We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old and tired- air conditioning and fridge ineffective”
Review of Hotel Preciados

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Preciados
Ranked #26 of 441 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 27, 2013

The location of Preciados, close to a number of metros and quite central, is good. However there's not much else to recommend it.
We stayed in an unrenovated room, which was small- just room to walk around the bed. The free mini bar sounded great, but the fridge was very ineffectual, and the drinks just weren't cold enough. We ran the air conditioning at maximum, but we couldn't get the temperature below about 25- too warm for a comfortable night's sleep, and it was too noisy outside to leave the window open.
Wifi was very unreliable, and slow.

Room Tip: If you can't get a renovated room, don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank impossible50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOGELLAG, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Preciados, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Dear guest

First of all thank you very much for staying with us.
We deeply apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay regarding the accommodation. The hotel is situated in a building from the 1881s but the Hotel is only 11 years old nad we don't renovated room we have differents design rooms.The most import different are the bathrooms more moderm or traditional.
About the temperature we can modified with a central computer in reception but if we don't have any notice about you like colder we can not help you the same with fridge.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.

Yours sincerely,

Best regards

Javier Calle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,015)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,784 - 1,790 of 4,015 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2013

Excellent location, easy to find when travelling on the Metro from the airport. friendly and helpful staff, clean, quiet room, mini bar most appreciated, would highly recommend, close to all the must see attractions in Madrid.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra0609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOGELLAG, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Preciados, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Dear guest

Thank you for your recent stay with us,I am very pleased that you enjoyed in Madrid and you found the location to be easy access to all areas of Madrid.
I am also pleased you found our staff and minibar free excellent.

I hope we get to see you again in the near future. Thank you again.

Kind regards,

Javier Calle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

This boutique hotel is located in the heart of Madrid. Ten minutes walk maximum from the main places to hang arroung in this wonderful city. Go Madrid. Have fun. The museums, the Entertainment attractions, bars, restaurants and shopping.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Atirhj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOGELLAG, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Preciados, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Dear guest

Thank you for your review it is appreciated and you found the location to be easy access to all areas of Madrid.

I sincerely hope we will be able to welcome you back to Hotel Preciados again soon.

Kindest regards,

Javier Calle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

This was rated 3rd on Tripadvisor when we booked and I can't believe there are 2 better hotels in Madrid. My wife, 16 year old daughter and I stayed in a spacious and comfortable room with very nice ensuite bathroom (although the whirlpool bath didn't work). The welcome on check in was efficient and quick. The porter brought our bags up and showed us round the room. The hotel has free wifi and free mini bar although the contents is limited. We had an excellent breakfast (also included). Any questions we asked of the hotel were answered and our only regret was that we stayed only 1 night (before going to Valencia - see review for Hotel Las Arenas). It was great to revisit Madrid after 25 years and we loved wandering from one tapas restaurant to another. The hotel is well situated for shopping on the Gran Via, as well as the Plaza Mayor and Puerta del Sol. If you are going to Madrid and want somewhere comfortable without being over the top, Hotel Preciados is the place.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOGELLAG, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Preciados, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Dear guest

We'd like to thank you for having chosen our hotel and for spending some of your time in writing your nice comment. Thank you also for your recommendations to other travelers.

Thank you also for your comments about the room, location, free minibar and wi fi and breakfast buffet. They truly appreciate your kind words.
We hope to see you again soon.

Warmest Regards,

Javier Calle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

I found this hotel on Trip Advisor and the reviews were accurate. Great place to stay and free mini-bar was a plus. The staff was very accomodating. The location was perfect. Plenty of resturants around the hotel. Easy to get around from location.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katmandu21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOGELLAG, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Preciados, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Dear guest

Many thanks for your comments regarding the location, free minibar and staff during your visit. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We appreciate all of your comments and hope to see you again in the near future.

Yours in service,

Javier Calle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

The hotel's location is very convenient. Short walk to puerto del sol ,plaza mayor, royal palace. metro stops very close by. Courteous, helpful staff. Our room was average, not much charm. Yes, free bar (mostly drinks) is nice, but if you are budget conscious, calculate average 15 euro in the drinks in the fridge. We were out and about all day I think we mostly drank water and 1 beer or soda at night. The extra charge for breakfast is worth it. Unlimited nespresso, wide selection of ham, eggs, different fruits. You can fill yourself up for brunch, and your next meal is tapas at 6 pm. I was going to give this hotel 5 stars but my minor complain is that the wifi is too slow. Sometimes the loading is so slow,you just give up surfing.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anne8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOGELLAG, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Preciados, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Dear guest

Thank you very much for your lovely comment.

We are very pleased to read that your stay was comfortable and that you have enjoyed everything about our hotel included the central location amd helpfull staff.About the breakfast buffet you have an option to choose with breakfast buffet with a special rate when you made the reservation.

We hope to see you soon

Best regards

Javier Calle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Wonderful staff (helpful and courteous), great location (right next to the Royal Palace), very clean, nice food (we ate at their restaurant downstairs and had great Sangria and Paella), and quiet. We had a loft room with a balcony (surprise) and the views were an added bonus.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GPATB38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Room Mate Laura
Room Mate Laura
#15 of 441 in Madrid
1,755 reviews
Chueca
Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid
Malasana
Hotel Atlantico
Hotel Atlantico
#21 of 441 in Madrid
3,494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huertas
Catalonia Las Cortes
Catalonia Las Cortes
#9 of 441 in Madrid
1,636 reviews
Centro
Hotel Francisco I
Hotel Francisco I
#67 of 441 in Madrid
1,793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Preciados? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Preciados

Address: C/ Preciados 37 | esquina con Santo Domingo Plaza, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Madrid
#9 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#13 Business Hotel in Madrid
#21 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: $118 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Preciados 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Modern Boutique 4**** Hotel, located in the main shopping street in Madrid: Calle Preciados. From its unbeatable location, between PLAZA ESPAÑA – GRAN VÍA – PASEO DEL PRADO – PUERTA DEL SOL and PLAZA MAYOR, our guests will be able to enjoy the most attractive cultural and shopping delights in Madrid. FREE MINIBAR and WIFI in all rooms.Tranquility, courtesy, elegance and comfort are just some of the charms and qualities that characterize the Hotel Preciados. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Preciados reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Preciados Hotel Madrid
Preciados Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing