We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Orfila

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Orfila
Ranked #1 of 447 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014 via mobile

The service is exceptional!
The Breakfast on the terrace is exceptional!
The Dinner on the Terrace is exceptional!
The rooms are absolutely beautiful !
The staff are always too happy to help!
We will also recommend the location as it is a walk to all restaurants and tourist destinations!
A revisit will occur!

This Hotel is at the top ten for a couple of well seasoned travellers

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RC_Orfila, General Manager at Hotel Orfila, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your kind words and for taking a moment of your time to share your experience with other fellow travelers.

At Relais & Chateaux Hotel Orfila, we are committed to deliver the best possible experience while visiting Madrid.
We work really hard to ensure our guests live the most wonderful experience possible while visiting us and comments like yours lets us know we are walking down the right path.

We look forward to see you again!
Best regards.

Verónica García,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    582
    103
    18
    5
    4
See reviews for
118
418
21
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

We had such a wonderful stay at this hotel that we booked another night at the end of our trip! The location was very charming but perfectly situated to access all of Madrid's main attractions, the room and amenities were luxurious and the service was superb. All of the staff was very attentive. Giuseppe served delicious cocktails and gave us excellent dining & travel tips! Thank you for a wonderful experience. We hope to be back!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RC_Orfila, General Manager at Hotel Orfila, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments about our Hotel Orfila and our service and staff.
We are pleased that your stay with us were perfect.

Do not hesitate to come back to us in your next stay in Madrid, we will be waiting for you.

Best Regards,

Verónica García.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, TN
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Our stay was highlighted by the excellent service provided by Marco and the staff. The rooms were large and comfortable. The location was excellent, being close to the Prado, Reina Sofia, Plaza Mayor and the Serrano shopping district.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Knoxdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RC_Orfila, General Manager at Hotel Orfila, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are really happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you appreciated our team’s efficient and friendly service, as well as our facilities. At Hotel Orfila we like to take care of our guests so they can get best possible experience while visiting Madrid.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with other travelers here at TripAdvisor with such kind comment.

We look forward to see you again!.

Best wishes,

Verónica García
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
68 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Hotel Orfila is a small boutique hotel, very intimate and charming, and very well located to the major attractions in Madrid. It felt as if we were staying at someone's private home. The staff was extremely personable and attentive and the food was quite delicious at breakfast, dinner, and even in room service. The decor is old world with lovely antiques and furnishings. Our room was quite pretty, though we felt it is due for a bit of refreshing to really bring it into competition with other hotels we've enjoyed. That small point didn't take away from our enjoyment of the hotel, however, because the service is so exceptional and it really is a cozy and charming place.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Melody5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RC_Orfila, General Manager at Hotel Orfila, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are glad to learn that you enjoyed your days with us and you liked the hotel and our services. At Hotel Orfila we like to take care of our guests so they can get best possible experience while visiting Madrid.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with other travelers here at Trip Advisor with such kind comment.

We look forward to see you again!.

Kind regards,

Verónica García
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I and four daughters stayed in three rooms on the fourth floor at the Hotel Orfila in Madrid. It was a wonderful stay and they couldn't have been nicer and more helpful and accommodating for us. The hotel is a high end boutique hotel that is small, but feels classic and beautiful. It was built in a grand style and is maintained that way. It would be fabulous for a group of adults, but was still perfect for our family. It is well located and we walked everyday to the Prado, the San Miguel Market, Plaza Mayor, the Reina Sophia, the Palace, and the Retiro Park to name a few. Not everyone would want to walk like we did, but all this is a ten minute cab ride away at most.

The hotel staff, Marcos and others, were great at recommending fun nearby restaurants that we really enjoyed. The hotel has their own fabulous small dinning room, which we chose not to use because of our daughters age's ( 21,19,17,& 12). Breakfast is peaceful and the terrace is a sanctuary as well.

I highly recommend this wonderful hotel as a romantic getaway, a fun spot for a group of adults, and a good spot for a family looking for a peaceful oasis after days learning more about Madrid.

Wifi was great throughout the hotel as well.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Gkj9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RC_Orfila, General Manager at Hotel Orfila, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your recent stay at the Relais & Chateaux Hotel Orfila and for taking the time to share your experience with your fellow TripAdvisor travelers.

We are pleased to learn that you appreciated our installations as much as our kind and attentive service. Our goal is to help create an exciting and unforgettable experience to each one of our guests, making them feel comfortable and happy while with us.


We'll be looking forward to see you again at the Relais & Chateaux Hotel Orfila.
Best regards,

Verónica García.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

We just spent one night at the orfilia since we were visiting family in Madrid (but we wanted a day of intimacy).
We would have loved to stay longer.
Highly recommended.
Perfectly worth its relais et chateaux label.
Very charming.
Great location in Madrid.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stephane f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RC_Orfila, Director General at Hotel Orfila, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear guest,

From all of us at the Relais & Chateaux Hotel Orfila please receive our heartfelt thank you for your kind review. We are extremely happy to learn that you experience in our hotel was of your liking.

We would truly love the opportunity to welcome you back next time you are in town.

Best Regards,

Verónica García.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Fortunately, we changed our hotel reservations from the Ramblas to this charming hotel located on a quiet street. The staff was very helpful by making suggestions and
dinner reservations at some excellent restaurants within walking distance. Also, the staff helped us with our train reservations for Toledo and the Prado. The breakfast room is very classy. We decided that we wanted to have breakfast at the hotel even though it was pricy and not included in the room. However, one morning my husband ordered only a pot of tea and we were charged 15 euros which I thought was excessive.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Giudita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RC_Orfila, General Manager at Hotel Orfila, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Guest:

Many thanks for your stay at the Hotel Orfila. We are pleased to learn that you appreciated our team’s efficient service and enjoyed your stayed in Madrid.

For us is very important that our guests feel comfortable and happy during their stay in the hotel. Don't hesitate to return to Hotel Orfila if you come again to Madrid, we will be waiting for you.

Best Regards,

Verónica García
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Chueca
Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid
Artiem Madrid
#3 of 447 in Madrid
5.0 of 5 stars 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chueca
The Principal Madrid
The Principal Madrid
#10 of 447 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 stars 622 reviews
Huertas
The Westin Palace Madrid
Huertas
Hotel Urban
Hotel Urban
#20 of 447 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 stars 1,620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Orfila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Orfila

Property: Hotel Orfila
Address: Calle de Orfila 6, 28010 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Chamberi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#1 Family Hotel in Madrid
#4 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#4 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Orfila 5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The small XIX century palace was transformed into a hotel in 1999, respecting the majestic style of the era, at the same time as installing all the appropriate commodities for a luxuorious establishment from the end of the nineteenth century. Only a year after it opened, the hotel joined the Relais Chateaux Chain of hotels, a group of the most prestigious hotels in the world. The hotels belonging to the Relais Chateaux must have 4 or 5 stars and less than 100 rooms, and be outstanding their strict respect for the five concepts that define the philosophy of this hotel chain: character, courtesy, charm and cuisine.Located in a quite exclusive residential area in the cultural and business centre of Madrid, this creates a framework for a different concept of the hotel business in the capital of Spain.---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------El palacete del siglo XIX, se transformó en hotel en 1999 respetando el aire señorial de la época, al tiempo que se le dota de todas las comodidades propias de un establecimiento de lujo de finales de este siglo.Solo un año más tarde de su inauguración, el hotel ingresó en la Cadena Relais Chateaux, que agrupa a los hoteles más prestigiosos del mundo. Los hoteles miembros de Relais Châteaux deben contar con 4 y 5 estrellas y menos de 100 habitaciones, y distinguirse por cumplir estrictamente los cinco conceptos que definen la filosofía de la cadena: carácter, cortesía, calma, encanto y cocina.Situado en una zona residencial, exclusiva y tranquila en el centro cultural de negocios de Madrid, sirve como marco a un concepto diferente de hostelería en la capital de España. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Orfila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orfila Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing