We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly luxurious experience”
Review of Hotel Orfila

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Orfila
Ranked #1 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very friendly luxurious experience”
Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is lovely. Has a real historical & genuine luxurious look & feel. Is v quiet. You are made v welcome and nothing is too much trouble.

It is a 20 min walk at least from Sol. But 2 stops on the subway. Immediate area is v quiet so you need to go towards the centre for all the bars and sites.

Only thing is that breakfast is not included and is expensive at Eur 30 a head!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Orfila_Madrid, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Orfila, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

We´d like to thank you for your stay at Orfila Hotel and for taking the time to share your experience with other fellow travelers with this post.

Beyond doubt, the location of our hotel is just perfect for leisure travellers who wish to acquaint themselves with the city's must-see attractions.

We would love to have you stay with us on your next visit, so please don´t hesitate in contacting us. We look forward to see you again!.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

988 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    818
    136
    22
    7
    5
See reviews for
175
596
25
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We spent 4 days in September here and loved the ambiance of the hotel plus the quiet street was a wonderful location. Easy walking distance to public transportation and quick cab ride to the city center. Food is sublime. The best part was the staff who were helpful and knowledgeable. We plan to stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bsutera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Orfila_Madrid, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Orfila, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Guest:

Many thanks for your stay at the Hotel Orfila. We are pleased to learn that you appreciated our team’s efficient service and enjoyed your stayed in Madrid.

For us is very important that our guests feel comfortable and happy during their stay in the hotel. Don't hesitate to return to Hotel Orfila if you come again to Madrid, we will be waiting for you.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
110 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

The hotel is beautiful secluded in a quiet street away from tourist spots but enough transportation near by and close to major attractions. We were welcomed with bublies and fresh juice for the kids. The palacio is charming and the rooms are very nice. Reception desk was helpful and polite. Room service was really good. Being a Relais Chateau property makes the difference when it comes to details and ambience. Breakfast could be cheaper though, 30Euros per person was a bit much, but lovely presented in the breakfast room.
All in all it was great for us and I would recommend this hotel when visiting Madri with elegance.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vsilva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Orfila_Madrid, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Orfila, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are really happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with other fellow travelers with such a detailed comment.

Before your next visit to Madrid we invite you to make your reservation through our website. Our team will be more than happy to welcome you back to the Hotel Orfila.

We look forward to accommodating you again.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed at the Orfila for 3 nights in May 2012 and enjoyed both the location and the unusually helpful staff. You are certainly aware you are staying in a Relais & Châteaux for an unusually accessible price. We did not have dinner or breakfast prefering a light breakfast - much, much cheaper and healthier - and enjoyed the extensive array of restaurant offerings in Madrid rather than having dinner "at the hotel".
We did feel that the Orfilia is surviving on a past reputation with furnishings and generally a decor that is a bit passé and in need of renovation. The facilities, for this kind of hotel, are limited and I think another visit to Madrid would be to a more modern, boutique establishment. That said, it IS a Relais & Châteaux and for some this is in itself an important feature.

Room Tip: I would avoid rooms overlooking the rotunda. While we were at the hotel there were two family gather...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aroundtheaorld93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Orfila_Madrid, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Orfila, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear Guest:

We are really happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you appreciated our team’s efficient and friendly service, as well as our facilities. At Hotel Orfila we like to take care of our guests so they can get best possible experience while visiting Madrid.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with other travelers here at TripAdvisor with such kind comment. Please let us know next time you are planning to visit our city, since we´d love the chance to accommodate you, once more.

We look forward to see you again!.

Best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, N.Y.
Level Contributor
53 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

What more can be said about the pleasures of staying in this hotel? It is really a place that you will look forward to returning for a rest before dinner. The furnishings are traditional and exquisite, also in the spacious rooms, and they are pristine. It was as if the furniture had been newly re-upholstered for us. Everything was perfectly functional. Though not in the center, the hotel is a 10-15 minute walk to the Prado and the busiest part of Madrid. It is across a major street (The Recoleto) from a very elegant residential and shopping area, Salamanca, and a 10 minute walk from the trendy area of Chueca.

The staff is simply extraordinary. They were friendly, attentive, efficient and alert--the best concierge staff we've ever encountered, and we travel a great deal. We wish we could have this experience in every hotel! The Spanish champagne we were offered upon arrival began this special 5 days.

Food--we had one breakfast in; it was superb, but as we don't wish to eat a lot at breakfast, we took the next 4 breakfasts out. We had one excellent light dinner in the hotel, on the outdoor terrace. The food was better than excellent, and the staff made a salad for one of us, which was not on the menu. In other words, the spirit of accomodation was present also among the restaurant staff. Food prices, for Madrid, seemed high, although the price of the room and the services offered was very reasonable.

We can recommend 2 restaurants within walking distance of the hotel: La Trainera in Salamanca, and La Buganvilla, near the hotel.

Room Tip: On the basis of the posted floor plans, it looked like all the rooms on our floor were comparable in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ge0rgeandGracie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Orfila_Madrid, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Orfila, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your kind words and for taking a moment of your time to share your experience with other fellow travelers.
At Relais & Chateaux Hotel Orfila, we are committed to deliver the best possible experience while visiting Madrid, but as you so kindly remark in your review, there´s always room for improvement.

We also appreciate your comments about the quality, service, staff and the rooms in general. We will transmit your comments to our entire team who always appreciate words of praise!
Before your next visit to Madrid, we invite you to make your reservation through our website.

Our team will be more than happy to welcome you back to the Hotel Orfila.

We look forward to accommodating you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights for a shopping trip to Madrid with my Mum. The staff were superb - very welcoming and extremely helpful. The hotel is just 20-25 minutes from the airport and very conveniently located for the shopping districts! Our room was lovely - we had a very spacious twin room suite with a very comfortable lounge. Room service food was excellent and promptly delivered. We ate one evening meal in the hotel restaurant. Sadly we were one of just 2 tables for that evening and this resulted in courses flowing a little faster than we would have preferred. However, the staff were attentive and the food was excellent. Our room was front facing and therefore had no view. There was also a lot of noise at about 11-12 pm as the refuse collection took place, however, after that the night was peaceful and the beds were very comfortable.
This is a beautiful small boutique hotel and I would happily stay here again if returning to Madrid.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Explorerdee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Orfila_Madrid, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Orfila, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear guest:

Thank you very much for your stay at the Hotel Orfila and your explanatory feedback.

We also appreciate your comments about the service and our staff . We will transmit your comments to our entire team who always appreciate words of praise.

We´d love to have you back and stay with us in your next trip to Madrid!.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stayed here for three nights in July. The hotel itself is just outside the centre of Madrid but so close it doesn’t matter. The hotel itself has beautifully maintained public rooms and is very boutique hotel like. The room was large and well appointed. The front desk staff were so helpful and obliging. We basically got to know them personally as the hotel was virtually empty. We were introduced to the hotel manager on the second day and she was lovely as was the front desk manager, Jose. The hotel restaurant is set in a delightful courtyard and the food and service was superb. Admittedly we were the only ones dining in the restaurant that particular evening.

The only point I would make is that the hotel recommended a restaurant called Alkalde. It was dreadful, easily the worst meal we had in Europe and very overpriced. Avoid this restaurant, but stay at the Orfila!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ants48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Orfila_Madrid, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Orfila, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Dear Guest,
From the Relais & Chateaux Hotel Orfila we want to extend our heartfelt thanks to you for your stay with us this year and for your positive feedback. Taking a moment of your time to share your experience with other travelers is something we highly appreciate.

Our long-time goal has always been to deliver the best possible service to our guests so they can live a wonderful and unforgettable experience while in Madrid. And reviews like yours let us now we are on the right track.

We are taking note about your comment on the restaurant and please let us know when you are planning your next visit!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Gran Melia Palacio de Los Duques
Artiem Madrid
#2 of 436 in Madrid
440 reviews
Chueca
Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chueca
The Principal Madrid
The Principal Madrid
#12 of 436 in Madrid
932 reviews
Paseo del Prado
Hotel Ritz, Madrid
Hotel Ritz, Madrid
#36 of 436 in Madrid
1,803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Orfila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Orfila

Property: Hotel Orfila
Address: Calle de Orfila 6, 28010 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Chamberi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#1 Family Hotel in Madrid
#4 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#4 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Orfila 5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The small XIX century palace was transformed into a hotel in 1999, respecting the majestic style of the era, at the same time as installing all the appropriate commodities for a luxuorious establishment from the end of the nineteenth century. Only a year after it opened, the hotel joined the Relais Chateaux Chain of hotels, a group of the most prestigious hotels in the world. The hotels belonging to the Relais Chateaux must have 4 or 5 stars and less than 100 rooms, and be outstanding their strict respect for the five concepts that define the philosophy of this hotel chain: character, courtesy, charm and cuisine.Located in a quite exclusive residential area in the cultural and business centre of Madrid, this creates a framework for a different concept of the hotel business in the capital of Spain.---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------El palacete del siglo XIX, se transformó en hotel en 1999 respetando el aire señorial de la época, al tiempo que se le dota de todas las comodidades propias de un establecimiento de lujo de finales de este siglo.Solo un año más tarde de su inauguración, el hotel ingresó en la Cadena Relais Chateaux, que agrupa a los hoteles más prestigiosos del mundo. Los hoteles miembros de Relais Châteaux deben contar con 4 y 5 estrellas y menos de 100 habitaciones, y distinguirse por cumplir estrictamente los cinco conceptos que definen la filosofía de la cadena: carácter, cortesía, calma, encanto y cocina.Situado en una zona residencial, exclusiva y tranquila en el centro cultural de negocios de Madrid, sirve como marco a un concepto diferente de hostelería en la capital de España. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Priceline, TravelUp, MyHotelShop, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Orfila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orfila Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing