We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just perfect!”
Review of Hotel Orfila

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Orfila
Ranked #1 of 440 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 28, 2013

This is a beautiful property close to museums, fancy shopping, the park and the center city, but also on a quiet side street. The room was decent sized, very clean, well equipped, with a very comfortable bed (two twins pushed together). There was free high speed internet available anywhere in the hotel. What stood out was the outstanding service-they made us feel quite at home with great recommendations, welcome glasses of cava in the lobby, then a half bottle of Xeres with fruit in the evening, serving a breakfast 40 minutes after the excellent breakfast buffet (we had it the next day) had officially closed, helping with rental car.... If I have any say in the choice of hotel for my next trip to Madrid, I will stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wilson17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Orfila_Madrid, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Orfila, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

Dear guest:

We are glad to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you appreciated our team’s efficient and friendly service. At Hotel Orfila we are committed to deliver the best possible experience while visiting Madrid.
We look forward to see you again!

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,130)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

696 - 702 of 1,130 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2013

My husband and I had a delightful 5-day stay at the Hotel Orfila, a Relais & Chateaux property located in a lovely residential section of Madrid that is a 20-minute walk from the Prado. As a boutique hotel, the staff prides itself on providing excellent service. We were particularly impressed with Jose Martin, the concierge and front desk manager, who went out of his way to recommend an amazing private guide, book train tickets, make restaurant suggestions and give us a lot of tips that made our trip such a success. Our room was a beautiful junior suite with lovely appointments. We also had a wonderful dinner at the hotel's restaurant, El Jardin de Orfila. This is my choice for a first-rate hotel in Madrid and I will definitely return there on my next trip.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Astrid B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Orfila_Madrid, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Orfila, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with other travelers here at Trip Advisor with such a detailed comment. We are really happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you appreciated our facilities, as well as our team’s efficient and friendly service.
Please don´t hesitate to contact us for your next visit, and we´ll make sure to arrange any especial request.

We look forward to see you again!
Best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We made a great decision with our choice of Hotel Orfila. We prefer small intimate hotels and Orfila did not disappoint. First class hotel and staff in a posh business and residential area. Nothing was too small a request and was handled with knowledge and enthusiasm. Elegant and comfortable. We loved the quiet upscale neighborhood that was also convenient to our favorite attractions.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Orfila_Madrid, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Orfila, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your comment. We are proud that you chose us for your stay in Madrid.

Hope see you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We have just concluded our first stay in Madrid, where we were guests at the hotel Orfila for four most enjoyable days that the very unseasonable rain and cold did not spoil.
But also to thank for our enjoyable stay were the hotel staff particularly those at the front desk and in the restaurant. Foremost among whom was Marcos from Cuba.
These team members made you feel right at home and nothing was too small for their attention.
The hotel is small with beautifully furnished rooms including lots of space for storage this allowing you to unpack and not live out of the proverbial suitcase. To complete the ambiance the whole hotel was QUIET , and that in a modern European city is an attribute to be treasured.!
Breakfast ( every day for us ) and dinner (twice) were superb if a trifle expensive. Good light food with good value in a very local atmosphere can be found at the Tomato restaurant just around the corner.
The hotel has good shopping in the vicinity but the larger plazas and the old city are best reached by cabs, which are quite cheap.
I give this small hotel top marks but would out point two reservations as follows:
The maid cleaning service in the rooms left something to be desired and if a means could be devised of installing brighter lighting in the bedrooms this would enhance them even further.

We shall return to enjoy the city in better weather and shall certainly stay at the Orfila.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coubaril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Orfila_Madrid, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Orfila, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your kind words and for taking a moment of your time to share your experience with other fellow travelers. At Relais & Chateaux Hotel Orfila, we are committed to deliver the best possible experience while visiting Madrid.

We also appreciate your comments about the quality, service, staff and the hotel in general. We will transmit your comments to our entire team who always appreciate words of praise!

We look forward to accommodating you again. Our team will be more than happy to welcome you back to the Hotel Orfila.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

I just spent five days at Hotel Orfila and had a great stay. The hotel is beautiful and the room was spacious and very comfortable. The location was fantastic. I walked to all the sites I wanted to see. The neighbourhood was quiet and upscale. The staff couldn't have been nicer or more helpful. They made me feel very welcomed and well cared for. I highly recommend this hotel and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kyaussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Orfila_Madrid, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Orfila, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Dear guest,

We are most grateful for having chosen our hotel for your last stay in Madrid. We work really hard to ensure our guests live the most wonderful experience.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here at Trip Advisor with such kind words. Madrid is definitely a city full on charm just waiting to be re-discovered every time you stop by.

Please let us know next time you are planning to visit our city we´ll love to welcome you back and have you as our guest once again!

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Enjoyable for work and play.
Away from the crowds yet within easy access of all the Madrileno action.
Staff are friendly and professional.
Drinks at the bar are expensive so best to drink out or in with duty free.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Orfila_Madrid, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Orfila, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Dear guest:

It has been our pleasure having you stay with us. And now we are the ones thanking you for choosing us and for taking a minute of your time to write a kind review and share it with your fellow travelers.
It would be wonderful to welcome you back next time you are visiting our city, so please do not hesitate in contacting us in advance.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed April 12 - 16 2013 and found the hotel to be a version of heaven. It is an oasis of peace and calm in a very busy city. We slept with the window open and the loudest sound was the fountain in the lovely terraced garden. Breakfast was excellent and included tortilla, smoked salmon and sparkling wine.. Staff were friendly and attentive so we were more than happy with all aspects of our stay.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Orfila_Madrid, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Orfila, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for haven chosen our hotel for your recent stay in Madrid. We are happy to learn you have enjoyed your time with us.

We work hard to deliver the best possible experience to each one of our guests, we are happy to know you have enjoyed our friendly and efficient service.
Next time you find yourself planning a trip to Madrid, please let us know in advance, we would love to be the ones to welcome you back.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Chueca
Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid
Centro
Gran Melia Palacio de Los Duques
Artiem Madrid
#2 of 440 in Madrid
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chueca
The Principal Madrid
The Principal Madrid
#13 of 440 in Madrid
1,075 reviews
Huertas
Hotel Urban
Hotel Urban
#21 of 440 in Madrid
2,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Orfila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Orfila

Address: Calle de Orfila 6, 28010 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Chamberi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Madrid
#1 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#4 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#4 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: $253 - $641 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Orfila 5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The small XIX century palace was transformed into a hotel in 1999, respecting the majestic style of the era, at the same time as installing all the appropriate commodities for a luxuorious establishment from the end of the nineteenth century. Only a year after it opened, the hotel joined the Relais Chateaux Chain of hotels, a group of the most prestigious hotels in the world. The hotels belonging to the Relais Chateaux must have 4 or 5 stars and less than 100 rooms, and be outstanding their strict respect for the five concepts that define the philosophy of this hotel chain: character, courtesy, charm and cuisine.Located in a quite exclusive residential area in the cultural and business centre of Madrid, this creates a framework for a different concept of the hotel business in the capital of Spain.---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------El palacete del siglo XIX, se transformó en hotel en 1999 respetando el aire señorial de la época, al tiempo que se le dota de todas las comodidades propias de un establecimiento de lujo de finales de este siglo.Solo un año más tarde de su inauguración, el hotel ingresó en la Cadena Relais Chateaux, que agrupa a los hoteles más prestigiosos del mundo. Los hoteles miembros de Relais Châteaux deben contar con 4 y 5 estrellas y menos de 100 habitaciones, y distinguirse por cumplir estrictamente los cinco conceptos que definen la filosofía de la cadena: carácter, cortesía, calma, encanto y cocina.Situado en una zona residencial, exclusiva y tranquila en el centro cultural de negocios de Madrid, sirve como marco a un concepto diferente de hostelería en la capital de España. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Priceline, Expedia, MyHotelShop, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Orfila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orfila Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing