We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terribly noisy hotel”
Review of Hotel Sterling

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Sterling
Ranked #263 of 438 Hotels in Madrid
Reviewed November 25, 2013

The staff was friendly, the room was clean but that was all that was good. The first room 104 was clean but you could hear everything from the other guests, but everything........ Not sleep all night due. In the morning we went to complain, the guy at the desk was very friendly and gave us another room on the sixth floor 602. That was okay at first sight, but when we went to sleep there was a very disturbing noise audible it turned out to be the noise of an engine or other thing on the floor above us.
Result no sleeping again for two nights. Then breakfast was not to eat bad bread, cheese and other toppings were just as bad. It's also very noisy to in the breakfast room. In short this hotel has outside the friendly staff and clean room, no positive elements. How do they get the good Revieuws is a mystery to me. 1 tip take earplugs to that hotel.

Room Tip: 1 tip take earplugs to that hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Igor D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (751)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

113 - 119 of 751 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2013

My room was on the backside of the hotel (# 310) very small, dark and noisy. It was clean but that was not enough to compensate my disappointment. The breakfast was awfully poor, everything, the bread, the salami, the cheese, the coffee. Everything tasted plastic. I don't know how can a decent looking hotel serve such terrible breakfast.

Stayed: September 2013
8  Thank pjcsonka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Chose Hotel Sterling as needed a central location for a 3 day city break .Found it very convenient for short walk to 2 metros ,Puerta del Sol etc. Our room a family room was spacious with a balcony ,Our son's a double,was smaller and darker ,so would recommend asking for a balcony room .

Rooms very clean and well maintained ,contemporary style .Breakfast was fine ,a bit limited but OK for a few days. The Hotel staff were good .full of advice although be warned the Reina Sofia [where you can see Guernica ]is free from 7-9pm as advised by the hotel ,but it is shut on Tuesdays as we found out .
Overall it was a very pleasant stay and suited our purpose well.

Room Tip: The double room was a bit dark with a courtyard 'view' so if you want a bit more space ask f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beaam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

I spent a lot of time looking into different accommodations in Madrid. We were only going to be there for 2 nights with only 1 full day to enjoy the city. I wanted a good location, reasonable rates, was hoping for a balcony and some sort of view and a decent room knowing that European rooms were smaller than what you find in most US cities.

My emails to Hotel Sterling for some reason never went through, but I was able to communicate with them through private messages on Facebook. Javier was wonderful and answered all my questions. He was able to confirm that he had a top floor with balcony room available for 3 people (also not an easy thing to find in Madrid and at a reasonable rate)

Hotel Sterling did not disappoint. It is located right off of Gran Via and very easy to get to by Metro. The front desk was very helpful and showed us where to go and gave us plenty of maps to make good use of our short stay. The room was small like most European hotels, but was perfect and not a problem for 3 people. The beds were comfortable and the room was clean and well furnished. There is a stand outside the closet for your luggage and a safe in the closet for valuables. The bathroom was quite roomy, with a tub shower. We also had a terrace that was almost as big as the room, equipped with a table and chairs. Javier had even left us a complimentary bottle of wine.

The included breakfast was your typical Spanish breakfast and was perfect for our needs.

I see others have mentioned an iPad, maybe you have to ask for that, we never saw one. I made the right choice in staying here. I would recommend Hotel Sterling and I would stay again.

Room Tip: Request if a room on the top floor with a terrace is available. I believe there are only 4, but if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ItsPozzable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

The point is that at first sight you can feel like in a superior hotel with really good inside areas in the main hall and in the rooms (LCD tv's, safe, fridge..) but then you realize that there are little details and things that make it not so good, improvements are not the only thing a hotel needs to gain our best marks.
The first thing was that we could get to the room from 12:00 (according with our reservation) and finally, after a tiring journey, we were allowed to enter to the room after 14:00, so we had to leave our luggage there and keep walking by the surrounding areas in order to wait to our rooms.

The reception staff were not so kind or friendly as we are use to, and didn't attend our request for a better room that we made in the reservation 35 days before and at the moment as we got the keys. The night staff guy was quite kind however, he gave us an extra pillow as soon as he could (and he had to do this 'cause his partners didn't remember to do it when we requested it 8 hours before).

The problem with the room was that the entire wall of the room is exposed to the people movement area, the lifts and the stairs so every person talking, shouting, crying , laughing etc.. can disturb your sleep or resting hours. Even your intimacy. We think that in this part fo the hotel shouldn't be placed any room (106). We asked for a better room and the recepcion girl said that this wouldn't be a problem but we never got it.
The room itself was quit good, it is not common to find safe, frigde, a/c, just improved rooms and a fruit basket in a 3 stars hotel. The bed was a bit old and the mattress needed a change, the mattress base had wheels (the first time I see this, I don't know if the rest of the mattress bases are the same.) The tub tap had a bit problem and the main light needed to be replaced but these things are little maintainance tasks.

We had the breakfast included in our reservation and as we could check before in Tripadvisor was a bit dissapointing, because of the lack of variety mainly. You can eat well, you are not going to be hungry after breakfast but don't expect many different dishes, a couple of cereals, sliced and whole fruit, cocoa, milk, water, coffee and a couple of juicies. A couple of pastries and white bread you can fill with 4 or 5 kind of cold meat. Not bad in any case and the staff didn't hurry us in any moment though we kept there relaxed and talking for a while.

The location as you can see is very good if you want to know the city center, there are many cinemas and theaters near, museums are not so far away neither. Good choice if you want to walk by this area.

Room Tip: It is essential to require a room far away from the people movement areas near stairs and elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rafaelmsanchez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Stayed here last year. Beautiful quaint 3 star in a great location in Madrid.
The IPad at checkin was an unexpected and wonderful touch.. we really Loved our time here. Staff were great and only good memories!!! Rooms were clean and for what you're getting this was a grea tplace...

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JLP8288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

It is easy to walk to cultural places or shopping. Our room was very quiet for the 5 days we stayed. Breakfast is good. The staff is pleasant and efficient. TV was bad, only few unstabelized channels, may be just needs to be adjusted ? Another negative point: the crumpled sheets. In spite of this,
I will go back again there and recommand this hotel. Excellent quality-price.

Room Tip: I will wish a room away from the 2 lifts and I will avoid a room giving on San Bernado street !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 7401paula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Espahotel Plaza de Espana
Espahotel Plaza de Espana
#251 of 438 in Madrid
430 reviews
Centro
Hotel Exe Suites 33
Hotel Exe Suites 33
#224 of 438 in Madrid
632 reviews
Centro
Hotel II Castillas
Hotel II Castillas
#94 of 438 in Madrid
705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Petit Palace Plaza Espana
Petit Palace Plaza Espana
#113 of 438 in Madrid
780 reviews
Centro
Hostal Buenos Aires
Hostal Buenos Aires
#292 of 438 in Madrid
97 reviews
Malasana
Courtyard Madrid Princesa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sterling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sterling

Address: Calle San Bernardo 29-31, 28015 Madrid, Spain (Formerly Hotel Alexandra)
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Malasana
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #263 of 438 Hotels in Madrid
Price Range: $67 - $295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sterling 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Sterling reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing