We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel in the heart of Madrid ” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Preciados

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Preciados
Ranked #18 of 444 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel in the heart of Madrid ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

Excellent location, walking distance from all main attractions. Rooms are cleaning, excellent service. Very friendly staff, helpful to explain us everything we wanted to know. Breakfast is nice, you can find a big variety of food for every taste. For sure we will return.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank MARIAmixaela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOGELLAG, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Preciados, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear guest

Thank you very much for your review. We are glad that you have had a pleasant stay at Hotel Preciados.I am so happy you enjoyed your time with us due our breakfast , location and the services provided by our staff.
We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Javier Calle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,549 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,270
    1,095
    145
    26
    13
See reviews for
611
1,888
213
251
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (484)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

The room was very well appointed and clean, with excellent daily cleaning. The reception staff were keen to help and spoke excellent English. The hotel is in the throbbing centre of Madrid, but the room was surprisingly quiet. Improvements might be tea/coffee making facilities in the room. Also it seemed too easy to access the bedroom areas via the lifts without proof of residency.
However, we had a most pleasant stay and strongly recommend it as a base for tourism.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank RutelinB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOGELLAG, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Preciados, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear guest

Thank you for your Tripadvisor review and for your high score, it is appreciated.We are very glad to hear such a nice words about our location, cleaning and reception staff.


We look forward to hosting you again.

Best regards.

Javier Calle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

my review for this property is mixed. -- On the positive side, I thought that all of the staff were very helpful. When i was not happy with my first room, they went out of their way to help me find a room i would like . They were also helpful in recommending places to go . The rooms were also very clean.. The location was very convenient to most attractions. The shower was nice. Lots of restaurants and sites that are easy to walk to.

On the negative side -- The hotel is located in a very busy pedestrian area - its busy, loud, very touristy . Not a very charming part of town. The hotel was listed as a 4 star, but it seemed more like a 3 star. I stay at a lot of 4 star hotels and this was definitely not quite up to par with those. the toilet had a strip of paper over it to show that it was clean - which is typically the sign of a lower class motel or hotel -- a turnoff for me. The rooms also had an overwhelming amount of air freshener -- not pleasant

Overall - i was disappointed, since Im a heavy user of trip advisor and am seldom let down by a 4 star rating.

If someone is looking for a high value clean place, and want to be in a convenient location, then they may really like this hotel. -- but if you are looking for atmosphere , charm, etc - pick something else.

IF you do book the hotel, make sure to tell taxi drivers to take you to Santo Domingo square and NOT puerta del sol. -- Calle de preciados is a pedestrian only street .. If they drop you are puerta del sol - youll have to walk multiple blocks with your luggage...

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tc_travel_talk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOGELLAG, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Preciados, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear guest

Thank you for your review.I apologize for not exceeding your expectations regarding the location, we are in the center in a pedestrian street , many people love that area and we don't have any problem with taxi, they can park just in front of the Hotel but it is important the right address , Calle Preciados cornet with Santo Domingo Square.
And the toilet, in Spain always we put a strip of paper over the toilet.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Sincerely,

Javier Calle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
464 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

The Preciados was the perfect long weekend hotel for our group recently.

Based right in the centre of the city it is near enough all of the action that you can walk and far enough set back on a pedestrian precinct to be quiet and tranquil through the night.

The staff and service at the hotel was faultless and I've no complaints about the quality of food at breakfast time, the ease of the WiFi, the cleanliness of the rooms or the overall price.

If I am lucky enough to return to Madrid soon, I will certainly be coming back.

Room Tip: Avoid a room directly opposite the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidDundonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOGELLAG, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Preciados, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear guest

Thank you so much for your kind review. We are very glad to hear such a nice words about our location, staff, services and breakfast buffet.

Thanks again and hope to see you soon.

Warmest Regards,


Javier Calle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
152 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

We requested an early checkin on our reservation, arrived at 11:00 am and found our room ready for us. The room was very comfortable and quiet with plenty of room to unpack and store our clothing for our four night stay. The front desk was very helpful and able to answer all of our sightseeing questions.

The hotel's location is outstanding' It's a block from the Callao Metro station and is within walking distance of most of the eateries and sights one finds in the guide books. Shopping, including El Corte Ingles, is a block down Calle Preciados.

Rather than having breakfast at the hotel, we walked a short block down Calle Preciados to a Rodilla. There are also plenty of other eateries within a few yards of the hotel that are open in the morning.

Weekend nights can be pricey, but overall the hotel is an excellent value and we'll stay there again on our next trip to Madrid.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOGELLAG, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Preciados, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear guest

Thank you very much for your review. We are glad that you have had a pleasant stay at Hotel Preciados. Your wonderful words are the best compliments for us and I am really proud of them.
I am delighted to note that you enjoyed our location, room, staff and shopping area.

We really hope there'll be another chance to have you all here soon.

Best regards

Javier Calle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

Having read Tripadvisor reviews we booked 5 nights at Hotel Preciados and couldn't have picked a better hotel for the price. It is very centrally located (around the corner from Callao metro station) and within easy walking distance of some major attractions - Plaza Mayor, Royal Palace etc. The staff were all very friendly, helpful and speak good English (although I needed my rusty Spanish in lots of other places). The room we had was a good size and kept very clean with new towels every day. The hotel buffet breakfast (around 16 euros) was extensive with more than sufficient choice but if you only want a coffee and a croissant there are plenty of other places not far away for under 5 euros. We loved Madrid and had a great time with friends and would not hesitate to book Hotel Preciados again for our next visit.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Brian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOGELLAG, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Preciados, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear guest

Thank you for choosing Hotel Preciados and for sharing with other travellers your kind opinion about our location,staff and room.I have shared your kind words with them.

We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you again

Best regards

Javier Calle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Excelsior, Minnesota
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

Enjoyed a one night stay when we first arrived in Spain. The hotel is just inside the pedestrian zone so it was very quiet (very little foot traffic, no auto traffic). Easy walks to the market, cathedral, and other sights. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOGELLAG, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Preciados, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear guest

Thank you so much for your kind review and for chosing the Hotel Preciados fot the first time in Madrid.

Ee do look forward to having you stay once again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Javier Calle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Malasana
Hotel Atlantico
Hotel Atlantico
#19 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,278 reviews
Chueca
Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid
Artiem Madrid
#2 of 444 in Madrid
5.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hotel Liabeny
Hotel Liabeny
#49 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,753 reviews
Centro
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#37 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Preciados? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Preciados

Property: Hotel Preciados
Address: C/ Preciados 37, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Madrid
#9 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#13 Business Hotel in Madrid
#14 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Preciados 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Modern Boutique 4**** Hotel, located in the main shopping street in Madrid: Calle Preciados. From its unbeatable location, between PLAZA ESPAÑA – GRAN VÍA – PASEO DEL PRADO – PUERTA DEL SOL and PLAZA MAYOR, our guests will be able to enjoy the most attractive cultural and shopping delights in Madrid. FREE MINIBAR and WIFI in all rooms.Tranquility, courtesy, elegance and comfort are just some of the charms and qualities that characterize the Hotel Preciados. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Preciados reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Preciados Hotel Madrid
Preciados Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing