially for the deal we got! The room was very spaceous, the bed was very comfy and so were the duvert covers, usually you just get a sheet with an old blanket in the three star hotels!

We had a standard room, but was very big, the friendly lady from the check-in gave us a room on the top floor which was great as we read about the discoteca on the corner. We have not heard anythng.

We have always walked to the city center, but you can also take the underground (metro) which is only a 5 minute walk.

The bathroom was OK, the only problem we had was that the pressure was not great from the shower.

Just make sure you get the MAS card (the loyalty card from the MELIA group, which is for free!) of the hotel, this will give you a 50 % discount on the breakfast and a free late check-out! The breakfast is in the bar nextdoor, we reallly liked it! Especially for 6 Eur per person!!

Room Tip: We had room 808, which was a very spacious twin corner room! The room had a nice view too..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jaapkees123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Me and my wife stayed in Tryp Madrid Chamberi hotel and we really like it. The hotel is really close to metro (200-300 meters) and 4 stops to Puerto Sol, I would highly recommend this hotel when comparing with the price that we paid and the service we get.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Toz82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

I stayed at the hotel for three night for a business/leisure trip. Hotel is modern, simple and unremarkable in a nice and non touristic area of Madrid not far from the main tourist attractions and convenient for the business area on paseo de la Castellana. As everywhere in the city there are a good number of restaurants and cafes in the area and metro station is 5 minutes away.
My room was spacious, clean and looked like it had just been refurbished; room amenities are really basic but acceptable for a hotel of this category / price and bathroom was absolutely fine.
During my visit there were roadworks just outside the hotel and noise in the morning was extremely annoying but I was out early anyway.
Breakfast is served in a cafe that opens to the street and is simple with a limited choice (no buffet) but staff was friendly and accommodating when I requested items that were not on the hotel guests menu.
Staff at reception could be more welcoming and try at least to smile and talk to guests, but they were very efficient.
If you don't mind taking the metro and won't spend too much time at the hotel it is a good choice at a good value

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

situated on a busy avenue,we had a top floor back room , quite small ,quite sunny , less traffic noise ,but all the air con machines working on the roof making their sinfonie.anyway ,good shower,a bed ,a fridge ,enough for rest and get along

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bestwave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
NH Madrid Chamberi
#169 of 440 in Madrid
411 reviews
Chamberi
Leonardo Boutique Hotel Madrid
Chamberi
Hotel Trafalgar
Hotel Trafalgar
#278 of 440 in Madrid
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jardin Metropolitano
#65 of 440 in Madrid
584 reviews
NH Madrid Zurbano
#103 of 440 in Madrid
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TRYP Madrid Chamberi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TRYP Madrid Chamberi Hotel

Address: Calle Jose Abascal 8, 28003 Madrid, Spain (Formerly Tryp Alondras)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #252 of 440 Hotels in Madrid
Price Range: $69 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — TRYP Madrid Chamberi Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your TRYP Madrid Chamberi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryp Alondras Hotel Madrid
Tryp Hotel Madrid
Sol Melia Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing