We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Not for the british” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Espahotel Gran Via

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Espahotel Gran Via
Ranked #191 of 446 Hotels in Madrid
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not for the british”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2012

I stayed there for 5 nights in May 2012, on my own, on a works trip, its mainly all spanish tourists no other british and no decent food, the breakfast bar is so small you get more then 8 people in it and you cant move, there was such a que for breakfast on the monday that i did not have any the rest of the week and the staff where rude.
My room was ok, TV did not work and the decor is something from your granny's living room.
when the people in the next room turn on the water for a shower/wash the pipes make a right noise and when you turn off the water it sounds terrible which is not good if you need to sleep.
Personnally I would not stay there again, but if you are british and going to madrid ( not impressed with Madrid, Barcelona is much better and has a beach as well, and is set up for british tourists, unlike madrid, I did not find another british person in madrid) if your just going for a lads/girls holiday the hotel would be ok just for sleeping, but its not a place I would want to relax in.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jon m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    183
    63
    15
    7
See reviews for
115
134
14
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zaragoza, Spain
Level Contributor
61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

We stayed overnight and we thought it was a bargain, because the location is excellent, the room was clean and that been renovated recently, the staff were attentive and friendly, and indeed it was great value for money. We recommended it to all our friends.
The only problem is that the hotel doesn't have a car park, an the cost of a parking your car at a near-by car park for 16 hours is very close to the price of the room for the night.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ignacio B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2011

The name of the hotel is now Espahotel Gran Via. The location is excellent. Cleaning services have been excellent. They have washed up all dishes every day and the Internet has worked. We did make our own breakfast daily after the first morning. The restaurant was empty and the breakfast not very delischous. The buffet breakfast costed eight Eur. Also the internet costs eight Eur pro day. There are lots of steps when coming into the hotel, which is not very nice. But the location was so good that you hardly can imagine better. There are many really good restaurants near by, the sight seeing buses drive along Grn Via and to shopping areas only a short walking.

Room Tip: The windows keep well the noise outside even by the street Gran Via. We were in the 5th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ritva189934
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
94 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2011

We recently spent 4 nights at this hotel. Everything is OK: cleanliness, bedding, reception, location, price. This hotel is on the main boulevard, close to a lot of sites to visit, 2 minutes from metro station. If we are back to Madrid, we would be staying again at this place.
Some small negatives points: AC is noisy, Wi-Fi is not free (3 Euro an hour!), and there is only one long pillow across the bed.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank panasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TEL AVIV
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2011

The location is great,could not be more central.The room is big and clean,stuff very helpful(even more then in the other hotels). If you need any help,or just need tickets for flamenco show,you can ask at the reception,and you'll get all you need.
I really loved the place,and I'll be back !

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PAULATelAviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stonehaven
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2011

If your travelling to Madrid on a budget I can't recommend this hotel highly enough. Firstly, its right in the centre of Madrid on the main street, Gran Via, so its within easy walking distance of all the tourist sights, theatres and Plaza's. Its also just a very short walk from Plaza Espana metro station which connects very easily to all the Terminals at the airport. The hotel is very clean and kept to a very high standard. The reception staff are friendly and helpful. I choose B&B and although a wee bit basic with usual continental style ham/cheese slices, they also had hot plates serving bacon/sausage and not so nice scrambled egg. Cereals, yogurt, fruit and breads also part of the buffet. They don't cater for any specialist diets i.e gluten free. The restraunt would be a bit small if everybody descended at once but I never saw that and there was always plenty of room. The rooms are very comfortable and clean with a small kitchen and TV. Very limited English channels There was a keypad safe in the room also. The bathroom was spotlessly clean and had two basins and the towels changed daily. I was on the fourth floor and to the back so never heard the constant wail of sirens on Gran Via.
Overall this a excellant choice of hotel at the price. I have stayed in a lot more expensive hotels around the world that don't come close to the value of this one. I dont often write hotel reviews but felt compeled to write about the Gran Via 65 as it ticked all the boxes. Hope you enjoy it as much as I did.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mayrod1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
88 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2010

Agree with the other reviews regarding the excellent location, kitchenette, clean room, great size, enough cupboard space, grocery store at the bottom, lots of eating places, starbucks and mcdonalds all around

What could be better:
- My side of the bed was terrible (yes we realised that 1 side was ok and the other not!) had back pain from the hard bed. Ended up sleeping on couch which was better but not great.
- although we were high up on Sat nite we could hear noise from street at night
- no kettle or toaster. had to make toast in a frying pan!
- housekeeping not available in the weekend?!

happy with overall choice :) just speak to them before hand about a better bed

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Too_Much_TM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Espahotel Plaza de Espana
Espahotel Plaza de Espana
#225 of 446 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
San Blas
Travelodge Madrid Alcala
Travelodge Madrid Alcala
#254 of 446 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Ayre Gran Hotel Colon
#145 of 446 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hotel Mayorazgo
Hotel Mayorazgo
#197 of 446 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,595 reviews
Malasana
Tryp Madrid Plaza Espana Hotel
Malasana
Senator Gran Via 70 Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Espahotel Gran Via? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Espahotel Gran Via

Property: Espahotel Gran Via
Address: Calle Gran Via 65, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #191 of 446 Hotels in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Espahotel Gran Via 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you would like to stay in the heart of Madrid, close to all the points of interest in the city and you are looking for space, comfort, independence and all the facilities of an apartment without giving up on hotel services, choose Gran Via Apartments. Space, comfort and well-being for a unique stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Espahotel Gran Via reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Gran Via 65 Hotel Madrid
Aparthotel Gran Via 65 Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing