We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hospitality.”
Review of Hotel Orfila

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Orfila
Ranked #1 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Very good hospitality.”
Reviewed May 15, 2014

A glass of champagne on arrival set the tone for our stay. From the very first hola! we were made to feel welcome, which is not always the case in a big hotel in a major city. Front desk staff were very helpful in terms of sightseeing tips and booking tickets - always with a smile. Comfortable room overlooking the hotel courtyard, which was great for a quiet cocktail in the early evening. Definitely a recommendation.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Enusflytrap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Orfila_Madrid, General Manager at Hotel Orfila, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your kind words and for taking a moment of your time to share your experience with other fellow travelers.

At Relais & Chateaux Hotel Orfila, we are committed to deliver the best possible experience while visiting Madrid, but as you so kindly remark in your review, there´s always room for improvement.
We work really hard to ensure our guests live the most wonderful experience possible while visiting us and comments like yours lets us know we are walking down the right path.

We look forward to see you again!
Best regards.

Verónica García,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,035 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    858
    141
    24
    7
    5
See reviews for
189
624
25
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
2 reviews
Reviewed May 14, 2014

We were spoiled by the friendly, accommodating staff. The ambience is matched! Wouldn't stay anywhere else and can't wait to return! Rooms are spacious, dining wonderful. A very intimate experience. We don't want to leave.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susanludeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Orfila_Madrid, General Manager at Hotel Orfila, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear guest,

Many thanks for your stay at the Relais & Châteaux Hotel Orfila. We are pleased to learn that you appreciated our team’s efficient service and enjoyed your stayed in Madrid. For us is very important that our guests feel comfortable and happy during their stay in the hotel.

We are pleased to know you would like to return to Hotel Orfila if you come again to Madrid, it will be a pleasure.

Best Regards,
Verónica García
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton,MA
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2014

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights at the beautiful Hotel Orfila..This small, elegant hotel was on a quiet street only a short walk to the subway which was so convenient for getting to the museums and palace! The room was large and beautifully appointed..There was a terrace with tables in the back garden where you could relax with a glass of wine and enjoy the sounds of the fountain. The staff was friendly, attentive and helpful! If we return to Madrid, we will absolutely stay at this hotel again!

Room Tip: Since this hotel is on a quiet street that is not a thru-way for cars, any room would probably be wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rlb1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Orfila_Madrid, General Manager at Hotel Orfila, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear guest,

From all of us at the Relais & Chateaux Hotel Orfila please receive our heartfelt thank you for your kind review. We are extremely happy to learn that you experience in our hotel terrace was of your liking.

We would truly love the opportunity to welcome you back next time you are in town.
We will make sure to deliver up to your expectations.

Best Regards,
Verónica García.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2014

We stayed at Hotel Orfila for 3 nights - the hotel is lovely and perfectly located (especially if you are looking to spend most of your time in the museums and the touristy parts of the city). The staff could not have been friendlier and our room was comfortable. Breakfast, however, was a disappointment - and assured that we did not return for either lunch or dinner.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheila H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Orfila_Madrid, General Manager at Hotel Orfila, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your impressions with fellow travelers on TripAdvisor. There is always room for improvement and your suggestions helps us identify the aspects we should prioritize, and for that thank you.
We really appreciate your comments about the, service and our staff. We are please to help our guest to know exactly what they need to have a perfect stay in Madrid.

We will transmit your comments to our entire team who always appreciate words of praise!
Best regards,

Verónica García.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
1 review
Reviewed May 9, 2014 via mobile

Our experience in this hotel, Orfila, was amazing. We loved the place and everything, but most importantly, the special staff. The staff were so sweet, from the first one we met, Illian, to the last one. They were all so nice and kind, it's unbelievable!!
I would like to thank Marco, Jose, Jose Antonio and Estere for helping us with everything we've asked for and wanted. I don't want to forget anyone, but in general, all the staff, every single one of them was so sweet and friendly. We stayed for four nights only, I wish we could've stayed longer!
I actually loved the hotel more because of them.

Helpful?
Thank SaraBasim
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotel_Orfila_Madrid, General Manager at Hotel Orfila, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear guest,

We are most grateful for having chosen our hotel for your last stay in Madrid.
We work really hard to ensure our guests live the most wonderful experience possible while visiting us and comments like yours lets us know we are walking down the right path.

We are happy to know you have enjoyed our friendly and efficient staff. Thank you very much in name of our staff.

Best regards,
Verónica García,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2014

This Relais et Château is unique in Madrid. Small and elegant, perfect service, ideally located in the heart of the city, with a gorgeous garden where you can have your breakfast hearing the birds sing. A true privilege. Family owned, the staff is very kind and helpful. A fantastic restaurant. What else do you need for a perfect trip?

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JavierdeGinebra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Orfila_Madrid, General Manager at Hotel Orfila, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Dear guest,

Many thanks for your stay at the Relais & Châteaux Hotel Orfila. We are pleased to learn that you appreciated our team’s efficient service and enjoyed your stayed in Madrid.

For us is very important that our guests feel comfortable and happy during their stay in the hotel.

We will be pleased if you come again to Madrid, we will be waiting for you.

Best Regards,

Verónica García.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

Stayed 4 nights and were pleasantly surprised with our accommodations. Hotel Orfila is located in a quiet neighbourhood but is close to great restaurants and shopping, and is within walking distance of the Museums. Staff at the Hotel were welcoming and helpful. Breakfasts in the courtyard were lovely. Can't say enough good things about this charming hotel.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Onlythebest H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Orfila_Madrid, General Manager at Hotel Orfila, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Dear guest,

From all of us at the Relais & Chateaux Hotel Orfila please receive our heartfelt thank you for your kind review. We are extremely happy to learn that you experience in our hotel courtyard was of your liking.

We would truly love the opportunity to welcome you back next time you are in town.
We will make sure to deliver up to your expectations.

Best Regards,

Verónica García.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Gran Melia Palacio de Los Duques
Chueca
Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid
Artiem Madrid
#2 of 436 in Madrid
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huertas
Hotel Urban
Hotel Urban
#20 of 436 in Madrid
1,945 reviews
Chueca
The Principal Madrid
The Principal Madrid
#11 of 436 in Madrid
987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Orfila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Orfila

Property: Hotel Orfila
Address: Calle de Orfila 6, 28010 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Chamberi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Madrid
#1 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#4 Business Hotel in Madrid
#4 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Orfila 5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The small XIX century palace was transformed into a hotel in 1999, respecting the majestic style of the era, at the same time as installing all the appropriate commodities for a luxuorious establishment from the end of the nineteenth century. Only a year after it opened, the hotel joined the Relais Chateaux Chain of hotels, a group of the most prestigious hotels in the world. The hotels belonging to the Relais Chateaux must have 4 or 5 stars and less than 100 rooms, and be outstanding their strict respect for the five concepts that define the philosophy of this hotel chain: character, courtesy, charm and cuisine.Located in a quite exclusive residential area in the cultural and business centre of Madrid, this creates a framework for a different concept of the hotel business in the capital of Spain.---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------El palacete del siglo XIX, se transformó en hotel en 1999 respetando el aire señorial de la época, al tiempo que se le dota de todas las comodidades propias de un establecimiento de lujo de finales de este siglo.Solo un año más tarde de su inauguración, el hotel ingresó en la Cadena Relais Chateaux, que agrupa a los hoteles más prestigiosos del mundo. Los hoteles miembros de Relais Châteaux deben contar con 4 y 5 estrellas y menos de 100 habitaciones, y distinguirse por cumplir estrictamente los cinco conceptos que definen la filosofía de la cadena: carácter, cortesía, calma, encanto y cocina.Situado en una zona residencial, exclusiva y tranquila en el centro cultural de negocios de Madrid, sirve como marco a un concepto diferente de hostelería en la capital de España. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Orfila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orfila Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing