We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming in excellent location”
Review of Hotel Orfila

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Orfila
Ranked #1 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Charming in excellent location”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

With our car wisked off by valet to their parking lot, and welcomed by a friendly staff with a glass of cava, we immediately liked the Orfila. We were originally given a beautiful top floor room overlooking the courtyard with King bed, but had to switch because the room next door had children and noisy occupants. We were given the same room on floor below, slightly smaller and no King bed! But Nicoletta, the chambermaid, fixed our bed to make it a king and all was well. The staff is actually the best feature of the Orfila; they are welcoming, friendly, very helpful and anxious to please. Our favorite was Marcos, who was very knowledgeable about the area and where to find restaurants and food (such as Madrid's famous roast crackling pork) we were interested in.

Orfila is a small boutique Relais and Chateau property, with only 20 rooms on a relatively quiet street. The location is very convenient, safe, close to major sites such as the Prado Museum, with a metro conveniently nearby for more distant attractions. The hotel offers the services one would expect of such a property: nightly turndown, robes (oddly we only got one), nice toiletries (but no conditioner!), very comfortable bed(s) and crisp linens. Comfort at the Orfila gets an A+. A very nice touch is the mint foot massage cream left at turndown service which feels lovely on tired tourist feet!

The hotel restaurant is reputed to be very good (the basis for this property getting a Relais and Chateau designation) but we did not try it. On our first night there was a large party in the courtyard so it was crowded and noisy, and the second night there was also a group cocktail party. Breakfast seemed to offer a very nice buffet at 25E. It would have been nice had there been a coffee pot either in our room or in the lobby for those who don't want breakfast. (There are a number of places in neighborhood that offer quite inexpensive coffee and croissants in the mornings).

The one disappointment for us was the noise level. Since we were directly facing the courtyard, we could hear the two evening parties until the last guest left - so no sleep before 11:30PM/midnight even with the windows closed! Also, the guest rooms are not particularly well insulated so you can hear water running, people talking, etc. from other rooms around you. A last minor detail is there was no makeup mirror in the bathroom.

One hotel oddity is that while there is a little bar off the reception area, you have to go to the front desk/reception staff to ask for a drink as there is no bar tender. Drinks are not inexpensive.....I had a regular, undistinguished brandy for 20E.

It should be noted that parking is 30E a day but it is Madrid, and who wants to drive in a big city!

All in all, a very nice hotel in a great location with some minor flaws, but offering lots of comfort and amenities. Our only real issue was the noise from the courtyard that might prevent a return visit.

Room Tip: Hard to tell if the street side would be quieter as this is not a bustling avenue. Get a higher flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silverwings928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RC_Orfila, General Manager at Hotel Orfila, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your impressions with fellow travelers on TripAdvisor.

We really appreciate your comments about the, service and our staff. We are please to help our guest to know exactly what they need to have a perfect stay in Madrid.

We will transmit your comments to our entire team who always appreciate words of praise!

Best regards,

Verónica García.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,035 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    858
    141
    24
    7
    5
See reviews for
189
624
25
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Loved this place..... Great staff..... Marcos Kos was great.... Very helpful and lovely on the eye!! ALL staff were excellent and I am really sorry I lost the paper with the other names..... It was my husbands birthday weekend...... (27th..... Well really 53rd)! Was treated with complimentary champagne and then a bottle of champagne in the room.... Then chocolates and then fruit..... Was a brilliant weekend......thought it maybe a little far out but metro really easy and Alonzo Martinez the metro yo use...... Madrid very friendly and very clean city.... Loved it all and thanks to you all for a fantastic weekend........... Xxxx

Room Tip: We had room 56 on 5th floor and it was excellent....... Took me ages to work out shower but that was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hills66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RC_Orfila, General Manager at Hotel Orfila, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you once again for your comments about our Hotel Orfila and our service and staff.
We are pleased that your stay with us were perfect.

Do not hesitate to come back to us in your next stay in Madrid, we will be waiting for you.

Best Regards,

Verónica García.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2014

I spent just one night here in the middle of May 2014 and the staff couldn't have been more helpful. The hotel is very classical and slightly old-fashioned but it's very charming and extremely comfortable. Fabulously comfy beds, spacious bathrooms and rooms and a welcoming and relaxed dining experience. The staff couldn't do enough to help and having such a short stay, it was extra-important that everything was perfect. Quiet rooms, all the facilities you'd expect for this level of hotel but with the addition of a certain old-fashioned charm. Lovely!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allyo1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RC_Orfila, General Manager at Hotel Orfila, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear guest,

From all of us at the Relais & Chateaux Hotel Orfila please receive our heartfelt thank you for your kind review. We are extremely happy to learn that you experience with us was of your liking.

We would truly love the opportunity to welcome you back next time you are in town, for both leisure and business travels, we'll make sure to deliver up to your expectations.

Best Regards,

Verónica García.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corsham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2014

We arrived at 11pm after a delayed flight and received a warm welcome which set the tone for the duration of our 3 night stay - the staff at Hotel Orfila are excellent.

Our room (47) overlooked the courtyard garden. Well proportioned with a very comfortable super king-size bed, seating area, spa bath with separate WC and dressing area. Varied mini bar with complimentary fruit bowl and bottle of sherry was a lovely touch. Bathroom contained most of what you require - shampoo, conditioner, shower/bath gel, body lotion, eau de cologne, nail kit and anything else you need can be obtained from reception. Powerful hair dryer. Excellent Wi-Fi coverage in the room.

We had our own plan/itinerary which we reviewed with the staff member on reception who made amendments and tips.

Breakfast was taken in the courtyard garden. White linen and silverware, excellent service and delicious food - the glass of cava set us up for the day! A quick read of the UK newspapers before we set off for a day of exploring.

Centrally located the Hotel is approx. 5 mins walk to the Metro station (very clean, easy to navigate) although we walked most of Madrid as all the sights are relatively close by.

We enjoyed the switch to Madrid time - taking lunch late and dinner even later (around 10pm). On return to the Hotel at night the soothing foot gel sachet left on the bed was a welcome gift.

We met the hotel manager, Veronica, on our final morning and were pleased to have the opportunity to thank her personally for the hospitality shown by all her staff. It is not often we have found ourselves looking at flights for our next visit when we are still on our holiday but such was the appeal of the Orfila.

In terms of transfers - we had a taxi on arrival from the airport - the fixed fee is 30 Euros but we had a supplement of 5.50 added - not exactly sure why but could have been the time of day? On our return we used the Metro as we felt comfortable using it - very easy and total cost of just 9.60 Euros for two people.

Madrid impressed us very much - staying here made it totally perfect. Do not hesitate to book a stay.

Room Tip: Room 47 overlooked the central courtyard and was quiet, well proportioned.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicola c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RC_Orfila, General Manager at Hotel Orfila, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you once again for your comments about our Hotel Orfila and our service and staff.
We are pleased that your stay with us were perfect.

Do not hesitate to come back to us in your next stay in Madrid, we will be waiting for you.

Best Regards,

Verónica García.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 2, 2014

My husband and I stayed for three nights and found the service in this boutique hotel outstanding. We were very impressed with how helpful all of the staff were, without being intrusive. The room was spacious, comfortable, clean and very quiet. Thanks for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IKH20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RC_Orfila, General Manager at Hotel Orfila, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your impressions with fellow travelers on TripAdvisor.

We really appreciate your comments about the, service and our staff. We are please to help our guest to know exactly what they need to have a perfect stay in Madrid.

We will transmit your comments to our entire team who always appreciate words of praise!

Best regards,

Verónica García.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

The Orfila is a well run, comfortable smallish hotel located in an up-market area within easy walking distance from the sights of central Madrid: for those who wish to venture further, the metro is close by.

We were particularly impressed with the friendliness and helpfulness of the hotel's staff from the manager, Verónica García, across the board. Our room was excellent and well maintained during our stay. We had continental breakfasts in the hotel (English language papers are available in the lobby) and one dinner, out on the terrace, which was very well prepared and served - and tasty.

For those with a bent for jogging, the marvellous park, the el Retiro, is within easy reach - indeed the park is a "must visit" for everyone who has the time. When did you last row a boat? You can there.

We travelled to and from the airport by taxi which took about 20-25 minutes. It's a fixed rate of €30 and hassle-free.

Although not our first visit to Spain, it was our first time in Madrid. It's a great city and staying at the Orfila certainly enhanced what was a most enjoyable long weekend.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeNZ12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RC_Orfila, General Manager at Hotel Orfila, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear guest,

From all of us at the Relais & Chateaux Hotel Orfila please receive our heartfelt thank you for your kind review. We are extremely happy to learn that you experience in our hotel courtyard was of your liking.

We would truly love the opportunity to welcome you back next time you are in town.
We will make sure to deliver up to your expectations.

Best Regards,

Verónica García.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

This is an excellent hotel indeed - boutique, 5 star and classical. The service is outstanding - professional, courteous and friendly. We arrived just in time to see the European cup final between the two Madrid teams in the bar - great experience! The rooms are excellent - we had two and both on the 5th floor overlooking a very quiet street were great (perhaps having rooms overlooking the court yard would be worth asking for but this is really a very minor point indeed). The breakfasts are luxurious. We had a late lunch on one day and the food was outstanding. We wished we had eaten at the hotel more. The hotel is within easy walking distance of Museums etc and set in a very smart Government, business smart shopping area. You can walk to the Prado (worth doing this) and also make sure you visit the Sorolla art gallery/museum/home which is very near. The hotel has a link with a health club with swimming pool so ask about this if you want a swim! Exceptionally accommodating about a late check out. Overall this is an absolutely fantastic hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms I suspect are good. We had rooms 50 and 52 on the street side - which were incredibly quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FfosFelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RC_Orfila, General Manager at Hotel Orfila, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your kind words and for taking a moment of your time to share your experience with other fellow travelers.

At Relais & Chateaux Hotel Orfila, we are committed to deliver the best possible experience while visiting Madrid, but as you so kindly remark in your review, there´s always room for improvement.
We work really hard to ensure our guests live the most wonderful experience possible while visiting us and comments like yours lets us know we are walking down the right path.

We look forward to see you again!
Best regards.

Verónica García,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Gran Melia Palacio de Los Duques
Chueca
Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid
Artiem Madrid
#2 of 436 in Madrid
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huertas
Hotel Urban
Hotel Urban
#20 of 436 in Madrid
1,945 reviews
Chueca
The Principal Madrid
The Principal Madrid
#11 of 436 in Madrid
987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Orfila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Orfila

Property: Hotel Orfila
Address: Calle de Orfila 6, 28010 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Chamberi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#1 Family Hotel in Madrid
#4 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#4 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Orfila 5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The small XIX century palace was transformed into a hotel in 1999, respecting the majestic style of the era, at the same time as installing all the appropriate commodities for a luxuorious establishment from the end of the nineteenth century. Only a year after it opened, the hotel joined the Relais Chateaux Chain of hotels, a group of the most prestigious hotels in the world. The hotels belonging to the Relais Chateaux must have 4 or 5 stars and less than 100 rooms, and be outstanding their strict respect for the five concepts that define the philosophy of this hotel chain: character, courtesy, charm and cuisine.Located in a quite exclusive residential area in the cultural and business centre of Madrid, this creates a framework for a different concept of the hotel business in the capital of Spain.---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------El palacete del siglo XIX, se transformó en hotel en 1999 respetando el aire señorial de la época, al tiempo que se le dota de todas las comodidades propias de un establecimiento de lujo de finales de este siglo.Solo un año más tarde de su inauguración, el hotel ingresó en la Cadena Relais Chateaux, que agrupa a los hoteles más prestigiosos del mundo. Los hoteles miembros de Relais Châteaux deben contar con 4 y 5 estrellas y menos de 100 habitaciones, y distinguirse por cumplir estrictamente los cinco conceptos que definen la filosofía de la cadena: carácter, cortesía, calma, encanto y cocina.Situado en una zona residencial, exclusiva y tranquila en el centro cultural de negocios de Madrid, sirve como marco a un concepto diferente de hostelería en la capital de España. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Agoda, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Orfila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orfila Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing