We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderfully quiet hotel with great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Jardin de Recoletos
Ranked #28 of 443 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 30, 2011

A really nice place to stay in Madrid. We were glad to stay in this rather quieter part of town having seen the busy main roads and popular tourist areas. The breakfast is very good and the serving staff helpful and attentive. The kitchenette in each room could be very useful on longer visits and the outside terrace in good weather.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Discerningpair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (586)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

320 - 326 of 586 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2011

Excellent hotel with spacious rooms and a lovely garden. The hotel is in a back street but in a central location so is quieter I imagine than some other central hotels. It was a little hard to find initially on the map but was worth the endurance. You can also walk to all of the major museums from the hotel. The hotel also offers a fantastic breakfast choice with very good vegetarian options.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Archieblackcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2011

This was my second stay at this hotel in Madrid. The location is fantastic, between Paseo la Castellana, Calle Serrano, Puerta de Alcala and Parque del Retiro. Is walking distance to the main attractions in the city.
Besides the location, it's on a quite street has a good breakfast and best of all, a kitchenette. The room is comfortable, for European standards. It has a sofa sleeper, free WiFi, decent size bathroom and kitchenette. The staff is very friendly - both front desk and restaurant.
Simple but has all the amenities you need on a business or leisure trip.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travelady13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2010

We have just returned from a three night stay at the Jardin de Recoletos. Located in an up-market shopping area, within walking distance of Museums, Art Galleries and the Metro, we were delighted with the hotel.
The staff could not have been more helpful.
The breakfasts were excellent with every choice avilable and cans and bottled water were provided daily in the room.
The twin room with its 4 foot comfortable beds was spacious, quiet and spotlessly clean. Fresh towels and bedding were provided each day and all the usual toiletries. However, having chosen poorly on the first night, we opted to eat in the Hotel restaurant for the second. A big mistake. The red wine arrived refrigerated. We returned it only to be given a second as cold as the first. Third time lucky. The first course of bean and fish stew was barely warm and served in an ice cold bowl. The 'loin of beef'' main course was burnt on the outside and uncooked inside. I could neither eat that nor the blood-soaked potatoes that accommpanied it.
So, on the third night we made use of the cooking area in the room. This comprised of a counter, hob, microwave, coffee maker and basic equpment behind mirrored, sliding doors. Brilliant addition in our view.
Future visitors should know that no tea and coffee etc. were provided and should bring their own at least for the first day as provisions' shops and supermarkets were not evident nearby.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RTST1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2010

We stayed at Jardin de Recoletos on the recommendation of family, who had stayed there several months ago and raved about the accommodations. They were right!!!!! The hotel is in a fantastic location, within walking distance of many, many sights to see in Madrid (the Prado, the Reina Sophia, to mention just two). There are literally dozens of shops and restaurants less than 5 blocks from the hotel; there is great shopping, very high end boutiques in one direction and more funky shopping in the other. The hotel staff is top-notch; the breakfasts were perfect. The price is extremely reasonable, way less than what you would expect to pay for this quality of hotel in a big city. We cannot recommend it enough. We will definitely return to this hotel if we visit Madrid in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karendan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2010

The location of the hotel was perfect for us; down a quiet side street, in an upscale neighborhood, close to Retiro Park for running. Short walk to the Metro, which is immaculate and punctual, as well as to the Prado Museum and fabulous shopping on Calle de Serrano.
The front desk service was friendly, helpful and professional. Prior to our arrival, they made restaurant reservations, gave us directions to the hotel from the airport using the Metro, etc.
The room was plenty big enough for 3 adults, including a kitchenette hidden behind mirrored doors.
The breakfast was great, including homemade yogurt, fresh fruit, and homemade baked goods, in addition to a selection of jamon products. Great coffee--made to order espresso with steamed milk.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JillWEvergreen_CO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2010

This is my second stay at the property, and we made it our base for our trips outside Madrid. It is located on a small street of Calle Serrano in the Salmanca district, a quick brisk walk to Puerto de Sol, the museums and the shopping areas around Serrano.

The rooms are large, with two beds, and an extra sofa bed if needed. Each comes with a hidden kitchen that has a microwave, a ceramic burner , fridge (with free water and sodas) and a coffee maker.

Rooms are not plush, but very usable. Bathrooms come with simple amenities, and the daily breakfast was an ample spread of Spanish staples -- jamon, tortilla de patatas just to name a few choices.

The staff was great -- Julio, Martin at the front desk, and the bar guys are always very atentive.

I would recommend this place if you are not fussy. Wifi comes free, which is great as well.

I recommend this for those with families.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank monchef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Paseo del Prado
Petit Palace Savoy Alfonso XII Plus
Chueca
Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid
Barrio de Salamanca
Barcelo Emperatriz
Barcelo Emperatriz
#14 of 443 in Madrid
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio de Salamanca
NH Collection Madrid Colon
Huertas
Catalonia Las Cortes
Catalonia Las Cortes
#9 of 443 in Madrid
1,662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jardin de Recoletos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jardin de Recoletos

Address: Calle Gil de Santivanes 6, 28001 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Barrio de Salamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Madrid
#14 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#15 Business Hotel in Madrid
#23 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: $164 - $266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Jardin de Recoletos 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely refurbished during August 2013, the hotel VP Jardín de Recoletos is located just a few steps from Retiro Park, Puerta de Alcalá and the National Library. VP Jardín de Recoletos is the perfect choice for a stay in Madrid because of its 43 spacious rooms, its beautiful garden and its excellent location in the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Jardin de Recoletos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jardin De Recoletos Hotel Madrid
Jardin De Recoletos Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing