We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Right in the middle of everything”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Aquaria Negresco
Ranked #258 of 438 Hotels in Madrid
Lisboa
Level Contributor
61 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Right in the middle of everything”
Reviewed December 21, 2010

We stayed in this small hotel for two nights in Christmas season (very cold days and nights), but we only used the hotel for sleep (remember you are in a big city, so if your idea is to go there to enjoy hotel facilities [any hotel], just stay at home...).
For those who are looking for a budget place near everything (20m from Gran Via and 3 minutes walk from Puertas del Sol), with a clean and hot room (we also enjoyed breakfast), this is the place.
The staff was always helpfull and friendly.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BadenPowellLisboa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    138
    58
    17
    10
See reviews for
39
123
18
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2010

This hotel was recommended by one of my best friends, so after a little research, we decided to book it.
We traveled to Madrid for a long weekend, and we needed to be close to everything, since it was going to be my girlfriend's first visit to Madrid.
The best about Negresco is its location... it is literally 1 minute walking from El Corte Ingles, about 4 minutes from Puerta del Sol, 8 minutes from Plaza Mayor, and about 8-10 minutes from Callao and Gran Via metro stations.
The rooms are small, but in good conditions... and the staff was real nice.
Overall, a great place to stay if you are looking for a place very well situated and with somewhat limited budget.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — No room service
  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank LR2010PR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 7, 2009

located in the center, clean rooms, powerful shower and clean bathrooms. good for value, quite room despite on the busy part of the city, and i felt very safe being in the hotel. hotel front doors are locked but the concierge sees you and opens up asap-it actually makes sense. safe deposits in the room and i generally enjoyed the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NYCUPPEREASTSIDE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2009

Small room but very quiet in the very noisy city center. Clean and everything you need is there... i LOVED the shower. Entrance is a bit crappy. Don't think you can get something of these standard for the same price in the center.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fonzz78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Black Lake
Level Contributor
30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2009

The Good:
Wi-fi WORKS in the room.. doesn't cut out, 1/2 decent signal, no time-out.. no going back to get another card for another 5 hours.. stays connected. Room a decent size with fridge, bathroom (no bath), double bed for single use was 75e/night. Room nice enough too. Location is great, off Gran Via, in-between the Royal Palace/Plazor Mayor and Parc Retiro/Prado etc

The Bad:
Bit of noise from neighbouring rooms, not that bad though. Cigarette burn in the bedding which was ironically funny for a non-smoking room, but not a problem. Safe had no lock in it but i didn't bother using it so might have been a simple case of asking reception.

I definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Old_Gregg_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2009

My boyfriend and I backpacked around Madrid and stayed in 6 hotels: this was our favourite by far!
Staff are friendly and helpful, rooms are comfortable and clean, there are 2 English TV channels, the bathroom was excellent with a lovely shower, and the location is second to none.
I would definitely recommend that anyone going to Madrid stay at the Negresco, and if I ever return I'm sure I will too.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Choufleur1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2009

This is a perfect example of an old-fashioned hotel without those modern inventions like access cards and other fancy features, but it offers nice clean rooms, of just the right size, not too small, not too large; perfect location steps from Callao and Gran Via, literally 20 metres away from El Corte Ingles, if you're into shopping; it is extremely well-priced, and the staff (both day and night shifts) are friendly, correct and helpful. It's more of a "no-frills" hotel, but the simple things it does, are done very well, and it's more than enough for a pleasant stay. A surprising touch: the showers are amazingly modern for an otherwise "classic" hotel. Careful when you first use it, as it could be set to massage function.
Very quiet, in spite of being very close to Gran Via.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Regente Hotel
Regente Hotel
#225 of 438 in Madrid
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,494 reviews
Centro
Hotel Avenida Gran Via
Hotel Avenida Gran Via
#358 of 438 in Madrid
3.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Centro
Hotel II Castillas
Hotel II Castillas
#103 of 438 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hotel Anaco
Hotel Anaco
#342 of 438 in Madrid
3.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Centro
Petit Palace Tres Cruces Centro
Centro
Petit Palace Cliper Gran Via
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aquaria Negresco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aquaria Negresco

Property: Hotel Aquaria Negresco
Address: Calle Mesonero Romanos 12, 28013 Madrid, Spain (Formerly Partner Negresco Hotel)
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro , Sol
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #258 of 438 Hotels in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Aquaria Negresco 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the center of Madrid, a small and cozy hotel with 19 rooms. It offers 24-hour reception, quiet and well-equipped rooms with AC/Heating, minibar and free WIFI. It's an outstanding place to visit beautiful and emblematic spots by foot, go to museums, theaters or shopping. Public transportation is very accessible; buses, metro and train can take you rapidly and comfortably in any part of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Aquaria Negresco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Partner Negresco
Partner Negresco Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing