We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Choice”
Review of Hotel Sterling

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Sterling
Ranked #268 of 437 Hotels in Madrid
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Recently stayed at the Hotel Sterling in Madrid. Colleagues were staying at alternative hotels, within 10 minutes walk, and paying twice as much, for little extra. Highly recommended as an unpretentious, comfortable, renovated hotel. Adequate, if not sumptuous breakfast and courteous and helpful staff.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank samd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (744)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

122 - 128 of 744 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2013

I stayed in Hotel Sterling 3 nights. Ok for a 3 star hotel. My room was clean but a bit dark. Free WiFi. Good location, walking distance to most of the tourist sites. Staff was friendly however some of receptionists didn't speak English.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BaibaOzolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Mini rooms, no windows, a lot of noise at night, bad food. Great location. In fact I rather to change hotel even though they had already charged the wholes staying. No sense of customer sat at all. I could hear the running water from the room next to mine, a child crying, people walikg around. I even asked for a bigger room because I had paid a double and they gave another single. 10 cm bigger than the first one....

Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
2  Thank Adriana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in May 2013. We had read the reviews before we booked so we always felt comfortable about staying there.

The hotel has a good location, a minutes walk from the Noviciado metro station. If you have not been to Madrid before, the metro from the airport is the quickest way to transfer, one change at Nuevos Ministerios and get off at Plaza de Espana. You can then walk (still in the metro) to the Noviciando exit (follow signs for San Bernardo) - You have to change twice to go directly to Noviciado.

The room we were given on the third floor was a little on the small side but had recently been decorated and was very comfortable and very clean. Excellent large bathroom. TV but no English programs. Proper double bed rather than two singles pushed together.

Breakfast was included in the price. This was served in the basement room and consisted of cereals, breads, cold meats and cheese, croissants, and hot and cold drinks. No hot food served.

We found the hotel ideal for a three night stay near the centre of Madrid and did not have to use public transport at all.

Room Tip: Better views from higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rin1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Stayed here for 4 days end of April. Location is great, easy walking distance to most of the key sights, and easy to reach from the airport (took about 30 mins on metro,€5, to Plaza Espana). Staff friendly & helpful.
Our 6th floor room was great, very clean, plenty big enough, modern styling with full bathroom, good TV (few English channels) & a large terrace/balcony from where we could see the Gran Via. As is common in Europe, there was no kettle, so worth taking a travel one if this is important to you.
Breakfast was fine; coffee, chocolate, range of teas, juices, cereal, fruit, bread, toast, cheese, meats, various pastries.......I don't see what anyone could complain about!
There is no bar or restaurant, but there are plenty of options for both within a short walk. We had a package which included dinner in their sister restaurant, Cafe de Levante near Sol, which was fine.

Room Tip: There are some rooms with a terrace/balcony, we had one facing the front which wasn't at all noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarall0yd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

I've just ended my holiday to Madrid and I've stayed at Hotel Sterling. Just a word describes this hotel : Perfect ! I don't know where to start...Location : perfect ! Staff : perfect ! Service : perfect ! Rooms : perfect ! Value : perfect ! I love everything about this hotel....
Don't think twice ! Book your room without any doubt !

Room Tip: Top floors & back rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Selin93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

My sister and I stayed here with my dog. The only challenge was parking, although there was a typically expensive public underground lot within 5 minutes walking. The room was very clean and comfortable. The location of this hotel is fabulous. We walked from the hotel to Plaza de Espana and then on to the royal palace, Plaza Mayor and Puerto del Sol and back within 30 minutes. The very helpful attendant did not speak much English but was willing to help and with my poor Spanish and gestures we had everything we needed, including an excellent tourist map and metro map.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristina_R_1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hotel Exe Suites 33
Hotel Exe Suites 33
#218 of 437 in Madrid
628 reviews
Malasana
Tryp Madrid Centro
Tryp Madrid Centro
#271 of 437 in Madrid
993 reviews
Centro
Hotel Exe El Coloso
Hotel Exe El Coloso
#340 of 437 in Madrid
883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hotel Anaco
Hotel Anaco
#332 of 437 in Madrid
296 reviews
Centro
Hotel Mayorazgo
Hotel Mayorazgo
#166 of 437 in Madrid
1,978 reviews
Centro
Cason del Tormes
Cason del Tormes
#144 of 437 in Madrid
655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sterling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sterling

Address: Calle San Bernardo 29-31, 28015 Madrid, Spain (Formerly Hotel Alexandra)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Malasana
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #268 of 437 Hotels in Madrid
Price Range: $76 - $533 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sterling 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Sterling reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing