We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central & Spacious”
Review of Espahotel Gran Via

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Espahotel Gran Via
Ranked #204 of 440 Hotels in Madrid
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We stayed here in a spacious studio apartment with skylight windows. The view is of the sky and stars at night, and if you stand on the ladder provided , of the skyline of the Gran Via. We loved the central location, really easy to reach from the airport by using the Metro to Plaza de Espana. The royal palace is just around the corner. The apartment is spacious and well-equipped ...more than what we needed for a 5 day stay. Great inexpensive restaurants right next door for breakfast and dinner. The staff was very professional and extremely helpful. Would certainly recommend !

Room Tip: Higher floors are better re the views ...noise of sirens you will have on all floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ExpostaySA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (452)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 452 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2013

We came back last night having stayed for 3 nights in Espa Gran Via 65. We were on a room only basic. This is a lovely hotel with a very friendly and helpful staff. Our room was on the 2nd floor looking out on the Gran Via and we were told that they would change us to a higher floor the following day if we found the room too noisy. We didn't find the room noisy so stayed put.

The room was perfect. It was spacious with a little kitchenette off the bedroom with everything you would need except a kettle but there was a saucepan if you needed to boil water. It also had a fully stocked fridge and very reasonably priced too. The safe was free of charge, most unusual. We didn't use the kitchen as there were many cafes, bars and restaurants around.

We didn't have breakfast in the hotel which was priced at €8 each but you could have a coffee and buns for much less. We did have drinks in the bar and it was very comfortable. The bar does menu of the day for less than €10 euro.

The room was made up every day with clean towels etc. The bathroom was huge with a powerful shower. There was a radiator in the bathroom which you could turn off if it got too hot.. There were nice toiletries in the bathroom. There was AC in the bedroom which was not noisy and you could control the temperature.

There are some steps to reception which is on the second floor. But this wasn't a problem for us as there is a handrail.

Overall, we loved this hotel and would not stay anywhere else whenever we got back to Madrid. We were very pleasantly surprised as it was very reasonably priced. We couldn't fault anything about this hotel. Would highly recommend, even if you aren't on a budget!!

Easily reached from Airport. You get the Pink line No 8 from Airport, Change at Neuvos Ministral, then take Dark Blue line, I think its No 10 and get off at Plaza Espayne and the hotel is a few minutes away by foot. Tram ticket from Airport to Hotel is €5 each, each way. Very reasonable. We loved every minute in Madrid and this hotel was the icing on the cake!! A Farrell, Dublin PS there wasn't a swimming pool

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank annieoDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2012

I stayed there for 5 nights in May 2012, on my own, on a works trip, its mainly all spanish tourists no other british and no decent food, the breakfast bar is so small you get more then 8 people in it and you cant move, there was such a que for breakfast on the monday that i did not have any the rest of the week and the staff where rude.
My room was ok, TV did not work and the decor is something from your granny's living room.
when the people in the next room turn on the water for a shower/wash the pipes make a right noise and when you turn off the water it sounds terrible which is not good if you need to sleep.
Personnally I would not stay there again, but if you are british and going to madrid ( not impressed with Madrid, Barcelona is much better and has a beach as well, and is set up for british tourists, unlike madrid, I did not find another british person in madrid) if your just going for a lads/girls holiday the hotel would be ok just for sleeping, but its not a place I would want to relax in.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jon m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

We stayed overnight and we thought it was a bargain, because the location is excellent, the room was clean and that been renovated recently, the staff were attentive and friendly, and indeed it was great value for money. We recommended it to all our friends.
The only problem is that the hotel doesn't have a car park, an the cost of a parking your car at a near-by car park for 16 hours is very close to the price of the room for the night.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ignacio B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2011

The name of the hotel is now Espahotel Gran Via. The location is excellent. Cleaning services have been excellent. They have washed up all dishes every day and the Internet has worked. We did make our own breakfast daily after the first morning. The restaurant was empty and the breakfast not very delischous. The buffet breakfast costed eight Eur. Also the internet costs eight Eur pro day. There are lots of steps when coming into the hotel, which is not very nice. But the location was so good that you hardly can imagine better. There are many really good restaurants near by, the sight seeing buses drive along Grn Via and to shopping areas only a short walking.

Room Tip: The windows keep well the noise outside even by the street Gran Via. We were in the 5th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ritva189934
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2011

We recently spent 4 nights at this hotel. Everything is OK: cleanliness, bedding, reception, location, price. This hotel is on the main boulevard, close to a lot of sites to visit, 2 minutes from metro station. If we are back to Madrid, we would be staying again at this place.
Some small negatives points: AC is noisy, Wi-Fi is not free (3 Euro an hour!), and there is only one long pillow across the bed.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank panasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2011

The location is great,could not be more central.The room is big and clean,stuff very helpful(even more then in the other hotels). If you need any help,or just need tickets for flamenco show,you can ask at the reception,and you'll get all you need.
I really loved the place,and I'll be back !

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PAULATelAviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Malasana
Tryp Madrid Plaza Espana Hotel
Centro
Espahotel Plaza de Espana
Espahotel Plaza de Espana
#248 of 440 in Madrid
435 reviews
Centro
Room Mate Mario
Room Mate Mario
#45 of 440 in Madrid
1,939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
ILUNION Pio XII
#151 of 440 in Madrid
744 reviews
Ayre Gran Hotel Colon
#144 of 440 in Madrid
1,883 reviews
Hotel Nuevo Madrid
#172 of 440 in Madrid
985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Espahotel Gran Via? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Espahotel Gran Via

Address: Calle Gran Via 65, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #204 of 440 Hotels in Madrid
Price Range: $58 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Espahotel Gran Via 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you would like to stay in the heart of Madrid, close to all the points of interest in the city and you are looking for space, comfort, independence and all the facilities of an apartment without giving up on hotel services, choose Gran Via Apartments. Space, comfort and well-being for a unique stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Espahotel Gran Via reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Gran Via 65 Hotel Madrid
Aparthotel Gran Via 65 Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing