We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Going back next year!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Jardin de Recoletos
Ranked #28 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Leamington Spa
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Going back next year!”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

For us, an excellent hotel in an excellent location. We were upgraded to a 'superior' double room without asking, which was on the top floor and had a shaded north-facing patio with chairs and a table. There was also a kitchenette hidden behind folding doors,which we will make use of next time. It had a rather old-fashioned air of luxury about it, with marble everywhere, heavy curtains and gilded headboards, but it didn't feel oppressive because of the generous size of the room, the many mirrors and the pale colours of the decor. Massively fluffy dressing gowns and minibar with free soft drinks added to general impression of being looked after by an efficient and effective management. All the staff in fact were friendly and helpful and extremely polite.

The neighbourhood is on the edge of the main historic centre of Madrid. Most of the main places of interest are within walking distance - for example we walked across town one day as far as the Royal Palace.

Breakfasts were wonderful and on return I keep remembering them and wishing I had eaten more! The only criticism one might have is that there is only one coffee machine to service the entire dining room. We ate lunch in the garden once and enjoyed the experience. Pretty surroundings, fountains playing and well-paced service gave a general air of relaxation. The starters were generous enough for a lunchtime meal. Although we only had the salmon and avocado salad and the plate of grilled vegetables, we're were served with the customary dignity and friendliness, and presented with additional tasties that were being given to the other diners who were out for a much bigger lunch. The tangerine and cava sorbet was fantastic.

Room Tip: Top floor = no noise from above, and rooms have patios.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susanleamington1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vpjardinrecoletos, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Jardin de Recoletos, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear guest
First of all, many thanks for sharing your comment at Tripadvisor about VP Jardín de Recoletos hotel.
Your positive opinion about the upgrading to a superior double room makes us happy. We are glad to read that you enjoyed our kitchen area, our location and the generous size of our rooms. It is great to see that you found our breakfast wonderful and varied. Regarding the time you had to wait at the coffee machine, we remind you that we also offer served coffee to all our clients, so next time, if you prefer a served coffee feel free to ask for it and our waiters will bring it directly to you. We celebrate that you found that our fountains were relaxing. Thanks for highlighting the good quality of our food.
We look forward to see you soon in one of our VP hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    188
    25
    5
    1
See reviews for
156
239
18
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Fabulous location close to the Prado Museum, beautiful parks and in a smart part of town. Spacious rooms with comfortable beds and excellent service from friendly staff.
Can get a little noisy at times with marble tiled floors in bedrooms and public areas - footsteps and scraping of chairs on floor above has the potential to disturb lighter sleepers.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank BMSsydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vpjardinrecoletos, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Jardin de Recoletos, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Guest,
First of all we would like to thank you for your time giving us your opinion about our VP Jardín de Recoletos hotel.
We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay. Our staff has also read your comment and they are all very happy to see that we had done a good job.
We are sorry if we did not cover your expectations regarding the soundproofing of your room.
We are willing to solve this problem as soon as possible, and in the following months we will renew all our rooms in order to avoid this problem for future clients.

We hope to see you very soon again at our VP hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Quiet location within 10 minutes walk of the Retiro Park , 5 minutes from the Madrid City Tour bus stop for both routes and Royal Theatre in 25 minutes. Staff were very friendly and helpful and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SDP150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vpjardinrecoletos, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Jardin de Recoletos, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear guest.
We would like to thank you for your time giving us you opinion about VP Jardín de Recoletos hotel. Our staff works very hard to achieve all our client´s expectations.
Once again, thank you and we hope to see you again at our hotel or at any other of our VP hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
united kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We have just returned from staying 7 nights at the JARDINE DE RECOLETOS, wich we

thoroughly enjoyed.The staff were very helpfull & friendly.The rooms were spotless & roomey.The breakfasts were good & varied, fried breakfast could also be had iff you asked the waiter at no extra charge. The hotel is situated in a very quiet side street so that a good nights sleep can be achieved. The hotel is situated in a very central position for all the sights & museums & there are two metro stations quite close by.This hotel is ideal for anybody who wants a quality hotel & value for money.
The only thing that I could fault it on would be the coffee machine which is inadequate for the amount of people it serves.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank montyunitedkingdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vpjardinrecoletos, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Jardin de Recoletos, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear guest,
We would like to thank you for your time giving us you opinion about VP Jardín de Recoletos hotel.
We are very happy you enjoyed the central location of our hotel and the attractions you can find around it. In addition, it is great to read that you had a fabulous time in our hotel.
Regarding the coffee machine Please note that all our clients can order a served coffee if they wish at no extra charge. All our waiters are available to offer served coffee if the clients request it. We will remark this service more clearly for our next clients.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

My sister and I took my parents to Madrid for their 60th birthday(s) present. The location of the hotel was great as it wasn't in the noisy hub (which is where I would have liked to have stayed if I was with girlfriends) The area surrounding the hotel is classy and clean and in easy walking distance to all the sights/ culture of Madrid.
The hotel it's self was clean and spacious with a feeling of luxury from the lobby area.
The reason I picked this hotel in the first place was the garden area and it didn't disappoint. It is an excellent area to chill in over breakfast or pre-drinks before heading out. The waiter at the bar spotted that we were celebrating birthdays and brought us a cheesecake dressed with candles! Which was a fantastic touch.
Would recommend this hotel
L

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jolly137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vpjardinrecoletos, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Jardin de Recoletos, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear guest,
Many thanks for the opinion you have shared at TripAdvisor about our VP Jardín de Recoletos hotel.
We are happy to read that you enjoyed your parents’ birthday at our hotel and that you appreciated things such as our quiet location our outdoor garden. It is nice to read that our restaurant staff noticed that you were celebrating your parents birthday and gave you that unexpected surprise.

We hope to see you again at our hotel or at any other of our VP Hoteles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maldon
1 review
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Stayed here in August and found the room really spacious. Asked for a twin room and found the two beds to be small doubles. So roomy and nicely decorated. The kitchen was a real bonus, but we still ordered the breakfast and had a wonderfully varied and full breakfast, which was good value for money. The outside garden where we had breakfast and evening meal was a real oasis. So pretty and calm. Quiet location, yet only 10 mins to hussle and bussle of Madrid. Cannot fault a thing and thoroughly recommend this hotel. The staff were so friendly and helpful. So good, that I intend to go back with my daughters.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Christine_BMaldon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vpjardinrecoletos, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Jardin de Recoletos, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Dear guest,
Many thanks for the opinion you have shared at TripAdvisor about VP Jardín de Recoletos hotel.
We are happy to read that you enjoyed our breakfast, the central location of our hotel and the attractions you can find around it. Also many thanks for your opinion about the good value for money since we make big efforts to offer the best quality at a reasonable price.
We will be really happy to welcome you and your daughters again at our VP Jardín de Recoletos or any of our VP Hoteles.
Thanks again for sharing your opinion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

We had a family reunion, 8 people, 4 rooms. This hotel worked well for us for several reasons. DINING. It had an outdoor dining area where my family could meet for late afternoon drinks and snacks, and could accommodate our "dress up" family dinner to celebrate birthdays and anniversary. Breakfast, served in the indoor dining room, was tasty with a nice selection of fruits, hams, cheese, etc. LOCATION: Nightly, we could also enjoy a stroll through Retiro Park, which was a 3-minute walk away. Calle Serrano, fashionable shopping street, was just around the corner from the hotel. And, the hotel was walking distance to many tourist sites. ROOMS: Comfortable and spacious which allowed us to unwind and relax after a lot of sightseeing. The one (big) reason why I cannot give it an excellent rating is the quality of outdoor dining service. If you would like more tips on Madrid, read my blog on http://www.planyourtrips.wordpress.com.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 3monkeysCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Barrio de Salamanca
NH Collection Madrid Colon
Paseo del Prado
Petit Palace Savoy Alfonso XII Plus
Barrio de Salamanca
Hotel Hospes Puerta de Alcala
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paseo del Prado
Petit Palace Lealtad Plaza
Chueca
Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jardin de Recoletos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jardin de Recoletos

Property: Jardin de Recoletos
Address: Calle Gil de Santivanes 6, 28001 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Barrio de Salamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#15 Business Hotel in Madrid
#17 Family Hotel in Madrid
#23 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Jardin de Recoletos 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely refurbished during August 2013, the hotel VP Jardín de Recoletos is located just a few steps from Retiro Park, Puerta de Alcalá and the National Library. VP Jardín de Recoletos is the perfect choice for a stay in Madrid because of its 43 spacious rooms, its beautiful garden and its excellent location in the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jardin de Recoletos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jardin De Recoletos Hotel Madrid
Jardin De Recoletos Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing