We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great choice!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Jardin de Recoletos
Ranked #24 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great choice!”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

I stayed in Jardin de Recoletos for 5 nights in October 2012 after reading the reviews in Tripadvisor. It's wonderfully located in the upscale Salamanca area, 5 min from a Retiro metro station and 3 min from the Recoletos train station (convenient for taking train to and from airport or to connect to Atocha, one stop away and then to Toledo etc), around the corner from the main shopping area and easy walking distance to both the Prado and the Thyssen Bornemiszra museums. It's also a lovely walk to the important sights such as Plaza Mayor, Real Palace etc from the hotel (between 20-30 min depending on how often you stop) but you could also choose to take the metro. It's also within walking distance to the Retiro park and many wonderful restaurants which are to the east of the park.
The room is large and comfortable with a lounge area and kitchenette on one side. The only complaint I have is that they should have provided a kettle or else you have to use the pot to boil water. We would have gladly washed our own dishes except they was no soap/sponge provided but the housekeeping washed and stored the crockery everyday for us
The concierge staff were all very helpful and professional, making reservations for restaurants for us, recommending day trips out of Madrid and patiently answering any query you may have. The breakfast buffet is amazing value at less than 10 euro if you confirm on checking in. You get a wonderful spread of fruit, juices, cereals, hams, lovely crusty breads, tortilla...much more food than you ever need. You can even order a cooked breakfast of scrambled/fried eggs with ham, bacon and sausages.
Overall we were extremely happy with our stay as it was not only great value but extremely pleasant. It suited us fine as we are not into partying and enjoyed the peaceful and safe location

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JALIRgirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vpjardinrecoletos, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Jardin de Recoletos, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear guest
First of all thank you for the opinion you have shared at Tripadvisor about our VP Jardín de Recoletos hotel.
It is a pleasure to know that comments that other clients made at Trip advisor have been useful to you. Many thanks for sharing your tips about location, metro, museums and other cities close to Madrid. We are sure this advises will be very useful for other Trip advisor customers as they were to you.
We celebrate that you enjoyed our varied breakfast and that in general you had a positive experience.
Once again thanks for choosing VP hotels and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    179
    25
    5
    0
See reviews for
148
233
17
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid
1 review
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Due to to Hurricane Sandy in the USA and our flight home being canceled, we needed to extend our stay at the hotel for 5 days. The staff was extremely helpful, gave us good directions on how to get to a few places outside of Madrid.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vpjardinrecoletos, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Jardin de Recoletos, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear guest
Thank you for the opinion you have shared at Tripadvisor about our VP Jardín de Recoletos. We are sorry that the hurricane changed your plans but are happy to read that we helped you reach a pleasant stay at our hotel. We celebrate that our staff was helpful and helped you to look for interesting places outside Madrid.
We look forward to see you soon in one of our VP hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Have spend 5 days during holiday in Madrid at the Jardin de Recoletes.
Neighborhood is up-scale, and definatly best part of Madrid.
Rooms are comfortable, (we've stayed in a suite) but are old fashioned.
Inspite that this part of town is quiet, there are many sounds during the night, coming from the Hotel itself. You can hear people walking, going to the bathrooms, moving furniture ectr. Service is ok, but not really motivated.
Not much to do in the Hotel itself, but several nice bars and restaurants to find near the Hotel.

Room Tip: the suites are large and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tender492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vpjardinrecoletos, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Jardin de Recoletos, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear guest,
First of all, many thanks for the opinion you have shared at TripAdvisor about our VP Jardín de Recoletos hotel.
We are sorry if we did not cover your expectations regarding the soundproofing of your room. We are willing to solve this problem as soon as possible and are already conducting the relevant studies in all our rooms to indentify the ones that have soundproofing problems, with the goal to invest whatever is necessary to guarantee a total isolation. We are planning to conduct a full renovation of the hotel in a short period of time, where we will also update all our furniture and facilities in general. We hope you will comeback soon and benefit from our new facilities.
Many thanks for the tips abut the bars and restaurants near the hotel that we are sure will be very helpful for the rest of the tripadivsor readers.
Once again, sorry for the inconveniences.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

In September, having holidayed on the Costa Blanca my wife and I decided to have three days in Madrid before flying back to the UK. We traveled from Alicante to Madrid by RNFE the Spanish Railway operator and I think we could learn a lot from our European counterparts on how to run a railway; a highly recommended mode of travel. Having researched Hotels in Madrid we chose the Jardin de Recoletos, which is located within the Reccoletos district close to the Plaza de la Indpendencia. What a superb Hotel. Positioned in a quite location with a beautiful garden to the rear. My wife and I had a room overlooking the restaurant /garden area which of a morning gave a cool, tranquil environment with bird song from every corner. The room was fantastic, large and well proportioned with the added bonus of a small kitchen area. The Hotel was well presented with very friendly staff that obviously enjoyed their working locality. We decided to add the breakfast to our itinerary and were not disappointed with the quality and selection that was on offer. As we were only in Madrid for two nights we did not have an evening meal in the garden/restaurant and wish we had, however when we return we will definitely return to this Hotel and an evening meal in that beautiful gardened area.

Room Tip: Route 1 and 2 tourist bus stops very close to the hotel and is a great way to sightsee this beautifu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hammers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vpjardinrecoletos, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Jardin de Recoletos, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear guest.
First of all, many thanks for the opinion you have shared at TripAdvisor about our VP Jardín de Recoletos hotel. Thanks also for sharing your tips about location and the good impression you had about our garden. We celebrate that our rooms were pleasant for you. Our staff works very hard to please you and we thank you for recognizing their effort. It will be nice to see you and your wife again at our VP Jardín de Recoletos hotel may be next time you will had the chance to have a lovely dinner at our garden.
We really hope to see you soon, and once again, thank you for your comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
haarlem
Level Contributor
106 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Jardin de Recoletos is a comfortable, nicely furbished hotel( beautiful lobby) in a great (very upmarket) neighborhood, very close to the metro and near to the stop of the hop on hop off bus, and the beautiful, peaceful Retiro Park.
Many nice tearooms, restaurants and tapas in the close vicinity of the hotel.
Easy walk to the Prado, Thijssen and the Plaza Major. But luckily away from the touristy, overcrowded centre. Also the feel of a safe neighbourhood.

The people, who work at the hotel are very friendly and hospitable. The room is spacious and clean.
The fountain in the garden ,mentioned by another guest, is switched off at 11 pm and you can easily sleep with the doors open, and it is very quiet.Could not believe being in a big city.
The breakfast is great with an enormous selection of fresh fruit, cheeses,hams, eggs,sweets,etc.

I would like to extend a special thanks to Sandra Serrano, who does her work as Guest Relations Manager with great dedication and interest.

All in all, choosing the Jardin de Recoletos was an excellent choice and we can really recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank haro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vpjardinrecoletos, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Jardin de Recoletos, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Linda,

Many thanks for sharing your opinion at Trip advisor, this travel opinion website which made possible that we personally met. I am happy to read that you had such positive experience at our VP Jardin de Recoletos hotel, and many thanks for sharing your tips about location, things to do and see, proximity to the major city attractions and quality of the breakfast which with no doubt will be very helpful for other possible Trip advisor guests.

Many thanks also for your remarks about the quietness of our hotel nice attitude of our staff.
We also enjoyed having guests like you. Do not doubt that this is your home in Madrid.
Hope to see you both very soon Linda.
Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicaragua
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 9, 2012

This has been my 6 th stay at Jardin de Recoletos! I love this hotel is so convenient located, and the staff and Facilities are wonderful. The staff is very helpful and it always make you feel as you are family, my father needed to have a special request at the airport and they called the airport facility and helped us locate where we had to go more easily, they would always go out of their duty to help you, the waiters were very nice and always had a smile.

I would definitely look forward to stay again at Jardin de Recoletos soon with my family!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank GabrielaNicaragua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vpjardinrecoletos, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Jardin de Recoletos, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear guest,
Many thanks for the opinion you have shared at Tripadvisor about our VP Jardín de Recoletos hotel.
It is great to read opinions such as yours were you point out the good disposition and efficiency of our staff. We are a small hotel chain and consider ourselves a family; when that family spirit is also perceived by our guests we can confirm that we have succeeded in our job.
We celebrate you had a fabulous time in our hotel. We have sent your comments to our staf and we are all very happy to see that you have been visiting us for six times already.
We cannot wait to see you and your family for the seventh time at our VP Jardin de Recoletos hotel.
Many thanks for feeling a part of our VP family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Barrio de Salamanca
NH Collection Madrid Colon
Paseo del Prado
Petit Palace Savoy Alfonso XII Plus
Paseo del Prado
Petit Palace Lealtad Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio de Salamanca
Hotel Hospes Puerta de Alcala
Barrio de Salamanca
Barcelo Emperatriz
Barcelo Emperatriz
#12 of 436 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
Lavapies
Artrip Hotel
Artrip Hotel
#5 of 436 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jardin de Recoletos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jardin de Recoletos

Property: Jardin de Recoletos
Address: Calle Gil de Santivanes 6, 28001 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Barrio de Salamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#15 Business Hotel in Madrid
#17 Family Hotel in Madrid
#19 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Jardin de Recoletos 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely refurbished during August 2013, the hotel VP Jardín de Recoletos is located just a few steps from Retiro Park, Puerta de Alcalá and the National Library. VP Jardín de Recoletos is the perfect choice for a stay in Madrid because of its 43 spacious rooms, its beautiful garden and its excellent location in the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Jardin de Recoletos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jardin De Recoletos Hotel Madrid
Jardin De Recoletos Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing